Tag Archives: Adrian Barber

On March 17, 1969.

On March 17, 1969, “Atlantic” label released “Freedom Suite” the fifth Rascals studio album. It was recorded May – December 1968, and was produced by Arif Mardin, Felix Cavaliere, Eddie Brigati, Gene Cornish and Dino Danelli.


  • Felix Cavaliere – lead and backing vocals, organ, piano
  • Gene Cornish – lead and backing vocals, guitar
  • Eddie Brigati – lead and backing vocals, conga drums, tambourine
  • Dino Danelli – drums
  • Chuck Rainey – bass guitar
  • Richard Davis – bass guitar
  • Gerald Jemmott – bass guitar
  • King Curtis – tenor saxophone
  • David Newman – tenor saxophone
  • David Brigati – backing vocals
  • Arif Mardin – arrangements
  • Charles Morrow – arrangements
  • Adrian Barber – recording engineer
  • Tom Dowd – recording engineer
  • Don Casale – recording engineers

Track listing:

  1. America the Beautiful – Felix Cavaliere
  2. Me and My Friends – Gene Cornish
  3. Any Dance’ll Do – Felix Cavaliere
  4. Look Around – Eddie Brigati, Felix Cavaliere
  5. A Ray of Hope – Eddie Brigati, Felix Cavaliere
  6. Island of Love – Eddie Brigati, Felix Cavaliere
  7. Of Course – Eddie Brigati, Felix Cavaliere
  8. Love Was So Easy to Give – Gene Cornish
  9. People Got to Be Free – Eddie Brigati, Felix Cavaliere
  10. Baby I’m Blue – Felix Cavaliere
  11. Heaven – Felix Cavaliere
  12. Adrian’s Birthday – Felix Cavaliere, Gene Cornish, Dino Danelli
  13. Boom – Dino Danelli
  14. Cute – Eddie Brigati, Felix Cavaliere, Gene Cornish, Dino Danelli

On July 30, 1968.

On July 30, 1968, “Atco” label released “Last Time Around”, the third and final Buffalo Springfield studio album. It was recorded February 1967 – April 1968, at “Sunset Sound” in Los Angeles,”Sound Recorders” in Hollywood, “Atlantic Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Jim Messina.


  • Richie Furay– vocals, guitar
  • Dewey Martin- drums
  • Jim Messina– vocals, bass
  • Stephen Stills– lead and background vocals, guitar, piano, B3 organ, bass, clavinet, vibes, percussion, handclaps
  • Neil Young– lead and background vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano
  • Bruce Palmer– bass
  • Jim Fielder– bass
  • Buddy Miles– drums
  • Jimmy Karstein – drums
  • Gary Marker: bass
  • Jeremy Stuart – harpsichord, calliope, bells
  • Rusty Young- pedal steel guitar
  • Richard Davis– bass
  • Adrian Barber, Phil Iehle, Jim Messina – engineer

Track listing:

  1. On the Way Home – Neil Young
  2. It’s So Hard to Wait – Richie Furay, Neil Young
  3. Pretty Girl Why – Stephen Stills
  4. Four Days Gone – Stephen Stills
  5. Carefree Country Day – Jim Messina
  6. Special Care – Stephen Stills
  7. The Hour of Not Quite Rain – Callen, Richie Furay
  8. Questions – Stephen Stills
  9. I Am a Child – Neil Young
  10. Merry-Go-Round – Richie Furay
  11. Uno Mundo – Stephen Stills
  12. Kind Woman – Richie Furay



In September 1969.

In September 1969, “Atco” label released “Rock & Roll”, the fifth Vanilla Fudge album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Adrian Barber.


  • Carmine Appice- drums, vocals
  • Tim Bogert- bass guitar, vocals
  • Vince Martell- guitar, vocals
  • Mark Stein- keyboards, vocals

Track listing:

  1. Need Love – Carmine Appice, Tim Bogert, Vince Martell, Mark Stein
  2. Lord in the Country – Mark Stein
  3. I Can’t Make It Alone – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  4. Street Walking Woman – Carmine Appice, Tim Bogert, Vince Martell, Mark Stein
  5. Church Bells of St. Martins – Mark Stein
  6. The Windmills of Your Mind – Alan Bergman, Marilyn Bergman, Michel Legrand
  7. If You Gotta Make a Fool of Somebody – Rudy Clark

In July 1968.

In July 1968, “Polydor” label released “Wheels of Fire”, the third Cream album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Felix Pappalardi. The album artwork was by Martin Sharp and the photography was by Jim Marshall. It was also released as two single long-players, Wheels of Fire – In the Studio,  and Wheels of Fire – Live at the Fillmore. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Wheels of Fire” at number 205 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was certified Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”, Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and Platinum in US by “RIIA”.


  • Jack Bruce– vocals, lead vocals, bass, cello, harmonica, calliope, acoustic guitar, recorder
  • Ginger Baker– drums, percussion, bells, glockenspiel, timpani, spoken word
  • Eric Clapton– guitar, vocals
  • Felix Pappalardi– viola, bells, organ, trumpet, tonette
  • Tom Dowd– recording engineer
  • Adrian Barber– recording engineer

Track listing:

  1. White Room – Jack Bruce, Pete Brown
  2. Sitting on Top of the World – Walter Vinson, Lonnie Chatmon; Chester Burnett
  3. Passing the Time – Ginger Baker, Mike Taylor
  4. As You Said – Jack Bruce, Pete Brown
  5. Pressed Rat and Warthog – Ginger Baker, Mick Taylor
  6. Politician – Jack Bruce, Pete Brown
  7. Those Were the Days – Ginger Baker, Mick Taylor
  8. Born Under a Bad Sign – Booker T. Jones, William Bell
  9. Deserted Cities of the Heart – Jack Bruce, Pete Brown

On November 15, 1970.


On November 15, 1970, “Atlantic” label released “Loaded”, the fourth Velvet Underground studio album. It was recorded April–August 1970, at “Atlantic Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Geoff Haslam, Shel Kagan and The Velvet Underground. In 2012,  “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Loaded” at number 110 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Lou Reed– vocals lead guitar, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Doug Yule– bass, piano, keyboards, lead guitar, fuzz bass, drums, percussion, lead and backing vocals
  • Sterling Morrison– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, possible backing vocals
  • Maureen Tucker– drums, vocals
  • Adrian Barber– drums
  • Tommy Castagnaro – drums
  • Billy Yule– drums
  • Adrian Barber – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Reed except where noted.

  1. Who Loves the Sun – Sterling Morrison, Lou Reed, Doug Yule
  2. Sweet Jane
  3. Rock & Roll – Sterling Morrison, Lou Reed, Doug Yule
  4. Cool It Down – Lou Reed, Doug Yule
  5. New Age
  6. Head Held High
  7. Lonesome Cowboy Bill – Sterling Morrison, Lou Reed, Doug Yule
  8. I Found a Reason
  9. Train Round the Bend
  10. Oh! Sweet Nuthin – Lou Reed, Doug Yule

On November 4, 1969.

The Allman Brothers Band - The Allman Brothers Band

On November 4, 1969, “Atco Records” label released the debut, self-titled  Allman Brothers Band  album. It was recorded August 3–12, 1969, at the “Atlantic Studios”, in New York, and was produced by Adrian Barber.


  • Gregg Allman – vocal, organ
  • Duane Allman – guitars
  • Dickey Bets – guitars
  • Berry Oakley – bass, backing vocals
  • Jai Johanny Johanson – drums, percussion
  • Robert Kingsbury – design
  • Stephen Paley – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gregg Allman, except where noted.

  1. Don’t Want You No More – Spencer Davis, Edward Hardin
  2. It’s Not My Cross to Bear
  3. Black Hearted Woman
  4. Trouble No More – McKinley Morganfield (Muddy Waters)
  5. Every Hungry Woman
  6. Dreams
  7. Whipping Post