Tag Archives: The Beach Boys

On February 9, 2019.

On February 9, 2019, Guy Webster died aged 79. He was photographer, known for photographing famous musicians and actors in the 60s and 70s, including artists such as The Beach Boys, The Rolling Stones, The Doors and Simon & Garfunkel.



On January 8, 1973.

On January 8, 1973, “Brother” label released “Holland”, the nineteenth Beach Boys studio album. It was recorded June – October 1972, at “BBC 2 Studio” in  Baambrugge, Utrecht, Netherlands, and “Village Recorders” in California, and was produced by Brian Wilson, Carl Wilson, Dennis Wilson, Blondie Chapin, Ricky Fataar, Alan Jardine and Mike Love. In 2007, the Netherland magazine “OOR Magazine” ranked the album among “100 Best Albums of All Time”.


  • Brian Wilson– vocals, narration
  • Carl Wilson– vocals, guitar, piano, electric piano
  • Dennis Wilson– vocals, piano
  • Blondie Chaplin– vocals, bass guitar, guitar
  • Ricky Fataar– vocals, drums, slide guitar
  • Alan Jardine– vocals, guitar
  • Mike Love– vocals
  • Daryl Dragon– Moog bass
  • Bruce Johnston– backup vocals
  • Jack Rieley – narration

Track listing:

  1. Sail On Sailor – Brian Wilson, Tandyn Almer, Ray Kennedy, Jack Rieley, Van Dyke Parks
  2. Steamboat – Dennis Wilson, Jack Rieley
  3. California Saga: Big Sur – Mike Love
  4. California Saga: The Beaks of Eagles – Robinson Jeffers, Al Jardine, Lynda Jardine
  5. California Saga: California – Al Jardine
  6. The Trader – Carl Wilson, Jack Rieley
  7. Leaving This Town – Ricky Fataar, Blondie Chapin, Carl Wilson
  8. Only With You – Dennis Wilson, Mike Love
  9. Funky Pretty – Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Jack Rieley


On September 8, 1997.

On September 8, 1997, Derek Taylor died aged 65. He was journalist, writer, publicist and music producer, best known as publicist for the Beatles. He has also worked as press officer for The Byrds, The Beach Boys and the Mamas and the Papas. In 1967 he helped organization of the “Monterey Pop Festival” together with Lou Adler and John Philips.

On September 2, 2001.

On September 2, 2001, Jay Migliori died aged 70. He was saxophonist, best known as a founding member of Supersax, a tribute band to Charlie Parker. In his five decades long career, he has performed and recorded with many famous jazz and rock musicians and bands, including Woody Herman,Frank Sinatra, Onzy Matthews, Maynard Ferguson, Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, Nat Adderley, Gene Ammons, The Beach Boys, The Byrds, Dick Dale, Neil Diamond, Hampton Hawes, Harry Nilsson, Van Dyke Parks, Neil Young and Frank Zappa.

On August 8, 2017.

On August 8, 2017, Glen Travis Campbell died aged 81. He was country and rock singer, musician, songwriter, television host, and actor. Campbell released more than 70 albums; sold 45 million records and won 12 “RIAA” Gold albums, four Platinum and one double-Platinum album. In 1967 Campbell won four “Grammy Awards” in the country and pop categories. In 2000, 2004 and 2009, Campbell won “Grammy Hall of Fame Awards and in 2012, he won the “Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award”. He also won awards for “Male Vocalist of the Year” the “Country Music Association (CMA)” and the “Academy of Country Music (ACM)”, and took the “CMA’s” top award as 1968 Entertainer of the Year. In his 50 years long career, Campbell has recorded and performed with many famous musicians including Bobby Darin, Ricky Nelson, Dean Martin, Nat King Cole, The Monkees, Nancy Sinatra, Merle Haggard,  Jan and Dean, Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra, Phil Spector, Ricky Nelson and The Beach Boys.

On June 5, 2012.

On June 5, 2012, “Capitol” label released “That’s Why God Made the Radio”, the twenty-ninth Beach Boys studio album. It was recorded 2011-2012, at “Ocean Way Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Brian Wilson and Paul Fauerso. It was band’s first album with original material “Summer in Paradise” from 1992, and was recorded to coincide with the band’s 50th anniversary.


  • Brian Wilson – vocals, arranger
  • Al Jardine– vocals, whistle
  • Bruce Johnston– vocals
  • Mike Love– vocals
  • David Marks– guitar
  • Jeffrey Foskett, Adrian Baker, Christian Love, Hayleigh Love –vocals
  • Jeff Baxter, Tom Bukovac, Jim Riley, Nick Rowe, Scott Totten, Nick Walusko – electric guitar
  • Tom Bukovac, Jeffrey Foskett, Probyn Gregory, Scott Totten – acoustic guitar
  • Cliff Hugo, Larry Millas, Michael Rhodes, Brett Simons – bass guitar
  • David Stone – double bass
  • Jim Peterik – ukulele
  • Probyn Gregory – banjo
  • John Hobbs, Joe Thomas– piano
  • John Hobbs, Joe Thomas – tack piano
  • Scott Bennett, Joe Thomas – organ
  • Scott Bennett – clavinet
  • Joe Thomas – harpsichord
  • Paul Fauerso – keyboards
  • Gary Griffin – accordion
  • Joel Deroulin, Sharon Jackson, Peter Kent, Songa Lee, Julie Rogers, John Wittenberg – violin
  • Alisha Bauer, Vanessa Freebarin-Smith – cello
  • Paul Mertens – string arrangements
  • Paul Mertens – flute
  • Chris Bleth – oboe
  • Probyn Gregory – French horn
  • Paul Mertens – baritone saxophone
  • Scott Bennett, Darian Sahanaja– vibes
  • Nelson Bragg, Paul Fauerso, Jim Peterik – percussion
  • Jessica Bish, John Cowsill, Jeffrey Foskett, Joe Thomas – snaps
  • Eddie Bayers, Curt Bisquera, John Cowsill, Chad Cromwell– drums
  • Skip Masters – radio voiceover
  • Mike Love– executive producer
  • Joe Thomas– recording
  • Paul Fauerso – recording
  • Frank Pappalardo – recording, mixing engineer
  • Michael Czaszwicz – additional engineering
  • Wesley M. Seidman – additional engineering
  • Larry Millas – additional engineering
  • Tom Gordon – additional engineering
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Lawrence Azerrad – graphic design
  • Guy Webster – photography

Track listing:

  1. Think About the Days – Brian Wilson, Joe Thomas
  2. That’s Why God Made the Radio – Brian Wilson, Larry Millas, Joe Thomas, Jim Peterik
  3. Isn’t It Time – Brian Wilson, Larry Millas, Joe Thomas, Jim Peterik, Mike Love
  4. Spring Vacation – Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Joe Thomas
  5. The Private Life of Bill and Sue – Brian Wilson, Joe Thomas
  6. Shelter – Brian Wilson, Joe Thomas
  7. Daybreak Over the Ocean – Mike Love
  8. Beaches in Mind – Brian Wilson, Joe Thomas, Mike Love
  9. Strange World – Brian Wilson, Joe Thomas
  10. From There to Back Again – Brian Wilson, Joe Thomas
  11. Pacific Coast Highway – Brian Wilson, Joe Thomas
  12. Summer’s Gone – Brian Wilson, Jon Bon Jovi, Joe Thomas

On December 18, 1967.


On December 18, 1967, “Capitol” label released “Wild Honey”, the 13th Beach Boys studio album. It was recorded September – November 1967, and was produced by the Beach Boys.


  • Mike Love– vocals
  • Al Jardine– vocals
  • Bruce Johnston– vocals, organ solo, electric bass guitar
  • Brian Wilson– vocals
  • Carl Wilson– vocals
  • Dennis Wilson– vocals
  • Jim Lockert – engineer
  • Bill Halverson– engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Brian Wilson and Mike Love, except where noted.

  1. Wild Honey
  2. Aren’t You Glad
  3. I Was Made to Love Her – Cosby, Moy, Hardaway, Wonder
  4. Country All
  5. A Thing or Two
  6. Darlin’
  7. I’d Love Just Once to See You
  8. Here Comes the Night
  9. Let the Wind Blow
  10. How She Boogalooed It – Mike Love, Bruce Johnston, Al Jardine, Carl Wilson
  11. Mama Says