Tag Archives: Elizabeth Fraser

On September 20, 1985.

On September 20, 1985, “Cherry Red” label released “Ignite the Seven Cannons”, the fourth Felt studio album. It was recorded in 1985, and was produced by Robin Guthrie.


  1. Lawrence – vocals, guitar
  2. Maurice Deebank – lead guitar
  3. Martin Duffy – keyboards, backing vocals 
  4. Marco Thomas – bass guitar
  5. Gary Ainge – drums
  6. Elizabeth Fraser – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Lawrence and Maurice Deebank.

  1. My Darkest Light Will Shine
  2. The Day the Rain Came Down
  3. Scarlet Servants
  4. I Don’t Know Which way to Turn
  5. Primitive Painters
  6. Textile Ranch
  7. Black Ship in the Harbour
  8. Elegance
  9. Serpent Shade
  10. Caspian Sea
  11. Southern State Tapestry

On July 1, 1985.

On July 1, 1985, “4AD” label released “Extractions”, the third Dif Juz studio album. It was recorded in April 1985, at “Palladium Studios” in Edinburgh, Scotland, and was produced by Robin Guthrie.


  • Alan Curtis – guitar
  • David Curtis – guitar
  • Gary Bromley – bass
  • Richard Thomas – percussion, saxophone
  • Elizabeth Fraser – voice

Track listing:

All tracks by Alan Curtis, David Curtis, Gary Bromley and Richard Thomas.

  1. Crosswinds
  2. A Starting Point
  3. Silver Passage
  4. The Last Day
  5. Love Insane
  6. Marooned
  7. Two Fine Days (And a Thunderstorm)
  8. Echo Wreck
  9. Twin and Earth

On December 7, 2020.

On December 7, 2010, Harold Montgomory Budd died aged 84. He was musician (piano, keyboards, guitar), composer, professor, and poet, noted for his work in the avant-garde minimalist scene in the USA in the 60’. His work in avant-garde, jazz, minimalism, ambient, and neoclassical music brought him world recognition, especially through his collaboration with Brian Eno and Robin Guthrie. He also collaborated with Andy Partridge, John Foxx, Graham Haynes, Simon Raymonde, Elizabeth Fraser, Eralso Bernocchi, Bill Nelson, Clive Wright, Jaki Liebezeit, Ruben Garcia, Daniel Lentz, Bill Laswell and Jah Wobble.  

On May 23, 2005.

On May 23, 2005, “Ici, d’ailleurs…” label released “Les Retrouvailles”, the fifth Yann Tiersen studio album. It was recorded 2004 – 2005, and was produced by Yann Tiersen and Fabrice Laureau.


  • Yann Tiersen– accordion, alto saxophone, banjo, bass, Bontempi, carillon, cello, clavecin, double bass, drums, ebow, Fender Rhodes, guitar, Korg synthesizer, mandolin, marimba, melodica, organ, percussion, piano, toy piano, vibraphone, violone
  • Elizabeth Fraser- vocals
  • Jane Birkin- vocals
  • Stuart A. Staples- vocals
  • Dominique A- vocals
  • Miossec- vocals
  • Jean-François Assy – violoncello
  • Orchestre National de Paris
  • Frederic Dessus – violin
  • Guillaume Fontanarosa – violin
  • Bertrand Causse – vertical viola
  • Anne Causse Biragnet – violoncello
  • Armelle Legoff – violin
  • Frédéric Haffner – violin
  • Elliott – flute
  • Ludovic Morillon – drums
  • Christine Ott- ondes Martenot

Track listing:

All tracks by Yann Tiersen, except where noted.

  1. Western
  2. Kala – Elizabeth Fraser, Yann Tiersen
  3. Loin des villes
  4. La Veillée
  5. Plus d’hiver
  6. A ceux qui sont malades par mer calme
  7. A Secret Place – Stuart A. Staples, Yann Tiersen
  8. Le Matin
  9. Les Enfants
  10. Le Jour de l’ouverture – Ané, Miossec, Yann Tiersen
  11. La Boulange
  12. La Plage
  13. Mary
  14. 7:PM
  15. Les Retrouvailles
  16. La Jetée

On May 1, 1986.

On May 1, 1986, “4AD” label released “Standing Up Straight”, the second Wolfgang Press studio album. It was recorded January – March 1986, at “Blackwing Studios” in London, and was produced by John Fryer, Michael Allen, Mark Cox and Andrew Gray.


  • Michael Allen – vocals, bass
  • Mark Cox – keyboards
  • Andrew Gray – guitars
  • John Fryer – marimba, percussion, programming, engineering
  • Gini Ball – violin, viola
  • Elizabeth Fraser– vocals
  • Martin McGarrick – cello
  • 23 Envelope – sleeve design, typography, photography
  • Chris Bigg – sleeve typography
  • Ruth Rowland – sleeve typography

Track listing:

All tracks by Andrew Gray, Mark Cox and Michael Allen.

  1. Dig a Hole
  2. My Life
  3. Hammer the Halo
  4. Bless My Brother
  5. Fire – Fly
  6. Ghost
  7. Rotten Fodder
  8. Forty Days, Thirty Nights
  9. I Am the Crime


On September 1, 1982.

On September 1, 1982, “4AD” label released “Garlands”, the debut Cocteau Twins studio album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, at “Blackwing Studios” in London, and was produced by Ivo Watts-Russell, Elizabeth Frazer, Robin Guthrie and Will Heggie.


  • Elizabeth Fraser– vocals
  • Robin Guthrie– guitar, drum machine
  • Will Heggie– bass guitar
  • Eric Radcliffe, John Fryer– engineering
  • 23 Envelope– sleeve design, photography, art direction

Track listing:

All tracks written by Elizabeth Fraser, Robin Guthrie, Will Heggie.

  1. Blood Bath
  2. Wax and Wane
  3. But I’m Not
  4. Blind Dumb Deal
  5. Shallow Then Hallo
  6. The Hollow Men
  7. Garlands
  8. Grail Overfloweth

In March 1996.


In March 1996, “Fontana” label released “Milk & Kisses”, the eighth and the final Cocteau Twins studio album. It was recorded in 1995, at “Pors Poulhan” in Bretagne and “September Sound” in London, and was produced by Elizabeth Fraser, Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.


  • Elizabeth Fraser – vocals, engineer
  • Robin Guthrie – guitars, bass, drum machine, engineer
  • Simon Raymonde – bass, guitars, piano, engineer
  • Des Ward, Lincoln Fong, Mitsuo Tate – engineer
  • Spiros Politis – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Elizabeth Fraser, Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.

  1. Violaine
  2. Serpentskirt
  3. Tishbite
  4. Half-Gifts
  5. Calfskin Smack
  6. Rilkean Heart
  7. Ups
  8. Eperdu
  9. Treasure Hiding
  10. Seekers Who Are Lovers

On September 17, 1990.


On September 17, 1990, “4AD” label released “Heaven or Las Vegas”, the sixth Cocteau Twins album.  It was recorded in 1990, at “September Sound” in Twickenham, England, and was produced by Elizabeth Fraser, Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.


  • Elizabeth Fraser – vocals
  • Robin Guthrie – guitar
  • Simon Raymonde – bass guitar
  • Paul West – design
  • Andy Rumball – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Cocteau Twins.

  1. Cherry-Coloured Funk
  2. Pitch the Baby
  3. Iceblink Luck
  4. Fifty-Fifty Clown
  5. Heaven or Las Vegas
  6. I Wear Your Ring
  7. Fotzepolitic
  8. Wolf in the Breast
  9. Road, River and Rail
  10. Frou-Frou Foxes in Midsummer Fires

On October 31, 1983.

Cocteau Twins

On October 31, 1983, “4AD” label released “Head over Heels”, the second Cocteau Twins studio album. This was Elizabeth Fraser and Robin Guthrie first album as a duo. The album was recorded in 1983 at the “Palladium Studios” in Edinburgh, and was produced by Elizabeth Frazer, Robin Guthrie and John Fryer.


  • Elizabeth Fraser– vocals
  • Robin Guthrie– guitar, bass guitar, drum machine
  • Ally – saxophone
  • 23 Envelope– art design

Track listing:

All tracks by Elizabeth Fraser and Robin Guthrie.

  1. When Mama Was Moth
  2. Five Ten Fiftyfold
  3. Sugar Hiccup
  4. In Our Angelhood
  5. Glass Candle Grenades
  6. In the Gold Dust Rush
  7. The Tinderbox
  8. Multifoiled
  9. My Love Paramour
  10. Musette and Drums