Tag Archives: Off Broadway

On August 9, 1980.

On August 9, 1980, “Qwest Records” label released “Give Me The Night”, the 18th George Benson album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Kendun Recorders” in Burbank,  and “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Quincy Jones. in 1981 Benson won “Grammy Awards” for “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance”, the track “Moody’s Mood” won “Best Jazz Vocal Performance, Male” and track “Off Broadway” won “Best R&B Instrumental Performance”. Quincy Jones and Jerry Hey also won the “Grammy Award” for “Best Instrumental Arrangement” for the song “Dinorah, Dinorah”. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • George Benson– lead and backing vocals, guitar and lead guitar, scat
  • Lee Ritenour– acoustic and electric guitar
  • Louis Johnson, Abe Laboriel– bass guitar
  • John Robinson, Carlos Vega – drums
  • Paulinho Da Costa– percussion
  • Greg Phillinganes– keyboards, synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Michael Boddicker– synthesizer
  • Richard Tee– synthesizer bass, electric piano, synthesizer
  • Herbie Hancock– synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Clare Fischer– Yamaha CS30, acoustic piano, Fender Rhodes
  • George Duke– keyboards
  • Jerry Hey– trumpet
  • Kim Hutchcroft, Larry Williams– saxophone, flute
  • Marty Paich– string arrangements, conductor
  • Sid Sharp – concertmaster
  • Patti Austin– backing and lead vocals
  • Jim Gilstrap, Diva Gray, Jocelyn Allen, Tom Bahler– backing vocals
  • Recorded and mixed by Bruce Swedien
  • Assistant engineers – Sheridan Eldridge, Ralph Osbourne, Mark Sackett.
  • Mastered by Jim Sintetos, Kent Duncan
  • Liner notes by Quincy Jones
  • Art direction – Richard Seireeni
  • Illustration – Paul Jasmin
  • Cover photography – Norman Seeff
  • Sleeve photography – Peter Brill
  • Typography – Anderson Typographics

Track listing:

All tracks by Rod Temperton except where indicated.

  1. Love X Love
  2. Off Broadway
  3. Moody’s Mood – Eddie Jefferson, James Moody
  4. Give Me the Night
  5. What’s On Your Mind – Glen Ballard, Kerry Chater
  6. Dinorah, Dinorah – Ivan Lins, Vitor Martins
  7. Love Dance – ivan Lins, Gilson Peranzzetta, Paul Williams
  8. Star of a Story (X)
  9. Midnight Love Affair – David “Hawk” Wolinski
  10. Turn Out the Lamplight

On June 26, 2007.

On June 26, 2007, “Lost Highway” label released “Easy Tiger”, the ninth Ryan Adams studio album. It was recorded in 2007, at “Electric Lady Studios” in  Greenwich Village, and was produced by Jamie Candiloro.


  • Ryan Adams – vocals, guitar, piano, banjo, harmonica
  • Brad Pemberton – drums, percussion, vocals
  • Jon Graboff – pedal steel, vocals, guitar, mandolin
  • Neal Casal – guitar, vocals, keyboards
  • Chris Feinstein – bass, vocals
  • Jamie Candiloro – piano, keyboards, synths, bass, percussion
  • Eric Gorfain – violin
  • Daphne Chen – violin
  • Leah Katz – viola
  • Richard Dodd – cello
  • Richard Worn – vocals
  • Sheryl Crow – vocals
  • Catherine Popper – bass, vocals
  • Cindy Cashdollar – pedal steel, lap steel, dobro

Track listing:

All tracks by Ryan Adams, Brad Pemberton, Neal Casal and Jon Graboff, except where noted.

  1. Goodnight Rose
  2. Two – Ryan Adams, Brad Pemberton
  3. Everybody Knows
  4. Halloweenhead – Ryan Adams
  5. Oh My God, Whatever, Etc. – Ryan Adams, Brad Pemberton
  6. Tears of Gold
  7. The Sun Also Sets – Ryan Adams, Brad Pemberton
  8. Off Broadway – Ryan Adams, Brad Pemberton
  9. Pearls on a String
  10. Rip Off – Pearls on a String
  11. Two Hearts
  12. These Girls
  13. I Taught Myself How to Grow Old – Ryan Adams