In June 1979.

In June 1979 “United Artists” label released “Night Owl”, the third Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded 1978–1979, at “Chipping Norton Recording Studios” and “Lansdowne Recording Studios”, and was produced by Hugh Murphy and Gerry Rafferty.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, acoustic guitar, polymoog, piano
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Hugh Burns – guitar
  • John Kirkpatrick– accordion
  • Tommy Eyre– synthesiser, piano
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Gary Taylor –vocals,  bass
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone, lyricon
  • Graham Preskett – violin, fiddle, mandolin, piano
  • Linda Thompson– backing vocals
  • Barbara Dickson– backing vocals
  • Betsy Cook– backing vocals
  • Patrick(John Byrne) – cover painting

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty.

  1. Days Gone Down (Still Got the Light in Your Eyes)
  2. Night Owl
  3. The Way That You Do It
  4. Why Won’t You Talk To Me?
  5. Get It Right Next Time
  6. Take the Money and Run
  7. Family Tree
  8. Already Gone
  9. The Tourist
  10. It’s Gonna Be a Long Night

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.