Tag Archives: ABC

In July 1975.

In July 1975, “ABC” label released “Head Over Heels”, the ninth Poco studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Mark Henry Harman, Paul Cotton, Rusty Young, Timothy B. Schmit and George Grantham.


  • Paul Cotton- guitar, vocals
  • Rusty Young- steel guitar, guitar, vocals
  • Timothy B. Schmit- bass, vocals
  • George Grantham- drums, vocals
  • Donald Fagen– synthesizer
  • Victor Feldman– percussion
  • Steve Forman – percussion
  • Al Garth– violin
  • Mark Henry Harman– keyboards, piano, cello, recording engineer
  • Jimmie Haskell– strings
  • Milt Holland– percussion
  • Garth Hudson– keyboards
  • Michael Von Verdick– vocals

Track listing:

  1. Keep on Tryin’ -Timothy B. Schmit
  2. Lovin’ Arms – Rusty Young
  3. Let Me Turn Back to You – Paul Cotton
  4. Makin’ Love – Rusty Young
  5. Down in the Quarter – Paul Cotton
  6. Sittin’ on a Fence – Rusty Young
  7. Georgia, Bind My Ties – Paul Cotton
  8. Us – Rusty Young
  9. Flyin’ Solo – Timothy B. Schmit, Jacob Otis Brennan
  10. Dallas – Donald Fagen, Walter Becker
  11. I’ll Be Back Again – Timothy B. Schmit

In July 1973.

In July 1973, “ABC” label released “Countdown to Ecstasy”, the second Steely Dan studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Caribou Ranch” in Nederland, “The Village Recorder” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Gary Katz. The cover painting was by Dorothy White.


  • Donald Fagen– acoustic and electric pianos, synthesizer, lead vocals
  • Walter Becker– electric bass, harmonica, background vocals
  • Denny Dias– electric guitar, mixing
  • Jeff “Skunk” Baxter– electric and pedal steel guitars
  • Jim Hodder– drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Ray Brown– string bass
  • Ben Benay– acoustic guitar
  • Rick Derringer– slide guitar
  • Victor Feldman– vibraphone, marimba, percussion
  • Ernie Watts, Johnny Rotella, Lanny Morgan, Bill Perkins– saxophones
  • Sherlie Matthews, Myrna Matthews, Patricia Hall, David Palmer, James Rolleston, Michael Fennelly– background vocals
  • Engineer: Roger Nichols
  • Assistant engineer: Miss Natalie
  • Album design: Dotty of Hollywood
  • Photography: Ed Caraeff

Track listing:

All tracks by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen.

  1. Bodhisattva
  2. Razor Boy
  3. The Boston Rag
  4. Your Gold Teeth
  5. Show Biz Kids
  6. My Old School
  7. Pearl of the Quarter
  8. King of the World

In July 1972.

In July 1972, “ABC” label released “Straight Shooter’, the fourth James Gang studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Quadrafonic Sound Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Roy Kenner, Domenic Trojano, Dale Peters and Jim Fox.


  • Roy Kenner– lead vocals, percussion
  • Domenic Troiano– guitars, backing and lead vocals
  • Dale Peters– bass guitar, backing vocals, percussion
  • Jim Fox– drums, backing vocals, percussion, keyboards
  • Sheldon Kurland– violin
  • Glen Spreen – strings
  • Gene Eichelberger – engineering, remixing
  • Jim Flournoy Holmes- cover artwork
  • David Powell – cover artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Roy Kenner and Domenic Troiano, except where noted.

  1. Madness
  2. Kick Back Man
  3. Get Her Back Again – Domenic Trojano
  4. Looking for My Lady
  5. Getting Old – Domenic Trojano
  6. I’ll Tell You Why – Dale Peters, Domenic Trojano
  7. Hairy Hypochondriac – Roy Kenner,Dale Peters,Domenic  Troiano
  8. Let Me Come Home – Dale Peters, Domenic Trojano
  9. My Door is Open


In July 1970.

In July 1970, “ABC” label released “James Gang Rides Again”, the second James Gang studio album. It was recorded in November 1969 at “The Record Plant”, and was produced by Bill Szymczyk.


  • Joe Walsh– guitars, vocals, keyboards, piano, percussion
  • Dale Peters – bass guitars, vocals, guitars, keyboards, percussion
  • Jim Fox– drums, vocals, percussion, keyboards, organ, piano
  • Rusty Young– pedal steel guitar
  • Engineer: Bill Szymczyk
  • Remastering: Bill Szymczyk, Ted Jensen
  • Liner notes: Dale Peters, Jim Fox and Joe Walsh
  • Photography: Tom Wright

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Walsh, except where noted.

  1. Funk #49 – Jim Fox, Dale Peters, Joe Walsh
  2. Asshtonpark – Jim Fox, Dale Peters, Joe Walsh
  3. Woman – Jim Fox, Dale Peters, Joe Walsh
  4. The Bomber: Closet Queen/ Boléro/ Cast Your Fate to the Wind – Jim Fox, Dale Peters, Joe Walsh, Maurice Ravel, Vince Guaraldi
  5. Tend My Garden
  6. Garden Gate
  7. There I Go Again
  8. Thanks
  9. Ashes, the Rain and I

On July 1, 1973.

On July 1, 1973, “ABC” label released “Life and Times”, the fourth Jim Croce studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “The Hit Factory” in New York City, and was produced by Terry Cashman and Tommy West.


  • Jim Croce – guitar, vocals
  • Kenny Ascher- organ
  • Terry Cashman- vocals
  • Gary Chester- drums
  • Ellie Greenwich- vocals
  • Michael Kamen- synthesizer
  • Joe Macho – bass
  • Maury Muehleisen- guitar, vocals
  • Alan Rolnick – guitar, vocals
  • Tasha Thomas – vocals
  • Eric Weissberg- violin
  • Tommy West – bass, keyboards, vocals
  • Engineer: Bruce Tergesen

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Croce.

  1. One Less Set of Footsteps
  2. Roller Derby Queen
  3. Dreamin’ Again
  4. Careful Man
  5. Alabama Rain
  6. A Good Time Man Like Me Ain’t Got No Business (Singin’ the Blues)
  7. Next Time, This Time
  8. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown
  9. These Dreams
  10. Speedball Tucker
  11. It Doesn’t Have to Be That Way

On May 27, 2016.

On May 27, 2016, “Virgin EMI” label released “The Lexicon of Love II”, the ninth ABC studio album. It was recorded in 2016, and was produced by Martin Fry and Gary Stevenson.


  • Martin Fry– lead and background vocals
  • Anne Dudley– piano; keyboards; orchestration
  • Rob Fusari– keyboards; programming
  • Peter Gordeno – additional keyboards; programming
  • Stephen Darrell Smith – additional piano
  • Richard Barrett – guitars
  • Matt Backer – guitars
  • Richard Brook– drums
  • Vinzenz Benjamin– bass guitar
  • Carol Kenyon– backing vocals
  • Gina Foster – backing vocals
  • Tim Young – mastering
  • Mat Maitland – art direction
  • Henrik Knudsen – photography

Track listing:

  1. The Flames of Desire – Martin Fry, Charlie Mole, Marcus Vere
  2. Viva Love – Martin Fry, Charlie Mole, Marcus Vere
  3. Ten Below Zero – Martin Fry, Charlie Mole, Marcus Vere
  4. Confessions of a Fool – Martin Fry, Rob Fusari
  5. Singer Not the Song – Martin Fry, Rob Fusari
  6. The Ship of the Seasick Sailor – Martin Fry, Rob Fusari
  7. Kiss Me Goodbye – Martin Fry, Charlie Mole, Marcus Vere
  8. I Believe in Love – Martin Fry, Matt Rowe
  9. The Love Inside the Love – Martin Fry, Anne Dudley
  10. Brighter Than the Sun – Martin Fry, Anne Dudley
  11. Viva Love Reprise – Martin Fry, Charlie Mole, Marcus Vere

In May 1977.

In May 1977, “ABC” label released “Indian Summer”, the twelfth Poco album. It was recorded in 1977, at “Burbank Studios”, and Mark Henry Harman, Paul Cotton, Rusty Young, Timothy B. Schmit and George Grantham.


  • Paul Cotton– guitar, vocals
  • Rusty Young– steel guitar, guitar, vocals
  • Timothy B. Schmit– bass, vocals
  • George Grantham– drums, vocals
  • Donald Fagen– synthesizer
  • Steve Forman – percussion
  • Mark Henry Harman– keyboards, celeste, cello

Track listing:

  1. Indian Summer – Paul Cotton
  2. Twenty Years – Paul Cotton
  3. Me and You – Timothy B. Schmit
  4. Downfall – Rusty Young
  5. Win or Lose – Paul Cotton
  6. Living in the Band – Paul Cotton
  7. Stay (Night Until Noon) – Timothy B. Schmit, Noreen Schmit
  8. Find Out in Time – Robbin Thompson, Timothy B. Schmit
  9. The Dance: When the Dance Is Over / Go on and Dance / Never Gonna Stop / When the Dance Is Over (reprise) – Rusty Young