On June 28, 1974.


On June 28, 1974, “Island” label released “Caribou”, the eight Elton John album. It was recorded in January 1974, at “Caribou Ranch”, in Nederland, Colorado and “Brother Studios” in Santa Monica, California, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. In 1993, the album was certified 2 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”. .


  • Elton John– vocals, pianos, organ
  • Davey Johnstone– acoustic and electric guitars, mandolin, backing vocals
  • Dee Murray– bass guitar, phased Pignose bass, backing vocals
  • Nigel Olsson– drums, backing vocals
  • Ray Cooper– tambourine, congas, whistle, vibes, snare, castanets, watergong, tubular bells, maracas
  • Bruce Johnston– backing vocals
  • Carl Wilson– backing vocals
  • Clydie King,Sherlie Matthews, Jessie Mae Smith, Dusty Springfield, Toni Tennille, Billy Hinsche – additional backing vocals
  • Tower of Power- horn section
  • David Hentschel– ARP synthesizer; mellotron
  • Lenny Pickett– tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone; clarinet
  • Chester D. Thompson –Hammond organ
  • Daryl Dragon, Davey Johnstone, Del Newman – arranger
  • Clive Franks, David Hentschel – engineer
  • Peter Kelsey – assistant engineer
  • John Tobler – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin, except where noted.

  1. The Bitch Is Back
  2. PinkyGrimsby
  3. Dixie Lily
  4. Solar Prestige a Gammon
  5. You’re So Static
  6. I’ve Seen the Saucers
  7. Stinker
  8. Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me
  9. Ticking

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.