Tag Archives: Kent Duncan

In August 1974.

In August 1974, “A&M” label released “I Can Stand a Little Rain”, the fourth Joe Cocker studio album. It was recorded 1973 – 1974, at “The Village Recorder” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jim Price.


  • Joe Cocker – lead vocals
  • Henry McCullough, Cornell Dupree, Jay Graydon, Ralph Hammer, Ray Palmer, Ray Parker, Jr.– guitar
  • Chuck Rainey, Clydie King, Dave McDaniel, Chris Stewart – bass
  • Bernard “Pretty” Purdie, Ollie E. Brown, Jeff Porcaro, Denny Seiwell, Jimmy Karstein – drums
  • Randy Newman, Nicky Hopkins, Greg Mathieson, Jimmy Webb, Jim Price, David Paich, Richard Tee, Peggy Sandvig – keyboards
  • Jim Horn, Trevor Lawrence – saxophone
  • Stuart Blumberg, Steve Madaio – trumpet
  • Mayo Tiana, Jim Price– trombone
  • Merry Clayton, Venetta Fields, Sherlie Matthews, Daniel Moore- backing vocals
  • Jim Price, Jimmy Webb– arrangements
  • Engineers, recording, mixing – Rob Fraboniand Nat Jeffrey, Joe Tuzen, Mario Aglietti, Rick Heenan, J.J. Jansen, Carlton Lee, Ken Klinger, Zak Zenor
  • Mastered by Kent Duncan
  • Steve Vaughan – photography

Track listing:

  1. Put Out the Light – Daniel Moore
  2. I Can Stand a Little Rain – Jim Price
  3. I Get Mad – Joe Cocker, Jim Price
  4. Sing Me a Song – Henry McCullough
  5. The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress – Jimmy Webb
  6. Don’t Forget Me – Harry Nilsson
  7. You Are So Beautiful – Billy Preston, Bruce Fisher
  8. It’s a Sin (When You Love Somebody) – Jimmy Webb
  9. Performance – Allen Toussaint
  10. Guilty – Randy Newman

On August 9, 1980.

On August 9, 1980, “Qwest Records” label released “Give Me The Night”, the 18th George Benson album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Kendun Recorders” in Burbank,  and “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Quincy Jones. in 1981 Benson won “Grammy Awards” for “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance”, the track “Moody’s Mood” won “Best Jazz Vocal Performance, Male” and track “Off Broadway” won “Best R&B Instrumental Performance”. Quincy Jones and Jerry Hey also won the “Grammy Award” for “Best Instrumental Arrangement” for the song “Dinorah, Dinorah”. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • George Benson– lead and backing vocals, guitar and lead guitar, scat
  • Lee Ritenour– acoustic and electric guitar
  • Louis Johnson, Abe Laboriel– bass guitar
  • John Robinson, Carlos Vega – drums
  • Paulinho Da Costa– percussion
  • Greg Phillinganes– keyboards, synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Michael Boddicker– synthesizer
  • Richard Tee– synthesizer bass, electric piano, synthesizer
  • Herbie Hancock– synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Clare Fischer– Yamaha CS30, acoustic piano, Fender Rhodes
  • George Duke– keyboards
  • Jerry Hey– trumpet
  • Kim Hutchcroft, Larry Williams– saxophone, flute
  • Marty Paich– string arrangements, conductor
  • Sid Sharp – concertmaster
  • Patti Austin– backing and lead vocals
  • Jim Gilstrap, Diva Gray, Jocelyn Allen, Tom Bahler– backing vocals
  • Recorded and mixed by Bruce Swedien
  • Assistant engineers – Sheridan Eldridge, Ralph Osbourne, Mark Sackett.
  • Mastered by Jim Sintetos, Kent Duncan
  • Liner notes by Quincy Jones
  • Art direction – Richard Seireeni
  • Illustration – Paul Jasmin
  • Cover photography – Norman Seeff
  • Sleeve photography – Peter Brill
  • Typography – Anderson Typographics

Track listing:

All tracks by Rod Temperton except where indicated.

  1. Love X Love
  2. Off Broadway
  3. Moody’s Mood – Eddie Jefferson, James Moody
  4. Give Me the Night
  5. What’s On Your Mind – Glen Ballard, Kerry Chater
  6. Dinorah, Dinorah – Ivan Lins, Vitor Martins
  7. Love Dance – ivan Lins, Gilson Peranzzetta, Paul Williams
  8. Star of a Story (X)
  9. Midnight Love Affair – David “Hawk” Wolinski
  10. Turn Out the Lamplight

In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Grunt” label released “Spitfire”, the third Jefferson Starship album. It was recorded in March 1976, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Larry Cox, Grace Slick, Marty Balin, Paul Kantner, Craig Chaquico, David Freiberg, Pete Sears and John Barbata.  The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Grace Slick– lead and backing vocals, piano, art direction
  • Marty Balin– lead and backing vocals, art direction
  • Paul Kantner– lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar, art direction
  • Craig Chaquico– lead guitar, backing vocals, art direction
  • David Freiberg– keyboards, lead and backing vocals, ARP synthesizer, bass, art direction
  • Pete Sears– bass, piano, Mellotron, keyboards, organ, Moog, art direction
  • John Barbata– drums, percussion, backing and lead vocals, art direction
  • Bobbye Hall – percussion, congas
  • Dave Roberts– string and horn arrangements
  • Steven Schuster– saxophone
  • Larry Cox – engineer
  • Steve Malcolm – assistant to the engineer
  • Pat Ieraci (Maurice) – production coordinator
  • Bill Thompson – manager
  • Cassandra Gaviola– dragon princess
  • Paul Dowell – amp consultant
  • John Langdon – label art
  • Tim Bryant/Gribbit – album design,art direction
  • Ron Slenzak– cover photography
  • Shusei Nagaoka– illustration
  • Mastered by Kent Duncan

Track listing:

  1. Cruisin – Charles Hickox
  2. Dance with the Dragon – Paul Kantner,Grace Slick, Marty Balin, Craig Chaquico
  3. Hot Water – Grace Slick, Pete Sears
  4. Charles – Paul Kantner, Marty Balin, Jesse Barish, Craig Chaquico, Thunderhawk
  5. Song to the Sun: Part I: Ozymandias / Part II: Don’t Let It Rain – Paul Kantner,China Wing,  Craig Chaquico, John Barbata, David Freiberg, Pete Sears, Grace Slick, Paul Kantner
  6. With Your Love – Marty Balin, Joey Covington,Vic Smith
  7. Switchblade – Grace Slick
  8. Big City – John Barbata, Joel Scott Hill,Chris Ethridge
  9. Love Lovely Love – Jesse Barish