Tag Archives: Rab Noakes

Lindisfarne: Nicely Out of Tune

In November 1970, “Charisma” label released “Nicely Out of Tune”, the debut Lindisfarne album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by John Anthony.


  • Alan Hull – vocals, acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, organ, piano, electric piano
  • Ray Jackson – vocals, mandolin, harmonica, flatulette
  • Rod Clements – vocals, electric bass, organ, piano, violin, guitars
  • Simon Cowe – vocals, lead, acoustic and 12-string guitars, mandolin, banjo
  • Ray Laidlaw – drums

Track listing:

  1. Lady Eleanor – Alan Hull
  2. Road to Kingdom Come – Rod Clements
  3. Winter Song – Alan Hull
  4. Turn a Deaf Ear – Rab Noakes
  5. Clear White Light (Pt. 2) – Alan Hull
  6. We Can Swing Together – Alan Hull
  7. Alan in the River with Flowers – Alan Hull
  8. Down – Alan Hull
  9. The Things I Should Have Said – Rod Clements
  10. Jackhammer Blues – Woody Guthrie
  11. Scarecrow Song – Alan Hull

In October 1971.

In October 1971, “Charisma” label released “Fog on the Tyne”, the second Lindisfarne studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Trident Studios” and was produced by Bob Johnston.


  • Alan Hull- vocals, acoustic, electric and 12-string guitars, keyboards
  • Ray Jackson- vocals, mandolin, harmonica
  • Rod Clements- electric bass, acoustic, electric and 12-string guitars, violin
  • Simon Cowe – lead, acoustic and 12-string guitars, mandolin, vocals
  • Ray Laidlaw – drums
  • Ken Scott- engineer
  • Trevor and Franco – sleeve

Track listing:

  1. Meet Me on the Corner – Rod Clements
  2. Alright on the Night – Alan Hull
  3. Uncle Sam – Simon Cowe
  4. Together Forever – Rab Noakes
  5. January Song – Adam Hull
  6. Peter Brophy Don’t Care – Adam Hull, Terry Morgan
  7. City Song – Adam Hull
  8. Passing Ghosts – Adam Hull
  9. Train in G Major – Rod Clements
  10. Fog on the Tyne – Adam Hull


On January 20, 1978.

City to city

On January 20, 1978, “United Artists” released “City to City”, the second Gerry Rafferty studio album. It was recorded in 1977,at the “ Chipping  Norton Recording Studios”, and was produced by Hugh Murphy. The album featured the song  “Baker Street”, which reached  5 million plays on British radio, and became Rafferty’s best known song. “City to City” was certified Platinum the US by “RIAA”.


  • Gerry Rafferty– lead and backing vocals, piano, acoustic guitar
  • Tommy Eyre– piano, electric piano, grand piano, Moog synthesizer, organ, keyboards, brass arrangements
  • Jerry Donahue– lead, rhythm and electric guitar
  • Hugh Burns– acoustic, rhythm and electric guitar
  • Nigel Jenkins, Andy Fairweather-Low– rhythm and electric guitar
  • Micky Moody– acoustic guitar
  • Brian Cole– steel guitar, dobro
  • Graham Preskett– fiddle, mandolin, synthesizer, string machine, strings, bass, arrangements
  • Paul Jones– harmonica
  • Hugh Murphy – tambourine
  • Willy Ray – accordion
  • Mo Foster– bass, backing vocals
  • Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Glen LeFleur- drums, percussion, tambourine
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Roger Brown, Vivian McAuliff, John McBurnie, Rab Noakes, Barbara Dickson, Joanna Carlin – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty.

  1. The Ark
  2. Baker Street
  3. Right Down the Line
  4. City to City
  5. Stealin’ Time
  6. Mattie’s Rag
  7. Whatever’s Written In Your Heart
  8. Home and Dry
  9. Island
  10. Waiting for the Day