On January 20, 1978.

City to city

On January 20, 1978, “United Artists” released “City to City”, the second Gerry Rafferty studio album. It was recorded in 1977,at the “ Chipping  Norton Recording Studios”, and was produced by Hugh Murphy. The album featured the song  “Baker Street”, which reached  5 million plays on British radio, and became Rafferty’s best known song. “City to City” was certified Platinum in US by “RIAA”.


  • Gerry Rafferty– piano, acoustic guitar, vocals, backing vocals
  • Tommy Eyre– piano, electric piano, grand piano, Moog synthesizer, organ, keyboards, brass arrangements
  • Jerry Donahue– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Hugh Burns– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Nigel Jenkins, Andy Fairweather-Low– rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Micky Moody– acoustic guitar
  • Brian Cole– steel guitar, dobro
  • Mo Foster– bass, backing vocals
  • Graham Preskett– fiddle, mandolin, synthesizer, string machine, string, bass, arrangements
  • Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Glen LeFleur- drums, percussion, tambourine
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Roger Brown, Vivian McAuliff, John McBurnie, Rab Noakes, Barbara Dickson, Joanna Carlin – backing vocals
  • Paul Jones– harmonica
  • Hugh Murphy – tambourine
  • Willy Ray – accordion

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty.

  1. The Ark
  2. Baker Street
  3. Right Down the Line
  4. City to City
  5. Stealin’ Time
  6. Mattie’s Rag
  7. Whatever’s Written In Your Heart
  8. Home and Dry
  9. Island
  10. Waiting for the Day



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.