Tag Archives: John Foxx

On December 7, 2020.

On December 7, 2010, Harold Montgomory Budd died aged 84. He was musician (piano, keyboards, guitar), composer, professor, and poet, noted for his work in the avant-garde minimalist scene in the USA in the 60’. His work in avant-garde, jazz, minimalism, ambient, and neoclassical music brought him world recognition, especially through his collaboration with Brian Eno and Robin Guthrie. He also collaborated with Andy Partridge, John Foxx, Graham Haynes, Simon Raymonde, Elizabeth Fraser, Eralso Bernocchi, Bill Nelson, Clive Wright, Jaki Liebezeit, Ruben Garcia, Daniel Lentz, Bill Laswell and Jah Wobble.  

On May 22, 2000.

On May 22, 2000, “Snapper” label released “Lightbulb Sun”, the sixth Porcupine Tree studio album. It was recorded November 1999 – January 2000, at “Foel Studio” in Llanfair Caereinion, Powys, Welshpool, “No Man’s Land” in Hemel Hampstead, UK, and was produced by Steven Wilson.


  • Steven Wilson– vocals, guitars, piano, mellotron, hammered dulcimer, samples, banjo, harp, arrangements
  • Richard Barbieri– synthesizers, Hammond organ, Fender Rhodes, clavinet, mellotron, arrangements
  • Colin Edwin– bass, drum machine, guimbri, arrangements
  • Chris Maitland– drums, backing vocals, arrangements
  • Stuart Gordon – violin, viola
  • Nick Parry – cello
  • Eli Hibit – backup rhythm guitar

The Minerva String Quartet

  • Katy Latham – violin
  • Lisa Betteridge – violin
  • Sarah Heines – viola
  • Emmeline Brewer – cello
  • Chris Blair – mastering
  • John Foxx– cover photograph, additional photography
  • Luigi Colasanti Antonelli – group portraits, other photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Steven Wilson except where noted.

  1. Lightbulb Sun
  2. How Is Your Life Today?
  3. Four Chords That Made a Milion
  4. Shesmovedon
  5. Last Chance to Evacuate Planet Earth Before It Is Recycled
  6. The Rest Will Flow
  7. Hatesong – Colin Edwin, Steven Wilson
  8. Where we Would Be
  9. Russia on Ice – Richard Barbieri, Colin Edwin, Chris Maitland, Steven Wilson
  10. Feel So Low


On October 14, 1997.


On October 14, 1997, “Island” label released “Ha!-Ha!-Ha!”, the second Ultravox album. It was recorded May – June 1997, and was produced by Ultravox and Steve Lillywhite.


  • John Foxx– vocals, guitar
  • Warren Cann– drums, vocals, rhythm machine
  • Chris Cross– bass, vocals
  • Billy Currie– violins, keyboards, synthesiser
  • Stevie Shears– guitar
  • C. (from Gloria Mundi) – saxophone

Track listing:

  1. ROckWrok – John Foxx
  2. The Frozen Ones – John Foxx
  3. Fear in the Western World – Warren Cann, Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx, Stevie Shears
  4. Distant Smile – Billy Currie, John Foxx
  5. The Man Who Dies Every Day – Warren Cann, Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx, Stevie Shears
  6. Artificial Life – Billy Currie, John Foxx
  7. While I’m Still Alive – John Foxx
  8. Hiroshima Mon Amour – Warren Cann, Billy Currie, John Foxx

On September 8, 1978.


On September 8, 1978, “island” label released “Systems of Romance”, the third Ultravox studio album. It was recorded in 1978, at “Conny’s Studio” in Cologne, Germany, and was produced by Conny Plank, Ultravox and Dave Hutchins.

It was band’s final recording with original lead singer, lyricist and co-composer John Foxx, and first album without guitarist Stevie Shears.


  • Warren Cann– drums, rhythm machine, vocals
  • Chris Cross– bass, synthesizer, vocals
  • Billy Currie– keyboards, violin
  • John Foxx– vocals
  • Robin Simon– guitar, vocals

Track listing:

  1. Slow Motion – Warren Cann, Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx, Robin Simon
  2. I Can’t Stay Long – Warren Cann, Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx, Robin Simon
  3. Someone Else’s Clothes – Billy Currie, John Foxx
  4. Blue Light – Warren Cann, Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx, Robin Simon
  5. Some of Them – Billy Currie, John Foxx
  6. Quiet Men – Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx
  7. Dislocation – Billy Currie, John Foxx
  8. Maximum Acceleration – John Foxx
  9. When You Walk Through Me – Billy Currie, John Foxx, Robin Simon
  10. Just for a Moment – Billy Currie, John Foxx

On February 25, 1977.


On February 25, 1977, “Island” label released the self-titled, debut Ultravox studio album.. It was recorded in 1976, at “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by John Foxx, Warren Cann, Chris Cross, Billy Currie, Stevie Shears, Steve Lillywhite and Brian Eno.


  • John Foxx– lead vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Stevie Shears– guitars
  • Billy Currie– keyboards, violin
  • Chris Cross– bass, backing vocals
  • Warren Cann– drums, backing vocals
  • Phil Collins- drums

Track listing:

  1. Sat’day Night in the City of the Dead – John Foxx
  2. Life at Rainbow’s End (For All the Tax Exiles on Main Street) – John Foxx
  3. Slip Away – Billy Curie, John Foxx
  4. I Want to Be a Machine – Billy Currie, John Foxx
  5. Wide Boys – John Foxx
  6. Dangerous Rhythm – Warren Cann,Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx, Stevie Shears
  7. The Lonely Hunter – John Foxx
  8. The Wild, The Beautiful and the Damned – Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx
  9. My Sex – Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx

On January 18, 1980.


On January 18, 1980, “Virgin” label released “Metamatic”, the debut John Foxx album. It was recorded in 1979, at the “Pathway Studios” in London and was produced by John Foxx. The album name  “Metamatic” is taken from a painting machine by kinetic artist Jean Tinguely.


  • John Foxx– vocals, rhythm machines (mainly Roland CR-78, synthesizers
  • John Wesley Barker – additional synthesizers
  • Jake Durant – additional bass
  • Gareth Jones– engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by John Foxx.

  1. Plaza
  2. He’s a Liquid
  3. Underpass
  4. Metal Beat
  5. No-One Driving
  6. A New Kind of Man
  7. Blurred Girl
  8. 030
  9. Tidal Wave
  10. Touch and Go


On August 22, 1983.

Depeche_Mode Construction_Time_Again

On August 22, 1983, “Mute” label released “Construction Time Again”, the third Depeche Mode studio album. It was recorded in 1983, at “Garden Studios” in London,  and was produced by Dave Gahan, Martin Gore, Andy Fletcher, Alan Wilder and Daniel Miller.


  • Dave Gahan – lead vocals
  • Martin Gore – vocals, keyboards, guitar
  • Andy Fletcher – keyboards
  • Alan Wilder – drums, percussion
  • Gareth Jones – engineer
  • Corinne Simcock – assistant engineering
  • Martyn Atkins – design
  • Brian Griffin – cover photography
  • Ian Wright – illustrations

Track listing:

All tracks by Martin L. Gore, except where noted.

  1. Love, in Itself
  2. More Than a Party
  3. Pipeline
  4. Everything Counts
  5. Two Minute Warning – Alan Wilder
  6. Shame
  7. The Landscape is Changing – Alan Wilder
  8. Told You So
  9. And Then