Tag Archives: Roger Troutman

In June 1988.

In June 1988, “Virgin” label released “Provision”, the third Scritti Politti album. It recorded 1987–1988 at “Minot Sound” in Atlantic, “Hit Factory”, “Right Track”, “Sorcerer Sound” in New York; “Britannia Row”, “AIR, Townhouse”, “Sarm West”, “Swan Yard” in London, and was produced by Green Gartside, David Gamson and John Potoker.


  • Green Gartside– vocals
  • David Gamson– Yamaha DX7, Yamaha TX816, Yamaha QX1, Oberheim Matrix 12, Sequential Circuits Prophet VS, Roland MKS-80, Roland MKS 50, Synclavier
  • Fred Maher– drums, Oberheim DMX, LinnDrum
  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Bashiri Johnson– percussion
  • Chris Botti– trumpet
  • Dann Huff– guitar
  • John Mahoney – Synclavier
  • Joe Mennonna – saxophones
  • Jason Miles – keyboard programming
  • Marcus Miller– bass
  • Nick Moroch – guitar
  • Raymond Niznik – Synclavier
  • Kent Smith – horn
  • Andy Snitzer – saxophones
  • Roger Troutman– talk box
  • Mitch Corn – horn
  • Mark Stevens, B.J. Nelson, Fonzi Thornton, Tawatha Agee, Rory Dodd, Diva Gray, Yogi Lee, Eric Troyer– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Green Gartside and David Gamson; except where noted.

  1. Boom! There She Was
  2. Overnite
  3. First Boy in This Town (Lovesick)
  4. All That We Are
  5. Best Thing Ever – Green Gartside, David Gamson, John Potoker
  6. Oh Patti (Don’t Feel Sorry for Loverboy)
  7. Bam Salute
  8. Sugar and Spice
  9. Philosophy Now

On July 28, 1980.


On July 28, 1980, “Warner Bros” label released the self-titled debut Zapp album. It was recorded 1979-1980, in Detroit, Michigan, and was produced by Roger Troutman and Bootsy Collins. The album has been regarded as one of the definitive albums of early 80’s electronic funk, bringing the genre into mainstream attention.


  • Roger Troytman – guitars, vocals, keyboards, talking box, bass, harmonica, vibes
  • Greg Jackson, Terry Troutman, Bobby Glover, Jannetta Boyce, Marchelle Smith, Delores Smith – vocal
  • Larry Troutman, Lester Troutman – percussion
  • Larry Troutman – conga drums
  • Lester Troutman – trap drums
  • Terry Troutman – bass
  • Randy Wallace – sax
  • Greg Jackson – keyboards
  • Bootsy Collins – guitars

Track listing:

  1. More Bounce to the Ounce
  2. Freedom
  3. Brand New Player
  4. Funky Bounce
  5. Be Alright
  6. Coming Home