Tag Archives: Raphael Ravenscroft

In June 1979.

In June 1979 “United Artists” label released “Night Owl”, the third Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded 1978–1979, at “Chipping Norton Recording Studios” and “Lansdowne Recording Studios”, and was produced by Hugh Murphy and Gerry Rafferty.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, acoustic guitar, polymoog, piano
  • John Kirkpatrick– accordion
  • Richard Thompson– guitar, mandolin
  • Barbara Dickson– background vocals
  • Richard Harvey– organ, synthesiser, recorder, penny whistle
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Hugh Burns – guitar
  • Betsy Cook– background vocals
  • Tommy Eyre– synthesiser, piano
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Graham Preskett – violin, fiddle, mandolin, piano
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone, lyricon
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Linda Thompson– background vocals
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Gary Taylor – bass, vocals
  • Patrick(John Byrne) – front cover painting

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty.

  1. Days Gone Down (Still Got the Light in Your Eyes)
  2. Night Owl
  3. The Way That You Do It
  4. Why Won’t You Talk To Me?
  5. Get It Right Next Time
  6. Take the Money and Run
  7. Family Tree
  8. Already Gone
  9. The Tourist
  10. It’s Gonna Be a Long Night

In May 1980.

In May 1980, “Virgin” label released “The Correct Use of Soap”, the third Magazine album. It was recorded in 1980, and Martin Hannett.


  • Howard Devoto– vocals
  • John McGeoch– guitar
  • Barry Adamson– bass guitar
  • Dave Formula– keyboards
  • John Doyle– drums
  • Laura Teresa – additional backing vocals
  • Raphael Ravenscroft – saxophone
  • Malcolm Garrett(Aesthetic Images) – record sleeve design

Track listing:

All tracks by Barry Adamson, Howard Devoto, John Doyle, Dave Formula and John McGeoch, except where noted.

  1. Because You’re Frightened
  2. Model Worker
  3. I’m a Party
  4. You Never Knew Me
  5. Philadelphia
  6. I Want to Burn Again
  7. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) – Sylvester Stewart
  8. Sweetheart Contract
  9. Stuck
  10. A Song from Under the Floorboards

In April 1980.

In April 1980, “United Artists” label released “Snakes and Ladders”, the fourth Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Gerry Rafferty and Hugh Murphy.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Mo Foster– bass
  • Ian Lynn – keyboards
  • Jerry Donahue– guitar
  • Richard Harvey – synthesiser, penny whistle
  • Bryn Haworth– guitar, slide guitar
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Betsy Cook– backing vocals
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Billy Livsey – piano, keyboards
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Pete Zorn– bass
  • Billy Wingfield – piano, Moog synthesiser

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty

  1. The Royal Mile (Sweet Darlin’)
  2. I Was a Boy Scout
  3. Welcome to Hollywood
  4. Wastin’ Away
  5. Look at the Moon
  6. Bring It All Home
  7. The Garden of England
  8. Johnny’s Song
  9. Didn’t I
  10. Syncopatin Sandy
  11. Cafe Le Cabotin
  12. Don’t Close the Door

On June 28, 1982.


On June 28, 1982, “Swan Song” label released “Pictures at Eleven”, the debut Robert Plant solo album. It was recorded in 1982, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouth,Wales, and was produced by Robert Plant.  It was the only Plant’s solo album released on Led Zeppelin’s record label “Swan Song”, as the label ceased to function until his next album “The Principle of Moments” from 1983.


  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • Phil Collins- drums
  • Cozy Powell- drums
  • Paul Martinez- bass guitar
  • Raphael Ravenscroft- saxophone
  • Robbie Blunt- guitars
  • Jezz Woodroffe- keyboards, synthesizers

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Plant and Robbie Blunt, except where noted.

  1. Burning Down One Side – Robert Plant, Robbie Blunt, Jezz Woodroffe
  2. Moonlight in Samosa
  3. Pledge Pin
  4. Slow Dancer
  5. Worse Than Detroit
  6. Fat Lip – Robert Plant, Robbie Blunt, Jezz Woodroffe
  7. Like I’ve Never Been Gone
  8. Mystery Title