Tag Archives: Linda Thompson

In November 1975.

In November 1975, “Island” label released “Pour Down Like Silver”, the third Richard and Linda Thompson album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Richard Thompson and John Wood.


  • Richard Thompson- guitar, vocals, mandolin, banjo, Appalachian dulcimer, Hammered dulcimer, harmonium, electric piano
  • Linda Thompson– vocals
  • Timi Donald – drums
  • Pat Donaldson- bass guitar
  • Dave Mattacks– drums
  • Dave Pegg- bass guitar
  • John Kirkpatrick- accordion, concertina
  • Ian Whiteman – flute, shakuhachi
  • Aly Bain- fiddle
  • Nic Jones– fiddle
  • Henry Lowther- trumpet
  • Clare Lowther – cello
  • Jack Brymer- clarinet

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Thompson except where noted.

  1. Streets of Paradise
  2. For Shame of Doing Wrong
  3. The Poor Boy Is Taken Away
  4. Night Comes In
  5. Jet Plane in a Rocking Chair
  6. Beat the Retreat
  7. Hard Luck Stories
  8. Dimming of the Day / Dargai – “Dargai” written by J. Scott, arranged by Richard Thompson



On July 21, 2008.

On July 21, 2008, “B-Unique” label released “Beautiful Future”, the ninth Primal Scream album. It was produced by Björn Yttling and Paul Epworth, Bobby Gillespie, Andrew Innes, Gary Mounfield, Martin Duffy and Darrin Mooney.


  • Bobby Gillespie- vocals
  • Andrew Innes- guitars, synthesizers
  • Gary Mounfield- bass
  • Martin Duffy- keyboards
  • Darrin Mooney- drums, percussion
  • Victoria Bergsman– vocals
  • Ellekari Larsson– vocals
  • Lykke Li Zachrisson– vocals
  • Maria Andersson– vocals
  • Juliet Roberts– vocals
  • Lovefoxxx– vocals
  • Linda Thompson– vocals
  • Erik Arvinder – violin
  • Andreas Forsman – violin
  • Christopher Öhman – viola
  • Emma Lindhamre – cello
  • Barrie Cadogan- guitar, slide guitar
  • Bjorn Yttling– keyboards
  • Josh Homme- guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Primal Scream, except Over & Over by Fleetwood Mac and Urban Guerrilla by Hawkwind.

  1. Beautiful Future
  2. Can’t Go Back
  3. Uptown
  4. The Glory of Love
  5. Suicide Bomb
  6. Zombie Man
  7. Beautiful Summer
  8. I Love to Hurt (You Love to Be Hurt)
  9. Over & Over
  10. Necro Hex Blue
  11. The Glory Of Love
  12. Urban Guerrilla
  13. Time of the Assassins

In June 1979.

In June 1979 “United Artists” label released “Night Owl”, the third Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded 1978–1979, at “Chipping Norton Recording Studios” and “Lansdowne Recording Studios”, and was produced by Hugh Murphy and Gerry Rafferty.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, acoustic guitar, polymoog, piano
  • John Kirkpatrick– accordion
  • Richard Thompson– guitar, mandolin
  • Barbara Dickson– background vocals
  • Richard Harvey– organ, synthesiser, recorder, penny whistle
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Hugh Burns – guitar
  • Betsy Cook– background vocals
  • Tommy Eyre– synthesiser, piano
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Graham Preskett – violin, fiddle, mandolin, piano
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone, lyricon
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Linda Thompson– background vocals
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Gary Taylor – bass, vocals
  • Patrick(John Byrne) – front cover painting

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty.

  1. Days Gone Down (Still Got the Light in Your Eyes)
  2. Night Owl
  3. The Way That You Do It
  4. Why Won’t You Talk To Me?
  5. Get It Right Next Time
  6. Take the Money and Run
  7. Family Tree
  8. Already Gone
  9. The Tourist
  10. It’s Gonna Be a Long Night

In June 1970.

In June 1970, “Island” label released the debut, self-titled Fotheringay album. It was recorded February – April 1970, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Joe Boyd.


  • Sandy Denny – guitar, piano, vocals
  • Trevor Lucas- guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Donahue- guitar, vocals
  • Pat Donaldson- bass, vocals
  • Gerry Conway- drums
  • Linda Thompson- vocals
  • Todd Lloyd – vocals
  • Recording engineer – Jerry Boys, Todd Lloyd
  • Marion Appleton – art direction: cover illustrations
  • Tony Evans – photography

Track listing:

  1. Nothing More – Sandy Denny
  2. The Sea – Sandy Denny
  3. The Ballad of Ned Kelly – Trevor Lucas
  4. Winter Winds – Sandy Denny
  5. Peace in the End – Sandy Denny, Trevor Lucas
  6. The Way I Feel – Gordon Lightfoot
  7. The Pond and the Stream – Sandy Denny
  8. Too Much of Nothing – Bob Dylan
  9. Banks of the Nile – traditional

In April 1975.

In April 1975, “Island” label released “Hokey Pokey”, the second Linda and Richard Thompson album. It was recorded September-October1974, at “Sound Techniques” in  London, and was produced by Richard Thompson and Simon Nicol.


  • Richard Thompson- guitar, vocals, mandolin, hammered dulcimer, Electric dulcimer, piano
  • Linda Thompson- vocals
  • Timi Donald -drums
  • Pat Donaldson- bass guitar
  • Simon Nicol- guitar, piano, Hammond organ, vocals
  • John Kirkpatrick- accordion
  • Ian Whiteman -piano, Calliope
  • Sidonie Goossens- harp
  • Aly Bain- fiddle
  • The CWS Silver Band

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Thompson except where noted.

  1. Hokey Pokey (The Ice Cream Song)
  2. I’ll Regret It All in the Morning
  3. Smiffy’s Glass Eye
  4. The Egypt Room
  5. Never Again
  6. Georgie on a Spree
  7. Old Man Inside a Young Man
  8. The Sun Never Shines on the Poor
  9. A Heart Needs a Home
  10. Mole in a Hole – Mike Waterson

In April 1974.

In April 1974, “Island” label released “I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight”, the second Richard Thompson album, and the first with his then wife, Linda as Richard and Linda Thompson. It was recorded in May 1973, at “Sound Techniques” in London and was produced by Richard Thompson and John Wood. In May 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 471, in its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Richard Thompson– guitar, vocals, Hammered dulcimer,  mandolin,  whistle, piano, electric piano, harmonium
  • Linda Thompson– vocals
  • Timmy Donald –drums
  • Pat Donaldson– bass guitar
  • John Kirkpatrick– accordion, concertina
  • Simon Nicol– dulcimer
  • Brian Gulland –krummhorn
  • Richard Harvey– krummhorn
  • Royston Wood– harmony bass vocals
  • Trevor Lucas- harmony vocals
  • TheCWS (Manchester) Silver Band
  • John Wood- engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Thompson except where noted.

  1. When I Get to the Border
  2. The Calvary Cross
  3. Withered and Died
  4. I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight
  5. Down Where the Drunkards Roll
  6. We Sing Hallelujah
  7. Has He Got a Friend for Me
  8. The Little Beggar Girl
  9. The End of the Rainbow
  10. The Great Valerio

On March 15, 1982.

shoot out the lights

On March 15, 1982, “Hannibal” label released “Shoot out the Lights” the sixth Richard and Linda Thompson album. It was recorded in November 1981, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and Joe Boyd.


  • Richard Thompson– vocals, lead guitar, accordion, hammered dulcimer
  • Linda Thompson– vocals
  • Simon Nicol– rhythm guitar
  • Dave Pegg– bass
  • Pete Zorn– bass, backing vocals
  • David Mattacks– drums
  • The Watersons (Norma, Mike, Lal, and Martin Carthy) – backing vocals
  • Clive Gregson– backing vocals
  • Stephen Corbett –cornet
  • Brian Jones – cornet
  • Phil Goodwin –tuba
  • Stephen Barnett –trombone
  • Mark Cutts – trombone

All songs written by Richard Thompson except as noted.

  1. Don’t Renege on Our Love
  2. Walking on a Wire
  3. Man in Need
  4. Just the Motion
  5. Shoot Out the Lights
  6. Back Street Slide
  7. Did She Jump or Was She Pushed? – Richard Thompson and Linda Thompson
  8. Wall of Death