On June 6, 1969.

Empty Sky

On June 6, 1969, “DJM” label released “Empty Sky”, the debut Elton John studio album. It was recorded December 1968 – April 1969, at “Dick James Music Studios” in London, and was produced by Steve Brown.


  • Elton John– vocals, acoustic piano, organ, electric piano, harpsichord
  • Caleb Quaye– acoustic and electric guitars, conga drums
  • Graham Vickery – harmonica
  • Tony Murray – bass guitar
  • Nigel Olsson– drums
  • Roger Pope – drums, percussion
  • Don Fay – tenor saxophone, flute
  • Frank Owen – engineer
  • Clive Franks – tape operator, whistling
  • Gus Dudgeon, John Tobler – linear notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.

  1. Empty Sky
  2. Val-Hala
  3. Western Ford Gateway
  4. Hymn 2000
  5. Lady What’s Tomorrow
  6. Sails
  7. The Scaffold
  8. Skyline Pigeon
  9. Gulliver/Hay Chewed/Reprise

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.