Tag Archives: Don’t Close the Door

In July 1979.

In July 1979, “Polydor” label released “No Promises…No Debts”, the 15th Golden Earring album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by George Kooymans.


  • George Kooymans- guitar, vocals
  • Rinus Gerritsen- bass guitar, keyboards
  • Barry Hay- flute, vocals
  • Cesar Zuiderwijk- drums
  • John Legrand – harmonica
  • Engineer: John Kriek
  • Mixing: George Kooymans, John Kriek, Arnold Muhren
  • Hornarrangements: Jan Rietman
  • Cover design: Jeep Bunt

Track listing:

All tracks by Rinus Gerritsen, Barry Hay, George Kooymans, and Cesar Zuiderwijk.

  1. Heart Beat
  2. Need Her
  3. Sellin’ Out
  4. Snot Love in Spain
  5. Save Your Skin
  6. D Light
  7. Tiger Bay
  8. Weekend Love
  9. Don’t Close the Door
  10. Don’t Stop the Show
  11. By Routes

In April 1980.

In April 1980, “United Artists” label released “Snakes and Ladders”, the fourth Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Gerry Rafferty and Hugh Murphy.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Mo Foster– bass
  • Ian Lynn – keyboards
  • Jerry Donahue– guitar
  • Richard Harvey – synthesiser, penny whistle
  • Bryn Haworth– guitar, slide guitar
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Betsy Cook– backing vocals
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Billy Livsey – piano, keyboards
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Pete Zorn– bass
  • Billy Wingfield – piano, Moog synthesiser

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty

  1. The Royal Mile (Sweet Darlin’)
  2. I Was a Boy Scout
  3. Welcome to Hollywood
  4. Wastin’ Away
  5. Look at the Moon
  6. Bring It All Home
  7. The Garden of England
  8. Johnny’s Song
  9. Didn’t I
  10. Syncopatin Sandy
  11. Cafe Le Cabotin
  12. Don’t Close the Door