In January 1973.

In January 1973, “Polydor” label released “We the People”, the third Ellen McIlwaine album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Record Plant Studio”, “Carnegie Hall” in New York City, and was produced by Peter Seigel.


  • Ellen McIlwaine – vocals, guitar, piano
  • Don Payne – bass
  • Don Moore – bass
  • Jimmy Madison – drums
  • Jerry Mercer – drums
  • Candido – conga
  • Colin Tilton – saxophone
  • West 44th Street Noise Choir – backing vocals
  • The Persuasions – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Ellen McIlwaine except where noted.

  1. Ain’t No Two Ways About It (It’s Love)
  2. All to You
  3. Sliding
  4. Never Tell Your Mother She’s Out of Tune – Jack Bruce, Pete Brown
  5. Farther Along – traditional
  6. I Don’t Want to Play
  7. Underground River
  8. Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven (But Nobody Wants To Die) – Al Fields, Tom Delaney, Timmie Rogers
  9. Jimmy Jean
  10. We the People

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.