Tag Archives: Kendun Recorders

On June 11, 1976.

On June 11, 1976, “Columbia” label released “Beautiful Noise”, the tenth Neil Diamond album. It was recorded 1975 – 1976, at “Shangri La Studio”, “Kendun Recorders” and “Village Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Robbie Robertson.


  • Neil Diamond – vocals, acoustic and rhythm guitar, dobro
  • Robbie Robertson – guitar
  • Richard Bennett – guitar 
  • Jesse Ed Davis – guitar
  • Larry Knechtel – piano, Fender Rhodes
  • Alan Lindgren – piano, synthesizer
  • David Paich – Fender Rhodes, piano
  • Garth Hudson – Hammond organ, Lowrey organ
  • James Newton Howard – ARP, synthesizer
  • Dr. John – Hammond organ
  • Bob James – piano, arrangement, Fender Rhodes
  • Tommy Morgan – harmonica
  • Bob Boucher – bass guitar, ARP
  • Dennis St. John – drums, percussion
  • Jim Keltner – drums
  • Russ Kunkel – drums
  • Jim Gordon – drums, congas, harmony vocals
  • Joe Lala – percussion, tambourine, congas
  • Bob Findley – trumpet
  • Jerome Richardson – flute, clarinet
  • Linda Press – backing vocals
  • Nick DeCaro – arrangements, accordion

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Diamond, except where noted.

  1. Beautiful Noise
  2. Stargazer
  3. Lady Oh
  4. Don’t Think…Feel
  5. Surviving the Life
  6. If You Know What I Mean
  7. Street Life
  8. Home Is a Wounded Heart
  9. Jungletime
  10. Signs
  11. Dry Your Eyes – Neil Diamond, Robbie Robertson

In September 1977.

In September 1977, “Epic” label released “In Color”, the second Cheap Trick studio album. It was recorded in 1977, at “Kendun Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Tom Werman. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 443 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 1979, “In Color” was certified Platinum in Canada by “CRIA”, and in 2001, Platinum in US by “RIIA”.


  • Robin Zander- lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Rick Nielsen- lead guitars, vocals
  • Tom Petersson- bass, vocals
  • Bun E. Carlos– drums
  • Antonino Reale– engineer
  • George Marino- mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Rick Nielsen, except where noted.

  1. Hello There
  2. Big Eyes
  3. Downed
  4. I Want You to Want Me
  5. You’re All Talk – Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson
  6. Oh Caroline
  7. Clock Strikes Ten
  8. Southern Girls – Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson
  9. Come On, Come On
  10. So Good to See You

On August 9, 1980.

On August 9, 1980, “Qwest Records” label released “Give Me The Night”, the 18th George Benson album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Kendun Recorders” in Burbank,  and “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Quincy Jones. in 1981 Benson won “Grammy Awards” for “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance”, the track “Moody’s Mood” won “Best Jazz Vocal Performance, Male” and track “Off Broadway” won “Best R&B Instrumental Performance”. Quincy Jones and Jerry Hey also won the “Grammy Award” for “Best Instrumental Arrangement” for the song “Dinorah, Dinorah”. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • George Benson– lead and backing vocals, guitar and lead guitar, scat
  • Lee Ritenour– acoustic and electric guitar
  • Louis Johnson, Abe Laboriel– bass guitar
  • John Robinson, Carlos Vega – drums
  • Paulinho Da Costa– percussion
  • Greg Phillinganes– keyboards, synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Michael Boddicker– synthesizer
  • Richard Tee– synthesizer bass, electric piano, synthesizer
  • Herbie Hancock– synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Clare Fischer– Yamaha CS30, acoustic piano, Fender Rhodes
  • George Duke– keyboards
  • Jerry Hey– trumpet
  • Kim Hutchcroft, Larry Williams– saxophone, flute
  • Marty Paich– string arrangements, conductor
  • Sid Sharp – concertmaster
  • Patti Austin– backing and lead vocals
  • Jim Gilstrap, Diva Gray, Jocelyn Allen, Tom Bahler– backing vocals
  • Recorded and mixed by Bruce Swedien
  • Assistant engineers – Sheridan Eldridge, Ralph Osbourne, Mark Sackett.
  • Mastered by Jim Sintetos, Kent Duncan
  • Liner notes by Quincy Jones
  • Art direction – Richard Seireeni
  • Illustration – Paul Jasmin
  • Cover photography – Norman Seeff
  • Sleeve photography – Peter Brill
  • Typography – Anderson Typographics

Track listing:

All tracks by Rod Temperton except where indicated.

  1. Love X Love
  2. Off Broadway
  3. Moody’s Mood – Eddie Jefferson, James Moody
  4. Give Me the Night
  5. What’s On Your Mind – Glen Ballard, Kerry Chater
  6. Dinorah, Dinorah – Ivan Lins, Vitor Martins
  7. Love Dance – ivan Lins, Gilson Peranzzetta, Paul Williams
  8. Star of a Story (X)
  9. Midnight Love Affair – David “Hawk” Wolinski
  10. Turn Out the Lamplight

On June 13, 1975.

Red Octopus

On June 13, 1975, “Grunt” label released “Red Octopus”, an album by Jefferson Starship. It was recorded in February 1975, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Grace Slick, Paul Kantner, Marty Balin, Craig Chaquico, Papa John Creach, David Freiberg, Pete Sears, and Larry Cox.


  • Grace Slick– lead and backing vocals, piano
  • Paul Kantner– lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Marty Balin– lead and backing vocals
  • Craig Chaquico– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Papa John Creach– electric violin
  • David Freiberg– organ, lead and backing vocals, ARP synthesizer, keyboards, bass
  • Pete Sears– bass, keyboards, electric and acoustic pianos, organ , clavinet, ARP synthesizer, backing vocals
  • John Barbata– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Bobbye Hall– percussion, congas
  • Irv Cox – saxophone
  • Larry Cox – engineer
  • Pat Leraci (Maurice) – production coordinator
  • Steve Mantoani, Jeffrey Husband – recordists
  • Paul Dowell – amp consultant
  • Dave Roberts – string and horn arrangement
  • Mastered by Kent Duncan, Kendun Recorders, Burbank
  • Bill Thompson – manager
  • Frank Mulvey – art director
  • Jim Marshall – liner photograph
  • Gribbitt! – graphics

Track listing:

  1. Fast Buck Freddie – Grace Slick, Craig Chaquico
  2. Miracles – Marty Balin
  3. Git Fiddler – Papa John Creach, Kevin Moore, John Parker
  4. Ai Garimasũ (There Is Love) – Grace Slick
  5. Sweeter Than Honey – Marty Balin, Craig Chaquicom, Pete Sears
  6. Play On Love – Grace Slick, Pete Sears
  7. Tumblin – Marty Balin, Robert Hunter, David Frieberg
  8. I Want To See Another World – Paul Kantner, Grace Slick, Marty Balin
  9. Sandalphon – Pete Sears
  10. There Will Be Love – Paul Kantner, Marty Balin