Tag Archives: 18th album

On August 11, 2009.

On August 11, 2009, “Vanguard” and “Nozzle Records” labels released “This Time”, the 18th Robert Cray album. It was recorded in 2009, at “Santa Barbara Sound Design” in Santa Barbara, California, and was produced by Robert Cray.


• Robert Cray – vocals, guitar
• Jim Pugh – keyboards
• Richard Cousins – bass guitar
• Tony Braunagel – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Cray, except where noted.

1. Chicken In The Kitchen
2. I Can’t Fail
3. Love 2009 – Jim Pugh
4. That’s What Keeps Me Rockin’ – Tony Braungel, Schell
5. This Time
6. To Be True – Jim Pugh, Richard Cousins
7. Forever Goodbye – Robert Cray, Sue Turner-Cray
8. Trouble and Pain
9. Truce – Richard Cousins, Hendrix Ackle

On April 21, 1998.

On April 21, 1998, “Enja” label released “Light Breeze”, the 18th Franco Ambrosetti album. It was recorded in 1997, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Matthias Winckelmann.


  • Franco Ambrosetti– flugelhorn
  • John Abercrombie– guitar
  • Antonio Faraò– piano
  • Miroslav Vitous– bass
  • Billy Drummond– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Franco Ambrosetti except where noted

  1. Versace – Daniel Humair
  2. Silli’s Nest (Interlude 1)
  3. Deborah – Gian Luca Ambrosetti
  4. Culture and Sensitivity (Interlude 2) – John Abercrombie
  5. Contempo Latinsky
  6. Elegia (Interlude 3) – Antonio Faraò
  7. My Foolish Heart – Victor Young, Ned Washington
  8. Virtuosismo (Interlude 4) – Miroslav Vitous
  9. One for the Kids – George Gruntz
  10. Percussion Dreams (Interlude 5) – Billy Drummond
  11. Giant Steps – John Coltrane
  12. Silli in the Sky

On March 13, 2001.

On March 13, 2001, “Blue Note” label released “Flights of Fancy: Trio Fascination: Edition Two”, the 18th Joe Lovano album. It was recorded June 14 and 16, 2000, and was produced by Joe Lovano.


  • Joe Lovano– tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, alto clarinet, drums, percussion, gong
  • Idris Muhammad- drums
  • Cameron Brown- bass
  • Billy Drewes- soprano saxophone, alto flute
  • Joey Baron- drums
  • Toots Thielemans- harmonica
  • Kenny Werner- piano
  • Dave Douglas- trumpet
  • Mark Dresser- bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Lovano, except where noted.

  1. Flights of Fancy
  2. On April (I’ll Remember April) – Gene de Paul, Patricia Johnston, Don Raye
  3. Amsterdam
  4. Blue Mist
  5. Off and Runnin’
  6. Infant Eyes – Wayne Shorter
  7. 206
  8. Bougainvillea – Judi Silvano
  9. Windom Street
  10. Hot Shot
  11. Aisha – McCoy Tyner
  12. Amber
  13. On Giant Steps – John Coltrane
  14. Flights of Fancy – reprise


In February 1962.

In February 1962, “Blue Note” label released “The Cat Walk”, the 18th Donald Byrd album. It was recorded on May 2, 1961, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • Pepper Adams- baritone saxophone
  • Duke Pearson- piano
  • Laymon Jackson – bass
  • Philly Joe Jones- drums

Track listing:

  1. Say You’re Mine – Duke Pearson
  2. Duke’s Mixture – Duke Pearson
  3. Each Time I Think of You – Donald Byrd, Duke Pearson
  4. The Cat Walk – Donald Byrd
  5. Cute – Neal Hefti
  6. Hello Bright Sunflower – Duke Pearson

In January 1963.

In January 1963, “Moodsville” label released “Bluesy Burrell”, the 18th Kenny Burrell album. It was recorded on September 14, at ”Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Ozzie Cadena.


  • Kenny Burrell- guitar
  • Coleman Hawkins- tenor saxophone
  • Tommy Flanagan- piano
  • Major Holley- bass
  • Eddie Locke- drums
  • Ray Barretto- congas

Track listing:

All tracks by Kenny Burrell, except where noted.

  1. Tres Palabras – Osvaldo Farrés
  2. No More
  3. Guilty – Harry Akst, Gus Kahn, Richard A. Whiting
  4. Montono Blues
  5. I Thought About You – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Mercer
  6. Out of This World – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  7. It’s Getting Dark

On November 19, 2002.

On November 19, 2002, “Nonesuch” label released “Travelogue”, the 18th Joni Mitchell studio album. It was recorded in 2002, and was produced by Joni Mitchell and Larry Klein. The album features orchestral recordings of songs from throughout her career. The composer of the orchestral arrangements Vince Mendoza, won a 2004 “Grammy Award” for “Best Instrumental Arrangement Accompanying Vocalist” for the arrangement of the track “Woodstock”.


  • Joni Mitchell – vocals
  • Larry Klein– bass, musical direction
  • Herbie Hancock– piano
  • Billy Preston– Hammond B3 organ
  • Chuck Berghofer– double bass
  • Paulinho da Costa– percussion
  • Brian Blade– drums
  • Wayne Shorter– soprano saxophone
  • Plas Johnson– tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Wheeler– flugelhorn
  • Gavyn Wright– orchestra leader
  • Vince Mendoza– conductor, arrangement

Track listing:

All tracks by Joni Mitchell; except where noted.

  1. Otis and Marlena
  2. Amelia
  3. You Dream Flat Tires
  4. Love
  5. Woodstock
  6. Slouching Toward Bethlehem – based on a poem by  B. Yeats
  7. Judgement of the Moon and Stars (Ludwig’s Tune)
  8. The Sire of Sorrow (Job’s Sad Song)
  9. For the Roses
  10. Trouble Child
  11. God Must Be a Boogie Man
  12. Be Cool
  13. Just Like This Train
  14. Sex Kills
  15. Refuge of the Roads
  16. Hejira
  17. Chinese Café / Unchained Melody – Alex North, Hy Zaret
  18. Cherokee Louise
  19. The Dawntreader
  20. The Last Time I Saw Richard
  21. Borderline
  22. The Circle Game

On August 9, 1980.

On August 9, 1980, “Qwest Records” label released “Give Me The Night”, the 18th George Benson album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Kendun Recorders” in Burbank,  and “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Quincy Jones. in 1981 Benson won “Grammy Awards” for “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance”, the track “Moody’s Mood” won “Best Jazz Vocal Performance, Male” and track “Off Broadway” won “Best R&B Instrumental Performance”. Quincy Jones and Jerry Hey also won the “Grammy Award” for “Best Instrumental Arrangement” for the song “Dinorah, Dinorah”. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • George Benson– lead and backing vocals, guitar and lead guitar, scat
  • Lee Ritenour– acoustic and electric guitar
  • Louis Johnson, Abe Laboriel– bass guitar
  • John Robinson, Carlos Vega – drums
  • Paulinho Da Costa– percussion
  • Greg Phillinganes– keyboards, synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Michael Boddicker– synthesizer
  • Richard Tee– synthesizer bass, electric piano, synthesizer
  • Herbie Hancock– synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Clare Fischer– Yamaha CS30, acoustic piano, Fender Rhodes
  • George Duke– keyboards
  • Jerry Hey– trumpet
  • Kim Hutchcroft, Larry Williams– saxophone, flute
  • Marty Paich– string arrangements, conductor
  • Sid Sharp – concertmaster
  • Patti Austin– backing and lead vocals
  • Jim Gilstrap, Diva Gray, Jocelyn Allen, Tom Bahler– backing vocals
  • Recorded and mixed by Bruce Swedien
  • Assistant engineers – Sheridan Eldridge, Ralph Osbourne, Mark Sackett.
  • Mastered by Jim Sintetos, Kent Duncan
  • Liner notes by Quincy Jones
  • Art direction – Richard Seireeni
  • Illustration – Paul Jasmin
  • Cover photography – Norman Seeff
  • Sleeve photography – Peter Brill
  • Typography – Anderson Typographics

Track listing:

All tracks by Rod Temperton except where indicated.

  1. Love X Love
  2. Off Broadway
  3. Moody’s Mood – Eddie Jefferson, James Moody
  4. Give Me the Night
  5. What’s On Your Mind – Glen Ballard, Kerry Chater
  6. Dinorah, Dinorah – Ivan Lins, Vitor Martins
  7. Love Dance – ivan Lins, Gilson Peranzzetta, Paul Williams
  8. Star of a Story (X)
  9. Midnight Love Affair – David “Hawk” Wolinski
  10. Turn Out the Lamplight