Tag Archives: Richard Harvey

In June 1979.

In June 1979 “United Artists” label released “Night Owl”, the third Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded 1978–1979, at “Chipping Norton Recording Studios” and “Lansdowne Recording Studios”, and was produced by Hugh Murphy and Gerry Rafferty.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, acoustic guitar, polymoog, piano
  • John Kirkpatrick– accordion
  • Richard Thompson– guitar, mandolin
  • Barbara Dickson– background vocals
  • Richard Harvey– organ, synthesiser, recorder, penny whistle
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Hugh Burns – guitar
  • Betsy Cook– background vocals
  • Tommy Eyre– synthesiser, piano
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Graham Preskett – violin, fiddle, mandolin, piano
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone, lyricon
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Linda Thompson– background vocals
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Gary Taylor – bass, vocals
  • Patrick(John Byrne) – front cover painting

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty.

  1. Days Gone Down (Still Got the Light in Your Eyes)
  2. Night Owl
  3. The Way That You Do It
  4. Why Won’t You Talk To Me?
  5. Get It Right Next Time
  6. Take the Money and Run
  7. Family Tree
  8. Already Gone
  9. The Tourist
  10. It’s Gonna Be a Long Night

In April 1980.

In April 1980, “United Artists” label released “Snakes and Ladders”, the fourth Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Gerry Rafferty and Hugh Murphy.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Mo Foster– bass
  • Ian Lynn – keyboards
  • Jerry Donahue– guitar
  • Richard Harvey – synthesiser, penny whistle
  • Bryn Haworth– guitar, slide guitar
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Betsy Cook– backing vocals
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Billy Livsey – piano, keyboards
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Pete Zorn– bass
  • Billy Wingfield – piano, Moog synthesiser

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty

  1. The Royal Mile (Sweet Darlin’)
  2. I Was a Boy Scout
  3. Welcome to Hollywood
  4. Wastin’ Away
  5. Look at the Moon
  6. Bring It All Home
  7. The Garden of England
  8. Johnny’s Song
  9. Didn’t I
  10. Syncopatin Sandy
  11. Cafe Le Cabotin
  12. Don’t Close the Door

In April 1974.

In April 1974, “Island” label released “I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight”, the second Richard Thompson album, and the first with his then wife, Linda as Richard and Linda Thompson. It was recorded in May 1973, at “Sound Techniques” in London and was produced by Richard Thompson and John Wood. In May 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 471, in its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Richard Thompson– guitar, vocals, Hammered dulcimer,  mandolin,  whistle, piano, electric piano, harmonium
  • Linda Thompson– vocals
  • Timmy Donald –drums
  • Pat Donaldson– bass guitar
  • John Kirkpatrick– accordion, concertina
  • Simon Nicol– dulcimer
  • Brian Gulland –krummhorn
  • Richard Harvey– krummhorn
  • Royston Wood– harmony bass vocals
  • Trevor Lucas- harmony vocals
  • TheCWS (Manchester) Silver Band
  • John Wood- engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Thompson except where noted.

  1. When I Get to the Border
  2. The Calvary Cross
  3. Withered and Died
  4. I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight
  5. Down Where the Drunkards Roll
  6. We Sing Hallelujah
  7. Has He Got a Friend for Me
  8. The Little Beggar Girl
  9. The End of the Rainbow
  10. The Great Valerio

In April 1974.

In April 1974, “Transatlantic” label released “Midnight Mushrumps”, the second Gryphon studio album. It was recorded in January 1974, at “Chipping Norton Recording Studios” in Oxfordshire, and was produced by Richard Harvey, Brian Gulland, Graeme Taylor, Philip Nestor and David Oberlé.


  • Richard Harvey– recorders (sopranino, descant, treble & tenor), krumhorns (soprano, alto & tenor), harmonium, pipe organ, grand piano, harpsichord, electric pianos, toy piano, keyboard glockenspiel, mandolin, v
  • Brian Gulland– bassoon, bass krumhorn, tenor recorder, keyboards, vocals,
  • Graeme Taylor– guitars (acoustic, semi-acoustic, classical, electric & 12-string), vocals
  • Philip Nestor– bass guitars, v
  • David Oberlé– drums, timpani, percussion, lead vocals
  • Dave Grinsted – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Midnight Mushrumps – Richard Harvey
  2. The Plough-Boy’s Dream – t arr. by Richard Harvey, Brian Gulland, Graeme Taylor, Philip Nestor and David Oberlé.
  3. The Last Flash of Gaberdine Taylor – Graeme Taylor
  4. Gulland Rock – Brian Gulland
  5. Dubbel Dutch – Graeme Taylor
  6. Ethelion – Richard Harvey, Brian Gulland, Graeme Taylor, Philip Nestor and David Oberlé.




In December 1974.


In December 1974, “Transatlantic Records” label released “Red Queen to Gryphon Three”, the third Gryphon studio album. It was recorded August 1974, at “Chipping Norton Studios”, and was produced by Gryphon and Dave Grinsted.


  • Brian Gulland – bassoon, krumhorn
  • Graeme Taylor– guitars
  • Richard Harvey– keyboards, recorders, krumhorn
  • Philip Nestor – bass guitar
  • David Oberlé– drums, percussion, tympani
  • Arranged by Gryphon

Track listing:

  1. Opening Move – Richard Harvey, Graeme Taylor, Brian Gulland, David Oberlé
  2. Second Spasm – Graeme Taylor, Brian Gulland
  3. Lament – Graeme Taylor, Brian Gulland, Philip Nestor
  4. Checkmate – Richard Harvey, Graeme Taylor, Brian Gulland, David Oberlé

On November 10, 1978.


On November 10, 1978, “EMI” label released “Lionheart”, the second Kate Bush studio album.  It was recorded July to September 1978, and was produced by Andrew Powell.


  • Kate Bush – vocals, harmony vocals, piano, keyboards, recorder, arranger, assistant producer
  • Ian Bairnson- acoustic, rhythm & electric guitar, vocals
  • Brian Bath – guitar
  • Paddy Bush- harmonica, mandolin, vocals, harmony vocals, pan flute, slide guitar, mandocello, pan pipes
  • Richard Harvey – recorder, vocals
  • Duncan Mackay- synthesizer, keyboards, Fender Rhodes
  • Francis Monkman- harpsichord, keyboards, Hammond organ
  • Del Palmer- bass, vocals
  • David Paton- bass
  • Stuart Elliot- percussion, drums
  • Charlie Morgan– drums
  • Andrew Powell- keyboards
  • David Katz – violin, orchestracontractor

Track listing

All compositions by Kate Bush, except “In Search of Peter Pan” written by Kate Bush and incorporates “When You Wish Upon a Star” – lyrics by Ned Washington and music by Leigh Harline.

  1. Symphony in Blue
  2. In Search of Petar Pan
  3. Wow
  4. Don’t Push Your Foot on the Heartbroken
  5. Oh England My Lionheart
  6. Fullhouse
  7. In the Warm Room
  8. Kashka From Baghdad
  9. Coffee Homeground
  10. Hammer Horror