Tag Archives: Dick Cuthell

In February 1983.

In February 1983, “Chrysalis” label released “Waiting”, the second and the final Fun Boy Three studio album. It was recorded October – December 1982, at “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by David Byrne.


  • Terry Hall- vocals
  • Neville Staple- percussion, vocals
  • Lynval Golding- guitar, vocals
  • David Byrne- guitar, mixing
  • Nicky Holland – keyboards, vocals, arranger
  • Ingrid Schroeder – vocals
  • Bethan Peters – bass guitar, vocals
  • June Miles-Kingston- drums, vocals
  • Dick Cuthell– cornet
  • Annie Whitehead– trombone
  • Caroline Lavelle– cello
  • Geraldo d’Arbilly – percussion
  • Jeremy Green – engineer, mixing
  • David Storey – design
  • Mike Owen – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Terry Hall, Neville Staple and Lynval Golding, except where noted.

  1. Murder She Said – Ron Goodwin
  2. The More I See (The Less I Believe)
  3. Going Home
  4. We’re Having All The Fun
  5. The Farmyard Connection
  6. The Tunnel of Love
  7. Our Lips Are Sealed – Terry Hall, Jane Wiedlin
  8. The Pressure of Life (Takes the Weight Off the Body)
  9. Things We Do
  10. Well Fancy That!



In June 1984.

In June 1984, “2 Tone Records” label released “In the Studio” the third The Specials AKA (The Specials) album. It was recorded 1983 – 1984, and was produced by Jerry Dammers.


  • Stan Campbell – vocals
  • Rhoda Dakar– vocals
  • Jerry Dammers– organ, piano, vocals
  • Gary McManus – bass guitar
  • John Shipley – lead guitar
  • John Bradbury– drums
  • Dick Cuthell– flugelhorn
  • Claudia Fontaine– backing vocals
  • Edgio Newton – vocals, percussion
  • Horace Panter– bass guitar
  • Roddy Radiation– lead guitar, vocals
  • Nigel Reeve – saxophone
  • Caron Wheeler– backing vocals
  • Adrian Thrills – sleeve notes
  • David Storey– album cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Jerry Dammers except where noted.

  1. Bright Lights – John Bradbury, Stan Campbell, Dick Cuthell, Jerry Dammers
  2. The Lonely Crowd – Stan Campbell, Jerry Dammers, John Shipley
  3. What I Like Most About You Is Your Girlfriend
  4. Housebound
  5. Night on the Tiles – Jerry Dammers, John Shipley
  6. (Free) Nelson Mandela
  7. War Crimes
  8. Racist Friend – John Bradbury, Dick Cuthell, Jerry Dammers
  9. Alcohol
  10. Break Down the Door – John Bradbury, Dick Cuthell, Jerry Dammers

In May 1977.

In May 1977, “Island” label released “Rendezvous”, the fourth Sandy Denny album. It was recorded April-June 1976, at “Island Studios”, “CBS Studios”, Strawberry Studios” and Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Trevor Lucas.


  • Sandy Denny – lead vocals, acoustic guitar, piano
  • Jerry Donahue- electric guitar
  • Junior Murvin- electric guitar
  • Richard Thompson- electric guitar
  • Bob Weston- electric guitar
  • Trevor Lucas – acoustic guitar
  • John (Rabbit) Bundrick- organ, synthesizer, piano
  • Steve Winwood- organ, clavinet, piano, electric piano
  • John Gillespie – piano
  • Pat Donaldson- bass
  • Dave Pegg- bass
  • Dave Mattacks- drums, tambourine
  • Timi Donald – drums
  • Brother James – congas
  • Dick Cuthell- flugelhorn
  • Benny Gallagher, Graham Lyle, Sue Glover, Sunny Leslie, Kay Garner, Clare Torry, The Ladybirds – backing vocals
  • The Silver Band: John Hudson, Alan Holmes, Ray Grand, Gordon Bland, David White, Robert Richards, Peter Lockett & Philip Goodwin
  • Harry Robinson- orchestral arrangements
  • Steve Gregory- brass arrangements
  • Robert Kirby- silver band arrangement
  • Engineered – John Wood
  • Mastering – John Marino, Sterling Sounds
  • Sleeve Design – Bloomfield/Travis

Track listing:

All tracks by Sandy Denny except where noted.

  1. I Wish I Was a Fool For You (For Shame of Doing Wrong) – Richard Thompson
  2. Gold Dust
  3. Candle in the Wind – Elton John, Bernie Taupin
  4. Take Me Away
  5. One Way Donkey Ride
  6. I’m a Dreamer
  7. All Our Days
  8. Silver Threads and Golden Needles – Jack Rhodes, Dick Reynolds
  9. No More Sad Refrains


On November 14, 1983.


On November 14, 1983, “RCA” label released “Touch”, the third Eurythmics studio album. It was recorded in 1983. at “The Church” in London, and was produced by David A. Stewart. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 493 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was certified Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Annie Lennox- vocals, flute, percussion, keyboard, arranger
  • Dave Stewart- vocals, dulcimer, bass, guitar, drum programming, keyboard, xylophone, sequencing, arranger
  • Dick Cuthell- trumpet, cornet, flugelhorn
  • Martin Dobson -baritone saxophone
  • Dean Garcia – bass
  • Michael Kamen- conductor
  • British Philharmonic– strings
  • Engineer: Jon Bavin
  • String arrangements: Michael Kamen
  • Art direction:Laurence Stevens
  • Design: Laurence Stevens
  • Cover design: Andrew Christian, Laurence Stevens
  • Photography: Brian Aris, Pete Ashworth

Track listing:

All tracks by Annie Lennox and David A. Stewart, except “Fame” by David Bowie, Carlos Alomar and John Lennon and “ABC (Freeform)” by David A. Stewart, Timothy Wheater, Nadine Masseron.

  1. Here Comes the Rain Again
  2. Regrets
  3. Right By Your Side
  4. Cool Blue
  5. Who’s That Girl
  6. The First Cut
  7. Aqua
  8. No Fear, No Hate, No Pain (No Broken Hearts)
  9. Paint a Rumour

On January 4, 1983.


On January 4, 1983, “RCA” label released “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)”, the second Eurythmics studio album. It was recorded  February – September 1982, and was produced by David A. Stewart, Adam Williams and Robert Crash. It featured some of the band’s most popular songs (Love is a Stranger, I’ve Got an Angel, Sweet Dreams) and was Eurythmics breakthrough album.


  • Annie Lennox– vocals, keyboards, synthesisers, flute
  • David A. Stewart– guitar, keyboards, synthesisers, programming, backing vocals
  • Robert Crash– guitar, E-drums, synth/ robotic vocals
  • Green Gartside – vocal duet
  • Dick Cuthell– trumpet
  • Adam Williams– bass, synthesiser
  • Andy Brown– bass
  • Reynard Falconer– synthesisers
  • John Turnbull– guitar

All tracks by Annie Lennox and David A. Stewart, except where noted.

  1. Love Is a Stranger
  2. I’ve Got an Angel
  3. Wrap It Up – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  4. I Could Give You (A Mirror)
  5. The Walk
  6. Sweet Dreams (Are made of This)
  7. Jennifer
  8. This is the House
  9. Somebody Told me
  10. This City Never Sleeps

On August 17, 1979.


On August 17, 1979, “Virgin” label released “Drums and Wires”, the third XTC studio album . It was recorded June–July 1979, at “The Town House” in London, and was produced by Steve Lillywhite.


  • Andy Partridge- vocals, guitars, synthesizers
  • Colin Moulding- vocals, bass
  • Dave Gregory- guitars, keyboards, background vocals
  • Terry Chambers- drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Andy Partridge, Colin Moulding, Dave Gregory, Terry Chambers, Steve Warren, Hugh Padgham, Al Clark, Jumbo Van Reinen – Vernon Yard Male Voice Choir
  • Dick Cuthell- trumpet

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Partridge, except where noted.

  1. Making Plans for Nigel – Colin Moulding
  2. Helicopter
  3. Day in Day Out – Colin Moulding
  4. When You’re Near Me I Have Difficulty
  5. Ten Feet Tall – Colin Moulding
  6. Roads Girdie the Globe
  7. Real by Real
  8. Millions
  9. That is the Way – Colin Moulding
  10. Outside World
  11. Scissor Man
  12. Complicated Game