Tag Archives: Swan Song

In September 1968.

In September 1968, “Polydor” label released “Idea”, the fifth Bee Gees album. It was recorded December / January 1967 – July 1968, at “IBC Studios” in London, and was produced by Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb, Maurice Gibb and Robert Stigwood. The cover art was by Wolfgang Heilemann.


  • Barry Gibb– lead, harmony and backing vocals, guitar
  • Robin Gibb– lead, harmony and backing vocals, organ
  • Maurice Gibb– bass guitar, piano, organ, mellotron, harmony and backing vocals
  • Vince Melouney– guitar, harmonica, lead vocals
  • Colin Petersen– drums
  • Bill Shepherd – orchestral arrangement
  • John Pantry, Damon Lyon Shaw – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Barry, Robin and Maurice Gibb, except where noted.

  1. Let There Be Love
  2. Kitty Can
  3. In the Summer of His Years
  4. Indian Gin and Whisky Dry
  5. Down to Earth
  6. Such a Shame – Vince Melouney
  7. Idea
  8. When the Swallows Fly
  9. I Have Decided to Join the Airforce
  10. I Started a Joke
  11. Kilburn Towers
  12. Swan Song

In August 1982.

In August 1982, “Swan Song” label released “Rough Diamonds”, the sixth Bad Company studio album. It was recorded March – April 1981, at “Ridge Farm Studios” in Surrey, UK, and was produced by Paul Rodgers, Mick Ralphs, Simon Kirke and Boz Burrell. It was the last band’s album with the original line-up.


  • Paul Rodgers– vocals, guitar, piano
  • Mick Ralphs– guitar, slide guitar, keyboards
  • Simon Kirke– drums
  • Boz Burrell– bass
  • John Cook – piano, synthesizer
  • Mel Collins– saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Electricland – Paul Rodgers
  2. Untie the Knot – Paul Rodgers; Simon Kirke
  3. Nuthin’ on the TV – Boz Burrell
  4. Painted Face – Paul Rodgers
  5. Kickdown – Mick Ralphs
  6. Ballad of the Band – Boz Burrell
  7. Cross Country Boy – Paul Rodgers
  8. Old Mexico – Mick Ralphs
  9. Downhill Ryder – Paul Rodgers
  10. Racetrack

On August 25, 1998.

On August 25, 1998, “Zoë” label released “Bed”, the third Juliana Hatfield album. It was recorded in March 1998, and was produced by Juliana Hatfield.


  • Juliana Hatfield – guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Todd Philips – percussion, drums
  • Mikey Welsh– bass
  • Jon Williams – engineer
  • Tom Bonauro, Jim Goldberg – package design
  • Richard Turtletaub – design assistant
  • Jim Goldberg – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Juliana Hatfield

  1. Down on Me
  2. I Want to Want You
  3. Swan Song
  4. Sneaking Around
  5. Backseat
  6. Live It Up
  7. You Are the Camera
  8. Running Out
  9. Bad Day
  10. Let’s Blow It All

In July 1975.

In July 1975, “Harvest” label released “Futurama”, the second Be-Bop Deluxe album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Roy Thomas Baker.


  • Bill Nelson– guitar, lead and backing vocals, keyboards
  • Charlie Tumahai– bass, backing vocals
  • Simon Fox– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Nelson.

  1. Stage Whispers
  2. Love With the Madman
  3. Maid in Heaven
  4. Sister Seagull
  5. Sound Track
  6. Music in Dreamland
  7. Jean Cocteau
  8. Between the Worlds
  9. Swan Song

On June 28, 1982.


On June 28, 1982, “Swan Song” label released “Pictures at Eleven”, the debut Robert Plant solo album. It was recorded in 1982, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouth,Wales, and was produced by Robert Plant.  It was the only Plant’s solo album released on Led Zeppelin’s record label “Swan Song”, as the label ceased to function until his next album “The Principle of Moments” from 1983.


  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • Phil Collins- drums
  • Cozy Powell- drums
  • Paul Martinez- bass guitar
  • Raphael Ravenscroft- saxophone
  • Robbie Blunt- guitars
  • Jezz Woodroffe- keyboards, synthesizers

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Plant and Robbie Blunt, except where noted.

  1. Burning Down One Side – Robert Plant, Robbie Blunt, Jezz Woodroffe
  2. Moonlight in Samosa
  3. Pledge Pin
  4. Slow Dancer
  5. Worse Than Detroit
  6. Fat Lip – Robert Plant, Robbie Blunt, Jezz Woodroffe
  7. Like I’ve Never Been Gone
  8. Mystery Title


On June 26, 1974.

BadCompany BadCompany

On June 26, 1974, “Swan Song” label released the debut, self-titled Bad Company album. It was recorded in November 1973, at “Headley Grange” with “Ronnie Lane’s Mobile Studio”, and was produced by Bad Company. “Kerrang!” magazine ranked the album at number 40 among the “100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time”.


  • Paul Rodgers– vocals, rhythm and acoustic guitars, piano, tambourine
  • Mick Ralphs– lead guitar, keyboards
  • Boz Burrell– bass
  • Simon Kirke– drums
  • Sue Glover and Sunny Leslie– backing vocals
  • Mel Collins– saxophones
  • Ron Fawcus – tape operator
  • Hipgnosis– sleeve design, photography
  • Ron Nevison – engineer, mixing
  • Steve Hoffman– mastering
  • Barry Diament – mastering
  • Beverly Taddei – production co-ordination
  • Bob Wynne – art direction

Track listing:

  1. Can’t Get Enough – Mike Ralphs
  2. Rock Steady – Paul Rodgers
  3. Ready for Love – Mike Ralphs
  4. Don’t Let me Down – Paul Rodgers, Mike Ralphs
  5. Bad Company – Paul Rodgers, Simon Kirke
  6. The Way I Choose – Paul Rodgers
  7. Movin’ On – Mike Ralphs
  8. Seagull – Paul Rodgers, Mike Ralphs

On February 24, 1975.


On February 25, 1975, “Swan Song” label released “Physical Graffiti”, the sixth studio Led Zeppelin album. The double album was recorded July – December 1970, January and March 1971, May 1972, January and February 1974, at multiple locations, and was produced by Jimmy Page. The album included unreleased tracks from earlier recording sessions: one outtake from “Led Zeppelin III”, three tracks from “Led Zeppelin IV”, and three tracks from “Houses of the Holy”, including the unused title track. “Physical Graffiti” was certified 16× Platinum in the US by “RIAA”, and 2× Platinum in UK by “BPI”. In 1996, “Mojo” magazine ranked the album at number 47 on its list of “The 100 Greatest Albums Ever Made”; in 2000, “Q” magazine ranked the album at number 32 on its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”; in 2001 “Classic Rock” magazine ranked the album at number 5 at its list of  “100 Greatest Rock Album Ever”; in 2003, the TV network  “VH1” named it the 71st “Greatest album ever”; in 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Physical Graffiti” at number 70 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”; in 2006 “Guitar World” magazine ranked the album at number 9 at its list of “Reader’s Poll: 100 Greatest Guitar Albums”.  In 1976, the album won “Grammy Award for Best Recording Package”.


  • John Bonham– drums, percussion
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar, organ, acoustic and electric piano, mellotron, guitar, mandolin, VCS3 synthesiser, Hohner clavinet, Hammond organ, string arrangement
  • Jimmy Page– electric, acoustic, lap steel and slide guitar, mandolin
  • Robert Plant– lead vocals, harmonica, acoustic guitar
  • Ian Stewart– piano
  • Peter Corriston– artwork, design, cover design
  • Mike Doud – artwork, design, cover design
  • Elliot Erwitt, P. Fallon, Roy Harper– photography
  • Dave Heffernan – illustrations

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimmy Page and Robert Plant, except where noted.

  1. Custard Pie
  2. The Rover
  3. In My Time of Dying – John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  4. Houses of the Holy
  5. Trampled Under Foot – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant
  6. Kashmir – John Bonham, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  7. In the Light – John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  8. Bron-Yr-Aur – Jimmy Page
  9. Down by the Seaside
  10. Ten Years Gone
  11. Night Flight – John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  12. The Wanton Song
  13. Boogie with Stu – John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, Ian Stewart
  14. Black Country Woman
  15. Sick Again