Tag Archives: Albert King

On May 17, 1994.

On May 17, 1994, “Virgin” label released “Around the Next Dream”, the only Bruce, Baker and Moore album. It was recorded 1993 – 1994, and was produced by Ian Taylor, Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker and Gary Moore.


  • Jack Bruce – vocals, cello, bass guitar
  • Ginger Baker– vocals, drums, percussion, keyboards
  • Gary Moore– vocals, guitars, keyboards
  • Tommy Eyre– keyboards
  • Arran Ahmun – drums
  • Morris Murphy – trumpet
  • Ian Taylor – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Waiting in the Wings – Gary Moore, Jack Bruce
  2. City of Gold – Gary Moore, Jack Bruce, Kip Hanrahan
  3. Where in the World – Gary Moore, Jack Bruce
  4. Can’t Fool the Blues – Gary Moore, Jack Bruce, Kip Hanrahan
  5. High Cost of Living – Alan Jones, Sherwin Hamlett
  6. Glory Days – Gary Moore, Jack Bruce
  7. Why Does Love (Have to Go Wrong) – Gary Moore, Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker
  8. Naked Flame – Gary Moore
  9. I Wonder Why (Are You So Mean to Me) – Albert King
  10. Wrong Side of Town



On February 4, 2014.

On February 4, 2014, “429 Records” label released “The Royal Sessions”, the twelve Paul Rodgers solo album. It was recorded in 2013, at “Royal Studios” in Memphis, and was produced by Perry A. Margouleff.


  • Paul Rodgers– vocals
  • Michael Toles– guitar
  • Leroy Hodges– bass
  • Michael Barar– viola
  • Roy Brewer – violin
  • Marc Franklin– trumpet
  • Charles Hodges– Hammond B3
  • Wesley Hovanec– assistant engineer, electric bongos, videography
  • Jonathan Kirkscey– cello
  • Beth Luscombe– viola
  • Perry Margouleff– guitar, mixing
  • Lannie McMillan– tenor saxophone
  • Susanna Perry-Gilmore, Jessie Munson– violin
  • Royal horns– horn
  • Lester Snell– piano
  • Gary Topper– tenor saxophone
  • Archie Turner– Wurlitzer
  • Mark Wallace – cello
  • The Royal Singers– strings
  • James L. Spake– baritone sax
  • James Robertson, Steve Potts, Daniel Bean– assistant engineer
  • Ryan Smith– mastering
  • William Wittman– engineer, mixing

Track listing:

  1. I Thank You – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  2. Down Don’t Bother Me – Albert King
  3. I Can’t Stand the Rain – Don Bryant, Bernard Miller, Ann Peebles
  4. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now) – Jerry Butler, Otis Redding
  5. That’s How Strong My Love Is – Roosevelt Jamison
  6. Walk On By – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  7. Any Ole Way – Steve Cropper, Otis Redding
  8. It’s Growing – Warren Moore, Smokey Robinson
  9. Born Under a Bad Sign – William Bell, Booker T. Jones
  10. I’ve Got Dreams to Remember – Otis Redding

On December 21, 1992.

On December 21, 1992, Albert Nelson aka Albert King died aged 69. He was musician (guitar, drums) and singer, one of the most influential blues guitarists, one of the “Three Kings of the Blues Guitar” (along with B.B. King and Freddie King). Because of his smooth singing and his large size, he was given the nick name “The Velvet Bulldozer”. In 2013, he was posthumously inducted in the “Rock and Roll of Fame”. King has recorded sixteen studio albums.

In August 1967.

In August 1967, “Stax” label released “Born Under a Bad Sign”, the second Albert King studio album. It was recorded March 1966 – June 1967, at “Stax Studios” in Memphis Tennessee, and was produced by Jim Stewart. In 1985, “Born Under a Bad Sign” was inducted into the “Blues Foundation Hall of Fame” in the “Classics of Blues Recordings” category In 1999, the album received a “Grammy Hall of Fame Award”; in 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 491 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Albert King– lead guitar and vocals
  • Steve Cropper– rhythm guitar
  • Booker T. Jones– organ, piano
  • Isaac Hayes– piano
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn– bass guitar
  • Al Jackson, Jr.– drums
  • Wayne Jackson– trumpet
  • Andrew Love– tenor saxophone
  • Joe Arnold – baritone saxophone, flute

Track listing:

  1. Born Under a Bad Sign – William Bell, Booker T. Jones
  2. Crosscut Saw – R. G. Ford
  3. Kansas City – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  4. Oh, Pretty Woman – C. Williams
  5. Down Don’t Bother Me – Albert King
  6. The Hunter – Booker T. Jones, Carl Wells, Steve Cropper, Donald Dunn, Al Jackson, Jr.
  7. I Almost Lost My Mind – Ivory Joe Hunter
  8. Personal Manager – Albert King, David Porter
  9. Laundromat Blues – Sandy Jones
  10. As the Years Go Passing By – Deadric Malone
  11. The Very Thought of You – Ray Noble

In July 1971.

In July 1971, “Stax” label released “Lovejoy”, the sixth Albert King studio album. It was recorded December 1970 – January 1971, and was produced by Don Nix.


  • Albert King– electric guitar, vocals
  • Jesse Edwin Davis, Tippy Armstrong, Wayne Perkins– guitar
  • John Gallie, Barry Beckett– keyboards
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn, David Hood– bass
  • Jim Keltner, Roger Hawkins – drums
  • Sandy Konikoff – percussion
  • Jeanne Green, The Mt. Zion Singers – background vocals

Track listing:

  1. Honky Tonk Woman – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  2. Bay Area Blues – Donald “Duck” Dunn, Don Nix
  3. Corrina, Corrina – Don Nix
  4. She Caught the Katy(And Left Me A Mule To Ride) – Taj Mahal, James Rachell
  5. For the Love of a Woman – Don Nix
  6. Lovejoy, III.-Don Nix
  7. Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven – Don Nix
  8. Going Back To Iuka – Don Nix
  9. Like A Road Leading Home – Don Nix, Dan Penn


On May 13, 2012.

On May 13, 2012, Donald “Duck” Dunn died aged 70. He was bass guitarist, session musician, record producer, and songwriter, best known  for his 1960’s recordings with Booker T. & the M.G.’s and as a session bassist for “Stax Records”.  He has performed and recorded with big number of famous musicians including Otis Redding, Sam & Dave, Rufus Thomas, Carla Thomas, William Bell, Eddie Floyd, Johnnie Taylor, Albert King, Elvis Presley, Muddy Waters, Freddie King, Jerry Lee Lewis, Eric Clapton, Rod Stewart, Stevie Nicks, Tom Petty and The Blues Brothers Band. In 1992, Dunn was inducted in the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” as a member of Booker T. & the M.G.’s. “Bass Player” magazine ranked him at number  40 on its list of “The 100 Greatest Bass Players of All Time”.

March 26, 1990.

Still got the blues

On March 26, 1990, “Virgin” label released “Still Got the Blues”, album by Gary Moore. It was recorded in 1989, and was produced by Gary Moore and Ian Taylor.


  • Gary Moore- lead vocals, lead and rhythm guitars
  • Don Airey- keyboards
  • Stuart Brooks – trumpet
  • Albert Collins- guitar
  • Bob Daisley- bass guitar
  • Raul d’Oliveira – trumpet
  • Brian Downey- drums
  • Martin Drover – trumpet
  • Andy Hamilton- saxophone
  • George Harrison- guitar, vocals
  • Nicky Hopkins- keyboards
  • Albert King- guitar
  • Frank Mead – saxophone
  • Nick Payn – saxophone
  • Nick Pentelow – saxophone
  • Andy Pyle- bass guitar
  • Graham Walker – drums
  • Mick Weaver- piano
  • Gavyn Wright– strings

Track listing:

  1. Moving On – Gary Moore
  2. Oh Pretty Woman – A. C. Williams
  3. Walking By Myself – Jimmy Rogers
  4. Still Got the Blues (For You) – Gary Moore
  5. Texas Strut – Gary Moore
  6. Too Tired – Johnny “Guitar” Watson, Maxwell Davies and Saul Bihari
  7. King of the Blues – Gary Moore
  8. As the Years Go Passing By – Deadric Malone
  9. Midnight Blues – Gary Moore