Tag Archives: Ivan Lins

On May 24, 1994.

On May 24, 1994, “Concord Picante” label released “Take a Chance”, the 19th Joanne Brackeen album. It was recorded in June 1983, and was produced by Allen Farnham and Paul Wickliffe.


  • Joanne Brackeen– piano
  • Eddie Gómez– bass
  • Duduka da Fonseca– drums
  • Waltinho Anastácio – vocals, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Recado Bossa Nova – Luiz Antonio, Djalma Ferreira
  2. Children’s Games – Antônio Carlos Jobim
  3. Estaté – Bruno Martino, Bruno Brighetti
  4. Cançâo do Sal – Milton Nascimento
  5. Frevo – Egberto Gismonti
  6. Mountain Flight – Toninho Horta
  7. The Island – Ivan Lins, Vitor Martins
  8. Take a Chance – Joanne Brackeen
  9. Ponta de Areia – Milton Nascimento
  10. Duduka – Joanne Brackeen
  11. Mist on a Rainbow – Joanne Brackeen



On February 10, 2017.

On February 10, 2017, Oleta Adams self released “Third Set”, her tenth album. It was recorded in 2016, at “Firehouse Studios”, and was produced by Oleta Adams.


  • Oleta Adams – vocals, piano, keyboards, arranger
  • James Harrah – guitar
  • John Cushon – drums, cajon
  • John Peña – bass
  • Matt O’Connor – percussion
  • Sadaharu Yagi, Josh Lewis – engineer
  • Bernie Becker – mastering
  • Les D. Cooper – mixing, engineer
  • Chevy Nash – art direction
  • Erin Edwards – graphic art
  • Chevy Nash, Robert Kopchak, Steven Frazier – design

Track listing:

  1. It’s Alright With Me – Cole Porter
  2. Only the Lone – Jimmy Van Heusen, Sammy Cahn
  3. Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow – Joni Mitchell
  4. River – Joni Mitchell
  5. Do I Move You – Nina Simone
  6. Evolution (Acoustic) – Brock Walsh, Ivan Lins
  7. Rhythm Of Life (Acoustic) – Nicky Holland, Roland Orzabal
  8. Blowin’ In The Wind – Bob Dylan
  9. Wilted Roses – Oleta Adams, Raina Bundy
  10. His Loving Eyes – Oleta Adams

On August 9, 1980.

On August 9, 1980, “Qwest Records” label released “Give Me The Night”, the 18th George Benson album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Kendun Recorders” in Burbank,  and “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Quincy Jones. in 1981 Benson won “Grammy Awards” for “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance”, the track “Moody’s Mood” won “Best Jazz Vocal Performance, Male” and track “Off Broadway” won “Best R&B Instrumental Performance”. Quincy Jones and Jerry Hey also won the “Grammy Award” for “Best Instrumental Arrangement” for the song “Dinorah, Dinorah”. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • George Benson– lead and backing vocals, guitar and lead guitar, scat
  • Lee Ritenour– acoustic and electric guitar
  • Louis Johnson, Abe Laboriel– bass guitar
  • John Robinson, Carlos Vega – drums
  • Paulinho Da Costa– percussion
  • Greg Phillinganes– keyboards, synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Michael Boddicker– synthesizer
  • Richard Tee– synthesizer bass, electric piano, synthesizer
  • Herbie Hancock– synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Clare Fischer– Yamaha CS30, acoustic piano, Fender Rhodes
  • George Duke– keyboards
  • Jerry Hey– trumpet
  • Kim Hutchcroft, Larry Williams– saxophone, flute
  • Marty Paich– string arrangements, conductor
  • Sid Sharp – concertmaster
  • Patti Austin– backing and lead vocals
  • Jim Gilstrap, Diva Gray, Jocelyn Allen, Tom Bahler– backing vocals
  • Recorded and mixed by Bruce Swedien
  • Assistant engineers – Sheridan Eldridge, Ralph Osbourne, Mark Sackett.
  • Mastered by Jim Sintetos, Kent Duncan
  • Liner notes by Quincy Jones
  • Art direction – Richard Seireeni
  • Illustration – Paul Jasmin
  • Cover photography – Norman Seeff
  • Sleeve photography – Peter Brill
  • Typography – Anderson Typographics

Track listing:

All tracks by Rod Temperton except where indicated.

  1. Love X Love
  2. Off Broadway
  3. Moody’s Mood – Eddie Jefferson, James Moody
  4. Give Me the Night
  5. What’s On Your Mind – Glen Ballard, Kerry Chater
  6. Dinorah, Dinorah – Ivan Lins, Vitor Martins
  7. Love Dance – ivan Lins, Gilson Peranzzetta, Paul Williams
  8. Star of a Story (X)
  9. Midnight Love Affair – David “Hawk” Wolinski
  10. Turn Out the Lamplight