Tag Archives: Led Zeppelin

On January 28, 1997.

On January 28, 1997, “Hip-O” label released “In a Metal Mood: No More Mr. Nice Guy”, album by Pat Boone. It was recorded in 1996, at “Ocean Way Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Michael Lloyd and Jeffrey Weber.


  • Pat Boone, Ronnie James Dio, Clydene Jackson Edwards, Merry Clayton, Carmen Twillie- vocals
  • Ritchie Blackmore, Mitch Holder, Dawayne Bailey, Dweezil Zappa, Dan Ferguson, Michael Thompson- electric guitar
  • Doug Cameron, Bruce Dukov, Michelle Richards – violin
  • Evan Wilson – viola
  • Larry Corbett – cello
  • Tom Scott, Gary Herbig, Don Menza, Pete Christlieb, Terry Harrington, Plas Johnson, Jeol Peskin – woodwinds
  • Frank Szabo, Chuck Findley, Wayne Bergeron, Rick Baptist, Chris Tedesco – trumpet
  • Dick “Slide” Hyde, Lew McCreary, Alan Kaplan, Bruce Otto, Dana Hughes – trombone
  • Dave Siebels – organ, keyboards
  • Andy Simpkins- acoustic bass
  • Marco Mendoza- electric bass
  • Gregg Bissonette- drums
  • Lenny Castro – percussion
  • Sheila E.- timbales

Track listing:

  1. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’ – original by Judas Priest
  2. Smoke on the Water – original by Deep Purple
  3. It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘n’ Roll) – original by AC/DC
  4. Panama – original by Van Halen
  5. No More Mr. Nice Guy – original by Alice Cooper
  6. Love Hurts – original by Everly Brothers, composed by Boudleaux Bryant
  7. Enter Sandman – original by Metallica
  8. Holy Diver – original by Dio
  9. Paradise City – original by Guns N’ Roses
  10. The Wind Cries Mary – original by The Jimi Hendrix Experience
  11. Crazy Train – original by Ozzy Osbourne
  12. Stairway to Heaven – original by Led Zeppelin

On April 18, 2013.

On April 18, 2013, Storm Thorgerson died aged 69. He was graphic designer and music video director, known for his work with music artists including Led Zeppelin,  Nik Kershaw, Black Sabbath,  Scorpions, Peter Gabriel, Genesis, Yes, Al Stewart,  Europe,  Catherine Wheel, Bruce Dickinson, Dream Theater,  Anthrax, The Cranberries, The Mars Volta, Muse, The Alan Parsons Project, Helloween, Biffy Clyro, Ween, Angels and Airwaves and Rival Sons His best known work is the album cover artwork of  Pink Floyd’s “The Dark Side of The Moon”.



On November 21, 1995.

On November 21, 1995, Peter James “G” Grant died aged 60. He was music manager, working with Led Zeppelin, The Yardbirds, The Jeff Beck Group, Terry Reid,  The New Vaudeville Band, Bad Company, Maggie Bell, The Nashville Teens and Stone the Crows. He was known as “one of the most ruthless and successful managers in rock history”.

On March 24, 2010.

On March 24, 2010, James Joseph Marshall died aged 74. He was a photographer, best known for his photographs of famous rock musicians, including The Beatles (final paid live concert in San Francisco’s Candlestick Park), Led Zeppelin, Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, Neil Young, Janis Joplin, Bob Dylan, Jim Morrison, The Allman Brothers Band, The Who, Guns N’ Roses and Santana. He was also the chief photographer at Woodstock.

On November 1, 1969.


On November 1, 1969, “Bell Records” label released “A Way of Life”, the début The Family Dogg album. It was recorded April – May 1969 at “IBC Studios”; “Chappell Studios”; “Landsdowne Studios” in London and was produce by Steve Rowland. The album session group includes Led Zeppelin’s John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, and John Bonham.


  • Steve Rowland– lead vocals, backing vocals, congas, producer
  • Albert Hammond– lead vocals, backing vocals, 12-string guitar
  • Mike Hazelwood– lead vocals, backing vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Christine Holmes – lead vocals, backing vocals
  • Pam “Zooey” Quinn – lead vocals, backing vocals
  • Jimmy Page– electric guitars
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar, arranger
  • Amory Kane – guitar, fills between every track
  • John Bonham– drums
  • Alan Parker– acoustic guitar
  • Alan “Hawk” Hawkshaw– piano, organ
  • Clem Cattini– drums
  • Stan Barrett – percussion
  • Denis Lopez – percussion
  • Phil Dennys – arranger
  • Reg Tilsey – arranger
  • Ken Woodman – arranger
  • Damon Lyon Shaw – engineer
  • John Iles – engineer
  • John Timperley– engineer
  • John Mackswith– engineer
  • Mike Weighell – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Julie’s Just Gone – Mark Jordan
  2. All the Best Songs and Marches -Terry Stamp
  3. In the Ghetto – Mac Davis
  4. Today I Killed a Man I Didn’t Know – Roger Cook, Roger Greenaway
  5. Pattern People – Jimmy Webb
  6. Save the Life of My Child – Paul Simon
  7. Love Minus Zero/No Limit – Bob Dylan
  8. Reflections ‘Of Your Face’ – Amory Kane
  9. Run Run Run Fly Fly Fly – Ben Findon
  10. Moonshine Mary – Albert Hammond, Mike Hazlewood
  11. You Were On My Mind – traditional; arranged by Armory Kane, Steve Rowland, Albert Hammond, Mike Hazlewood
  12. A Place in the Sun – Bryan Wells, Ronald Miller
  13. A Way of Life – Roger Cook, Roger Greenaway


On June 28, 1982.


On June 28, 1982, “Swan Song” label released “Pictures at Eleven”, the debut Robert Plant solo album. It was recorded in 1982, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouth,Wales, and was produced by Robert Plant.  It was the only Plant’s solo album released on Led Zeppelin’s record label “Swan Song”, as the label ceased to function until his next album “The Principle of Moments” from 1983.


  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • Phil Collins- drums
  • Cozy Powell- drums
  • Paul Martinez- bass guitar
  • Raphael Ravenscroft- saxophone
  • Robbie Blunt- guitars
  • Jezz Woodroffe- keyboards, synthesizers

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Plant and Robbie Blunt, except where noted.

  1. Burning Down One Side – Robert Plant, Robbie Blunt, Jezz Woodroffe
  2. Moonlight in Samosa
  3. Pledge Pin
  4. Slow Dancer
  5. Worse Than Detroit
  6. Fat Lip – Robert Plant, Robbie Blunt, Jezz Woodroffe
  7. Like I’ve Never Been Gone
  8. Mystery Title


On March 28, 1973.


On March 28, 1973,“Atlantic’ label released “Houses of the Holy”, the fifth Led Zeppelin studio album. It was recorded December 1971 – August 1972, at “Island Studios”, “Olympic Studios” in London, “The Rolling Stones Mobile”, “Stargroves Estate” in Hampshire, and was produced by Jimmy Page. This was band’s first album composed of entirely original material. In 1999, “Houses of the Holy” was certified 11 x Platinum in US by the “RIAA”. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 148 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”. In 2007, “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” inducted “Houses of the Holy” in “The Definitive 200: Top 200 Albums of All-Time”.


  • John Bonham– drums, backing vocals
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar, keyboards, synthesiser bass, backing vocals
  • Jimmy Page– acoustic, electric and pedal steel guitars, theremin
  • Robert Plant– lead vocals
  • Keith Harwood– mixing
  • Hipgnosis– sleeve design
  • Andy Johns– engineering, mixing
  • Eddie Kramer– engineering, mixing
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering engineering
  • Aubrey Powell– cover photography

Track listing:

  1. The Song remains the Same – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  2. The Rain Song – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  3. Over the Hills and Far Away – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  4. The Crunge – John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  5. Dancing Days – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  6. D’yer Maker – John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  7. No Quarter – John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  8. The Ocean – John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant