Tag Archives: Little Feat

On November 14, 1979.

On November 14, 1979, “Warner Bros” label released “Down on the Farm”, the seventh Little Feat studio album. The album was completed and released shortly after the death of the band’s founder and leader, Lowell George. It was recorded in 1979, at “Wally Heider Studios” in Los Angeles, and Lowell George’s house in Topanga Canyon, The Paramount Ranch, Agoura Hills, and was produced by Lowell George.


  • Lowell George– vocals, guitar
  • Paul Barrère– vocals, guitar
  • Sam Clayton– vocals, congas
  • Kenny Gradney- bass
  • Richie Hayward– vocals, drums
  • Bill Payne– vocals, keyboards, synthesizer
  • Gordon DeWitty– keyboards
  • Robben Ford– guitar
  • Jerry Jumonville- saxophone
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow- pedal steel guitar
  • David Lindley– guitar
  • Earl Palmer- drums
  • Fred Tackett- guitar
  • Lee Thornburg – trumpet, trombone
  • Julia Waters- backing vocals
  • Luther Waters- backing vocals
  • Oren Waters- backing vocals
  • Maxine Willard Waters – backing vocals
  • Fran Payne- backing vocals
  • Bonnie Raitt- backing vocals
  • Dan Smith – backing vocals
  • Rosemary Butler- backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Down on the Farm – Paul Barrère
  2. Six Feet of Snow – Lowell George, Keith Godchaux
  3. Perfect Imperfection – Paul Barrère, Tom Snow
  4. Kokomo – Lowell George
  5. Be One Now – Lowell George, Fred Tackett
  6. Straight from the Heart – Lowell George, Bill Payne
  7. Front Page News – Lowell George, Bill Payne
  8. Wake up Dreaming – Bill Payne, Fran Payne
  9. Feel the Groove – Sam Clayton, Gordon DeWitty


On October 26, 2019.

On October 26, 2019, Paul Barrere died aged 71. He was musician (guitar) and songwriter. He recorded and performed with Taj Mahal, Jack Bruce, Chicken Legs, Blues Busters, Valerie Carter,  Helen Watson, Chico Hamilton, Robert Palmer, Eikichi Yazawa, and Carly Simon, but was best known as guitarist of Little feat.


On September 23, 2019.

On September 23, 2019, Robert C. Hunter died aged 78. He was lyricist, singer-songwriter, musician (guitar, mandolin), translator and poet. He has cooperated with various artists, such as  Bob Dylan, Little Feat, Jim Lauderdale, Elvis Costello, Cesar Rosas, Bruce Hornsby and New Riders of the Purple Sage , but was best known by his work with Jerry Garcia and Grateful Dead. In 2013, Hunter received the “Lifetime Achievement Award” from the “Americana Music Association”. Hunter  has released 14 solo albums.

On September 24, 1991.

On September 24, 1991, “Morgan Creek” label released “Shake Me Up”, the tenth Little Feat studio album. It was recorded in 1991, and was produced by George Massenburg and Bill Payne.


  • Paul Barrère- vocals, guitar, slide guitar
  • Sam Clayton– vocals, percussion
  • Craig Fuller- vocals, guitar
  • Kenny Gradney– bass
  • Richie Hayward– vocals, drums
  • Bill Payne– vocals, keyboards
  • Fred Tackett- guitar, acoustic guitar, trumpet
  • Valerie Carter- backing vocals
  • Shaun Murphy- backing vocals
  • Bonnie Sheridan- backing vocals
  • The Memphis Horns– brass
  • Neon Park – design

Track listing:

  1. Spider’s Blues (Might Need it Sometime) – Paul Barrère, Bill Payne, Fred Tackett
  2. Shake Me Up – Paul Barrère, Craig Fuller, Martin Kibbee, Bill Payne
  3. Things Happen – Paul Barrère, Bill Payne, Fred Tackett
  4. Mojo Haiku – Craig Fuller, Bill Payne
  5. Loved and Lied To – Paul Barrère, Craig Fuller, Richie Hayward, Bill Payne
  6. Don’t Try So Hard – Craig Fuller
  7. Boom Box Car – Paul Barrère
  8. Fast & Furious – Paul Barrère, Sam Clayton, Bill Payne, Fred Tackett
  9. Livin’ on Dreams – Paul Barrère, Craig Fuller, Bill Payne, Fred Tackett
  10. Clownin’ – Paul Barrère, Fred Tackett
  11. Down in Flames – Paul Barrère, Craig Fuller, Martin Kibbee, Neon Park, Bill Payne

On July 1, 2008.

On July 1, 2008, “429 Records” label released “Join the Band”, the fifteen Little Feat studio album. It was recorded in 2008, and was produced by Mac McAnally and Bill Payne.


  • Paul Barrere- vocals, guitars
  • Sam Clayton- percussion, vocals
  • Kenny Gradney- bass
  • Richie Hayward- drums, backing vocals
  • Shaun Murphy- vocals
  • Bill Payne- keyboards, vocals
  • Fred Tackett- guitars, mandolin, trumpet, backing vocals
  • Brad Paisley – guitar
  • Mike Gordon – bass
  • Emmylou Harris – vocals
  • Bob Seger – vocals
  • Béla Fleck – banjo
  • Vince Gill – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Sonny Landreth – slide guitar
  • Jim Mayer – slap and standing bass
  • Michael Utley – Hammond organ, background vocals
  • Alan Schulman – background vocals, engineer, mixing
  • David Alan Kogut – art direction

Track listing:

  1. Fat Man in the Bathtub – Lowell George
  2. Something in the Water – Al Anderson, Jeffrey Steele, Bob DiPiero
  3. Dixie Chicken – Lowell George, Fred Martin
  4. See You Later Alligator – Robert Guidry
  5. Champion of the World – Will Kimbrough
  6. The Weight – Robbie Robertson
  7. Don’t You Just Know It – Huey “Piano” Smith
  8. Time Loves a Hero – Paul Barrère, Kenny Gradney, Bill Payne
  9. Willin’ – Lowell George
  10. This Land Is Your Land – Woody Guthrie
  11. Oh Atlanta – Bill Payne
  12. Spanish Moon – Lowell George
  13. Trouble – Lowell George
  14. Sailin’ Shoes – Lowell George
  15. I Will Play for Gumbo – Jimmy Buffett (bonus track)

In January 1971.

In January 1971, “Warner Bros” label released the self-titled, debut Little Feat album. It was recorded August – September 1970,  at “United Western Recorders” and “The Record Plant” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Russ Titelman.


  • Lowell George– lead and backing vocals, alead, rhythm and slide guitars, harmonica
  • Bill Payne– lead and backing, keyboards, piano
  • Roy Estrada– bass, backing vocals
  • Richard Hayward– drums, backing vocals
  • Russ Titelman– percussion, backing vocals, piano
  • Ry Cooder– slide guitar
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow– pedal steel
  • Kirby Johnson – string and horn arrangements

Track listing:

  1. Snakes on Everything – Bill Payne
  2. Strawberry Flats – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  3. Truck Stop Girl – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  4. Brides of Jesus – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  5. Willin’ – Lowel George
  6. Hamburger Midnight – Lowell George, Roy Estrada
  7. Forty-Four Blues/ How Many More Years – Roosevelt Sykes, Chester Burnett
  8. Crack in Your Door – Lowell George
  9. I’ve Been the One – Lowell George
  10. Takin’ My Time – Bill Payne
  11. Crazy Captain Gunboat Willie – Bill Payne, Lowell George

In November 1975.

In November 1975, “Warner Bros” label released “The Last Record Album”, the fifth Little Feat studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at “The Sound Factory” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Lowell George. The cover art was by Neon Park.


  • Lowell George- vocals, guitar
  • Paul Barrère- guitar, vocals
  • Sam Clayton- congas
  • Kenny Gradney- bass
  • Richard Hayward- drums, vocals
  • Bill Payne- keyboards, synthesizer, vocals
  • Valerie Carter- backing vocals
  • John Hall- guitar
  • Fran Tate- backing vocals
  • George Massenburg- engineer

Track listing:

  1. Romance Dance – Paul Barrère, Bill Payne
  2. All That You Dream – Paul Barrère, Bill Payne, Floyd
  3. Long Distance Love – Lowell George
  4. Day or Night – Bill Payne, Fran Tate
  5. One Love Stand – Paul Barrère, Kenny Gradney, Bill Payne
  6. Down Below the Borderline – Lowell George
  7. Somebody’s Leavin’ – Bill Payne
  8. Mercenary Territory – Lowell George, Richard Hayward