Tag Archives: Howard Jones

On June 4, 2020.

On June 4, 2020, Rupert Neville Hine died aged 72. He was musician (various instruments), songwriter and record producer. As producer he worked with Kevin Ayers, Bob Geldof, Howard Jones, Saga, Thompson Twins, Stevie Nicks, Tina Turner, Chris de Burgh, Suzanne Vega and Rush. Under his real name, under the pseudo-band name Thinkman, and as a member of the band Quantum Jump, Hine released eleven albums.

In May 1990.

In May 1990, “Virgin” label released “1234”, the second Propaganda studio album. It was recorded in 1990, and was produced by Ian Stanley and Chris Hughes. The cover art is a close-up of part of the statue “Unique Forms of Continuity in Space” by Umberto Boccioni.


  • Betsi Miller – vocals
  • Michael Mertens – keyboards, electronics
  • Ian Stanley – Fairlight synthesizer
  • Chris Hughes – computer
  • Derek Forbes – bass guitar
  • Brian McGee – drums
  • Neil Taylor, Andy Ross, David Gilmour – guitar
  • Ross Cullum – rhythm guitar
  • David Paton, Pino Palladino – bass guitar
  • Jürgen Dahmen – keyboards
  • Andy Richards, Blue Weaver – Fairlight synthesizer
  • Simon Clark – Hammond organ, keyboards
  • Greg Hawkes – synthesizer
  • Mel Collins – soprano saxophone
  • Alan Lee Kirkendale – trumpet
  • Susanne Freytag – voice
  • Howard Jones, Tessa Niles – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Vicious Circle – Michael Mertens, Betsi Miller, Derek Forbes, Ralf Dörper
  2. Heaven Give Me Words – Howard Jones, Ian Stanley, Michael Mertens
  3. Your Wildlife – Betsi Miller, Michael Mertens, Ian Stanley, Chris Hughes, Howard Jones
  4. Only One World – Derek Forbes, Michael Martens, Betsi Miller, Ralf Dörper
  5. How Much Love – Michael Mertens, Betsi Miller, Derek Forbes
  6. Vicious (reprise) – Michael Mertens, Betsi Miller, Derek Forbes, Ralf Dörper
  7. Ministry of Fear – Michael Mertens, Derek Forbes
  8. Wound in My Heart – Derek Forbes, Michael Mertens, Betsi Miller, Ralf Dörper
  9. La Carne, La Morte E Il Diavolo – Michael Mertens

In April 1965.

In April 1965, “Chess Records” label released “Chuck Berry in London”, the eighth Chuck Berry studio album. It was produced by Leonard Chess and Philip Chess.


  • Chuck Berry– guitar, vocals
  • Bill Armstrong – backing vocals
  • Jules Blattner – guitar
  • Mike Boocock – backing vocals
  • Howard Jones – drums
  • Neil Carter – backing vocals
  • Louis Cennamo– bass
  • Jeff Crivet – guitar
  • Roger Eagle – backing vocals
  • Roger Fairhurst – backing bocals
  • Rick Green – backing vocals
  • Peter John Hogman – harmonica
  • Chick Kattenhorn – drums
  • Bob Scrivens – piano
  • Brian Hamilton – tenor saxophone
  • Brian Smith – backing Vocals
  • Bill Bixler – bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry except where noted

  1. My Little Love-Light
  2. She Once Was Mine
  3. After It’s Over
  4. I Got a Booking
  5. Night Beat
  6. His Daughter Caroline
  7. You Came a Long Way from St Louis – Bob Russell, John Benson Brooks
  8. Louis Blues – W.C. Handy
  9. Jamaica Farewell – Lord Burgess
  10. Dear Dad
  11. Butterscotch
  12. The Song of My Love
  13. Why Should We End This Way
  14. I Want to Be Your Driver

On March 23, 1985.

Howard Jones Dream Into Action

On March 23, 1985, 1985, “WEA” released “Dream into Action”, the second Howard Jones studio album. It was recorded 1984–1985, at “Farmyard Studios” in Little Chalfont, Buckinghamshire, and was produced by Rupert Hine. The album was certified platinum by “BPI” in UK and by “RIAA” in US.


  • Howard Jones: vocals, electric piano, synthesizers, drums, percussion, drum programming, electric bass, synth bass
  • Martin Jones: bass guitar
  • Afrodiziak(Claudia Fontaine, Caron Wheeler, Naomi Thompson) & The Effervescents (Tania Matos, Kirstie Fulthorpe, Laura Bishop, Elizabeth Holden): backing vocals
  • The TKO Horns(Dave Pleurs, Alan Whetton, Jim Patterson, Brian Maurice)
  • Helen Liebman: cello
  • Andrew Scarth: recording assistant

Track listing:

.All tracks by Howard Jones.

  1. Things Can Only Get Better
  2. Life In One Day
  3. Dream Into Action
  4. No One Is to Blame
  5. Look Mama
  6. Assault And Battery
  7. Automaton
  8. Is There A Difference?
  9. Elegy
  10. Specialty
  11. Why Look For The Key
  12. Hunger For The Flesh

On March 9, 1984.

Humans Lib

On March 9, 1984, “WEA” label released “Human’s Lib”, the debut Howard Jones album. It was recorded in 1983, and was produced by Rupert Hine and Colin Thurston. In its first week of release the album sold 100,000 copies, and later has been certified 2× Platinum in UK by the “BPI”.


  • Howard Jones – vocals, synthesizers, keyboards, drum machines
  • Davey Payne, Stephen W. Tayler– saxophone
  • Stuart Fowler – photography
  • Steg – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Howard Jones, except where noted.

  1. Conditioning – music by Howard Jones, lyrics by Bill Bryant
  2. What Is Love? – music by Howard Jones, lyrics by Bill Bryant and Howard Jones
  3. Pearl in the Shell
  4. Hide and Seek
  5. Hunt the Self – music by Howard Jones, lyrics by Bill Bryant and Howard Jones
  6. New Song
  7. Don’t Always Look at the Rain
  8. Equality – music by Howard Jines, lyrics by Bill Bryant and Howard Jones
  9. Natural – music by Howard Jones, lyrics by Bill Bryant
  10. Human’s Lib – music by Howard Jones, lyrics by Bill Bryant