Tag Archives: Willy Ray

On January 20, 1978.

City to city

On January 20, 1978, “United Artists” released “City to City”, the second Gerry Rafferty studio album.”City to City” was recorded in 1977,at the “ Chipping  Norton Recording Studios”, and was produced by Hugh Murphy. The album featured the song  “Baker Street”, which reached  5 million plays on British radio, and became Rafferty’s best known song. “City to City” reached gold status in UK, and was awarded platinum certificate by “RIAA”.


  • Gerry Rafferty– piano, acoustic guitar, vocals, backing vocals
  • Tommy Eyre– piano, electric piano, grand piano, Moog synthesizer, organ, keyboards, brass arrangements
  • Jerry Donahue– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Hugh Burns– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Nigel Jenkins– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Andy Fairweather-Low– rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Micky Moody– acoustic guitar
  • Brian Cole– steel guitar, dobro
  • Mo Foster– bass, backing vocals
  • Graham Preskett– fiddle, mandolin, synthesizer, string machine, string, bass, arrangements
  • Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Glen LeFleur- drums, percussion, tambourine
  • Barbara Dickson– backing vocals
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Roger Brown – backing vocals
  • Vivian McAuliff – backing vocals
  • John McBurnie – backing vocals
  • Rab Noakes– backing vocals
  • Paul Jones– harmonica
  • Hugh Murphy – tambourine
  • Willy Ray – accordion
  • Joanna Carlin – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty.

  1. The Ark
  2. Baker Street
  3. Right Down the Line
  4. City to City
  5. Stealin’ Time
  6. Mattie’s Rag
  7. Whatever’s Written In Your Heart
  8. Home and Dry
  9. Island
  10. Waiting for the Day