Tag Archives: Elton John

On January 28, 1973.


On January 28, 1973, “EMI” label released “Тanx”, the eighth T.Rex studio album.  It was recorded February – December 1972, at the “Abbey Road Studios” and “Air Studios” in London, “Strawberry Studios” in Paris, “EMI Toshiba Studios” in Tokyo, and was produced by Tony Visconti.


  • Marc Bolan– vocals, guitar
  • Mickey Finn– conga, hand percussion, vocals
  • Steve Currie– bass
  • Bill Legend– drums
  • Tony Visconti– mellotron, string arrangements, backing vocals, recorder
  • Howard Casey– saxophone
  • Elton John- Piano (uncredited)

Track listing:

All tracks by Marc Bolan.

  1. Tenement Lady
  2. Rapids
  3. Mister Mister
  4. Broken Hearted Blues
  5. Shock Rock
  6. Country Honey
  7. Electric Slim and the Factory Hen
  8. Mad Donna
  9. Born to Boogie
  10. Life is Strange
  11. The Street and Babe Shadow
  12. Highway Knees
  13. Left Hand Luke and the Beggar Boys



On January 26, 1973.


On January 26, 1973, “DJM Records” released “Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player”, the sixth Elton John studio album. It was recorded in June 1972, at the “Château d’Hérouville” in Hérouville, France, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon.


  • Elton John– vocals, acoustic piano, electric piano, Leslie piano, Farfisa organ, harmonium, mellotron
  • Davey Johnstone– acoustic, electric, and Leslie guitars, banjo, sitar, mandolin, backing vocals
  • Dee Murray– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Nigel Olsson– drums, maracas, backing vocals
  • Ken Scott– ARP synthesizer
  • Gus Dudgeon– brass arrangement
  • Paul Buckmaster– orchestral arrangement
  • Jacques Bolognesi –trombone
  • Ivan Jullien – trumpet
  • Jean-Louis Chautemps, Alain Hatot – saxophones

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.

  1. Daniel
  2. Teacher I Need You
  3. Elderberry Wine
  4. Blues for My Baby and Me
  5. Midnight Creeper
  6. Have Mercy on the Criminal
  7. I’m Going to Be a Teenage Idol
  8. Texan Love Song
  9. Crocodile Rock
  10. High Flying Bird


On January 24, 1972.


On January 24, 1972, “Atlantic” label released “Young, Gifted and Black”, the nineteenth Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded August 1970 – February 1971, and was produced by Tom Dowd, Arif Mardin and Jerry Wexler. In 1972, the album won Aretha Franklin “Grammy Award for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance”. In 2003, the TV network “VH1” ranked it the 76th greatest album of all time.


  • John- percussion
  • Aretha Franklin – acoustic piano, celesta, electric piano, lead vocals
  • Donny Hathaway- organ, electric piano
  • Billy Preston- organ
  • Sammy Turner – background vocals
  • Hubert Laws- flute
  • Chuck Rainey- bass
  • R. Bailey – background vocals
  • Carolyn Franklin- background vocals
  • Erma Franklin- background vocals
  • The Memphis Horns- horn section
  • The Sweet Inspirations- background vocals
  • Don Arnone – acoustic guitar
  • Margaret Branch – background vocals
  • Ann S. Clark – background vocals
  • Cornell Dupree- guitar
  • Tom Dowd- horn arranger
  • Eric Gale- bass
  • Wayne Jacksonof the Memphis Horns – trumpet
  • Andrew Love of the Memphis Horns – tenor saxophone
  • Ray Lucas – drums
  • Hugh McCracken- guitar
  • Robert Popwell- bass, percussion
  • Bernard “Pretty” Purdie- drums
  • Neal Rosengarden – rumpet, vibraphone
  • Pat Smith – background vocals
  • Ronald Bright – background vocals
  • Al Jackson, Jr.- drums
  • David Nathan – liner notes
  • Stanislaw Zagorski – cover design

Track listing:

  1. Oh Me Oh My (I’m a Fool for You Baby) – Jim Doris
  2. Day Dreaming – Aretha Franklin
  3. Rock Steady – Aretha Franklin
  4. Young, Gifted and Black – Weldon Irvine, Nina Simone
  5. All the King’s Horses – Aretha Franklin
  6. A Brand New Me – Theresa Bell, Jerry Butler, Kenny Gamble
  7. April Fools – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  8. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long – Jerry Butler, Otis Redding
  9. First Snow in Kokomo – Aretha Franklin
  10. The Long and Winding Road – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  11. Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind This Time) – Thom Bell, William Hart
  12. Border Song (Holy Moses) – Bernie Taupin, Elton John


On November 2, 1987.

Cloud Nine

On November 2, 1987, “Dark Horse” label released “Cloud Nine”, the eleventh George Harrison studio album.  It was recorded January – August 1987, at the “FPSHOT” in Oxfordshire, and was produced by Jeff Lynne and George Harrison. This was the last studio album released during Harrison’s lifetime.


  • George Harrison– lead vocals, guitars, keyboards, sitar, backing vocals
  • Jeff Lynne– bass, guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Eric Clapton– guitar
  • Elton John– piano
  • Gary Wright– piano
  • Ringo Starr– drums
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Ray Cooper– drums, percussion
  • Jim Horn– baritone and tenor sax
  • Bobby Kok – cello
  • Vicki Brown– vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by George Harrison, except where noted.

  1. Cloud 9
  2. That’s What It Takes – George Harrison, Jeff Lynne, Gary Wright
  3. Fish on the Sand
  4. Just for Today
  5. This Is Love – George Harrison, Jeff Lynne
  6. When We Was Fab – George Harrison, Jeff Lynne
  7. Devil’s Radio
  8. Someplace Else
  9. Wreck of the Hesperus
  10. Breath Away from Heaven
  11. Got My Mind Set on You – Rudy Clark

On October 5, 1973.


On October 5, 1973, “DJM” label released “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road”, the seventh Elton John’s studio album.  It was recorded in May 1973, at the “Château d’Hérouville, in France, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. The album included the singles “Candle in the Wind”,”Bennie and the Jets”, “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” and “Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting”, and became one of John’s  most commercial albums, being sold in more than 30 million copies worldwide. “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” is ranked No. 91 on “Rolling Stone’s” magazine list of “500 Greatest albums of all time” and was inducted in to the “Grammy Hall of Fame” in 2003.


  • Elton John– vocals, piano, electric piano, organ, Farfisa organ, mellotron, Leslie piano
  • Dee Murray– bass
  • Davey Johnstone– acoustic, electric, Leslie, slide and steel guitars, banjo
  • Nigel Olsson– drums, congas, tambourine
  • Ray Cooper– tambourine
  • Dee Murray, Davey Johnstone, Nigel Olsson – backing vocals
  • Del Newman[– orchestral arrangement
  • Leroy Gómez– saxophone solo
  • David Hentschel – ARP synthesizer
  • Kiki Dee– backing vocals

Track listing

All compositions by Elton John and Bernie Taupin except “Funeral for a Friend”, by Elton John.

  1. Funeral for a Friend / Love Lies Bleeding
  2. Candle in the Wind
  3. Bennie and the Jets
  4. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  5. This Song Has no Title
  6. Grey Seal
  7. Jamaica Jerk-off
  8. I’ve Seen That Movie Too
  9. Sweet Painted Lady
  10. The Ballad of Danny Bailey
  11. Dirty Little Girl
  12. All the Girls Love Alice
  13. Your Sister Can’t Twist
  14. Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting
  15. Roy Rogers
  16. Social Disease
  17. Harmony


On June 6, 2006.


On June 6, 2006, William Everett “Billy” Preston, died aged 59. Being excellent keyboardist, particularly on Hammond organ, the Grammy-winning artist has collaborated with some of the greatest names in the modern music history, including the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Sam Cooke, Nat King Cole, Little Richard, Ray Charles, George Harrison, Elton John, Eric Clapton and Bob Dylan. Preston also had a successful solo career, his best known songs include “That’s the way God planned it”, “Outa-Space”, “Will it go round in circles”, “Space race”, and “Nothing from nothing”.