Tag Archives: Joan Armatrading

On February 28, 1983.

On February 28, 1983, “A&M” label released “The Key”, the eighth Joan Armatrading studio album. It was recorded in 1982, at “Townhouse Studios” in Shepherd’s Bush, London, “Polar Studios” in Stockholm and in New York City, and was produced by Steve Lillywhite and Val Garay.


  • Joan Armatrading – vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano
  • Adrian Belew– electric guitar
  • Daryl Stuermer– electric guitar
  • Gary Sanford – electric guitar
  • Tony Levin– bass guitar
  • Larry Fast– synthesiser
  • Jerry Marotta– drums
  • Stewart Copeland– drums
  • Julian Diggle – percussion
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Annie Whitehead– trombone
  • Guy Barker– trumpet
  • Dean Klevatt – piano
  • Jeremy Meek – vocal, bass
  • Craig Hull – electric guitar
  • Tim Pierce– electric guitar
  • Bryan Garofalo – bass guitar
  • Craig Krampf– drums
  • Steve “Goldie” Goldstein – keyboards
  • L. Benoit – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Joan Armatrading.

  1. (I Love It When You) Call Me Names
  2. Foolish Pride
  3. Drop the Pilot
  4. The Key
  5. Everybody Gotta Know
  6. Tell Tale
  7. What Do Boys Dream
  8. The Game of Love
  9. The Dealer
  10. Bad Habits
  11. I Love My Baby


In November 1972.

In November 1972, “A&M” label released “Whatever’s for Us”, the debut Joan Armatrading album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Château d’Hérouville” in France, “Trident Studios” and “Marquee Studios” in London, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. The album was collaboration between Joan Armatrading and singer-songwriter Pam Nestor.


  • Joan Armatrading – vocals, piano, acoustic guitar, harmonium
  • Davey Johnstone- guitars, sitar
  • Larry Steele – bass guitar
  • Chris Hughes – saxophone
  • Gerry Conway, Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Ray Cooper– percussion, vibes
  • Robin Geoffrey Cable, Ken Scott, Roy Baker, Phil Dunne – engineers
  • Del Newman – string, horns arrangements
  • Chris Hughes – brass arrangements
  • John Hays – art direction
  • Sumiko Davies – cover design
  • Derek Davies – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Joan Armatrading and Pam Nestor, except where noted.

  1. My Family
  2. City Girl – Joan Armatrading
  3. Spend a Little Time – Joan Armatrading
  4. Whatever’s for Us, for Us
  5. Child Star
  6. Visionary Mountains
  7. It Could Have Been Better
  8. Head of the Table
  9. Mister Remember Me
  10. Gave It a Try
  11. Alice
  12. Conversation – Joan Armatrading
  13. Mean Old Man
  14. All the King’s Gardens


In September 1976.

In September 1976, “A&M” label released the self-titled, third Joan Armatrading studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Glyn Johns.


  • Joan Armatrading – vocals, 6 & 12-string acoustic guitars
  • Jerry Donahue– acoustic & electric guitars
  • Bryn Haworth– slide guitar, mandolin
  • Jimmy Jewell – saxophone
  • Dave Markee – bass guitar
  • J. Cole– steel guitar
  • Graham Lyle– guitar
  • Dave Mattacks– drums
  • Brian Rogers – string arrangements
  • Peter Wood– Hammond organ, piano, electric piano
  • Kenney Jones– drums
  • Leroy Champaign – background vocals
  • Clarke Peters– backing vocals
  • Fabio Nicoli – art direction
  • Nick Marshall – design
  • Clive Arrowsmith– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Joan Armatrading

  1. Down to Zero
  2. Help Yourself
  3. Water With the Wine
  4. Love and Affection
  5. Save Me
  6. Join the Boys
  7. People
  8. Somebody Who Loves You
  9. Like Fire
  10. Tall in the Saddle

On September 4, 2015.

On September 4, 2015, Emmanuel “Rico” Rodriguez died aged 80. He was Cuban-born Jamaican trombonist, one of the first and most distinguished reggae and ska artists. He has formed the group Rico and the Rudies, and has recorded and performed with many famous musicians and producers including Karl Pitterson,  Prince Buster, Lloyd “Matador” Daley, Jools Holland’s Rhythm and Blues Orchestra, Bob Marley, Toots & the Maytals, Delroy Washington , Burning Spear, The Specials,  Jools Holland, Dennis Bovell, Ian Dury, Chas Jankel, Joan Armatrading, John Martyn, Linton Kwesi Johnson, Steel Pulse and Paul Young. In 2007, he was awarded an  “MBE”  (Member of the Order of the British Empire) for services to music. For his contribution to Jamaican music, in 2012 he was awarded the “Silver Musgrave Medal” by the “Institute of Jamaica”.

On August 22, 1975.

Nightingales and Bombers

On August 22, 1975, “Bronze” label released “Nightingales & Bombers”, the sixth Manfred Mann’s Earth Band album. It was recorded 1975, at “The Workhouse” in London, and was produced by Manfred Mann and Earth Band.


  • Manfred Mann– organ, synthesisers
  • Mick Rogers– guitars, vocals
  • Chris Slade– drums, percussion
  • Colin Pattenden– bass
  • David Millman – viola
  • Chris Warren-Green – violin
  • Nigel Warren-Green – cello
  • Graham Elliott – cello
  • David Boswell-Brown – cello
  • Ruby James – backing vocals
  • Doreen Chanter– backing vocals
  • Martha Smith – backing vocals
  • Sleeve – Dave Field

Track listing:

  1. Spirits in the Night – Bruce Springsteen
  2. Countdown – Manfred Mann
  3. Time Is Right – Manfred Mann, Chris Slade, Mick Rogers
  4. Crossfade – Manfred Mann, Chris Slade, Mick Rogers, Colin Pattenden
  5. Visionary Mountains – Pam Nestor, Joan Armatrading
  6. Nightingales and Bombers – Mick Rogers
  7. Fat Nelly – Manfred Mann, Thomas
  8. As Above So Below (Recorded Live) – Manfred Mann, Chris Slade, Mick Rogers, Colin Pattenden