Tag Archives: R.E.M.

On March 24, 2020.

On March 24, 2020, William Frederick Rieflin died aged 59. He was drummer, has worked with many notable groups including Ministry, Lard, the Revolting Cocks,  KMFDM,  Pigface, Swans, Chris Connelly, Nine Inch Nails, R.E.M. and King Crimson.

On December 27, 1978.

On December 27, 1978, Christopher Branford Bell died aged 27. He was songwriter and musician (guitar, singer), best known as founding member, guitarist and singer of the band Big Star. His work has inspired, and his songs were covered by many musicians and bands including R.E.M., Wilco, Teenage Fanclub, Primal Scream, Afghan Whigs, Pete Yorn, Beck The Posies, and The Replacements. In 2013, “Magnolia Pictures” released documentary “Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me”, which documented his life and work. In 2018, the book “There Was a Light: The Cosmic History of Chris Bell and the Rise of Big Star”, was published, also dealing with his life and music. Bell’s album “I Am the Cosmos” was posthumously released in 1992.

On October 26, 1998.


On October 26, 1998, “Warner Bros” label released “Up”, the eleventh R.E.M. studio album. It was recorded January–July 1998, and was produced by Pat McCarthy and R.E.M. It was the band’s first album without original drummer Bill Berry, who left the group in October 1997.


  • Peter Buck– guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, percussion
  • Mike Mills– bass, keyboards, guitar, backing vocals
  • Michael Stipe– lead vocals, guitar
  • Barrett Martin– percussion
  • Scott McCaughey– keyboards, percussion
  • Joey Waronker– drums, percussion
  • Nigel Godrich– engineering

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe, except where noted.

  1. Airportman
  2. Lotus
  3. Suspicion
  4. Hope – Leonard Cohen, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, Michael Stipe
  5. At My Most Beautiful
  6. The Apologist
  7. Sad Professor
  8. You’re in the Air
  9. Walk Unafraid
  10. Why Not Smile
  11. Daysleeper
  12. Diminished
  13. Parakeet
  14. Falls to Climb


On September 27, 1994.


On September 27, 1994, “Warner Bros” label released “Monster” the ninth R.E.M. studio album. It was recorded April – May 1994, at “Kingsway Studio” in New Orleans; “Crossover Soundstage” in Atlanta; ”Criteria Studios” in Miami; “Ocean Way Recording” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Scott Litt and R.E.M. The album was certified Platinum in Austria by “IFPI”; 6 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; Platinum in Spain by “PROMUSICAE”; Platinum in Sweden by “GLF”; Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI Switzerland”; 3 x Platinum in UK by “BPI” and 4 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Bill Berry– drums, percussion, bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Peter Buck– guitar, Farfisa organ
  • Mike Mills– bass guitar, piano, organ, guitar, vocals
  • Michael Stipe– lead vocals
  • Ané Diaz – backing vocals
  • Sally Dworsky– backing vocals
  • Lou Kregl – backing vocals
  • Thurston Moore– vocals, guitar
  • Rain Phoenix– backing vocals
  • Lynda Stipe– backing vocals
  • David Colvin – second engineer
  • Jeff DeMorris – second engineer
  • Mark Gruber – second engineer
  • Mark Howard – engineering
  • Victor Janacua – second engineer
  • Stephen Marcussen – mastering engineer
  • Pat McCarthy– engineering
  • Mark “Microwave” Mytrowitz – technical assistance

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe.

  1. What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?
  2. Crush with Eyeliner
  3. King of Comedy
  4. I Don’t Sleep, I Dream
  5. Star 69
  6. Strange Currencies
  7. Tongue
  8. Bang and Blame
  9. I Took Your Name
  10. Let Me In
  11. Circus Envy
  12. You


On September 1, 1987.


On September 1, 1987, “I.R.S.” label released “Document”, the fifth R.E.M. studio album. It was recorded April – May 1987, at “Sound Emporium” in Nashville, and was mixed at “Master Control” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Scott Litt and R.E.M. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 470 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time. In 1988, “Document” was certified Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Bill Berry– drums, backing vocals
  • Peter Buck– guitar, dulcimer
  • Mike Mills– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Michael Stipe– lead vocals
  • Steve Berlin– horns
  • Carl Marsh – Fairlight CMIsynthesizer
  • Steve Catania – engineering
  • Tom Der – engineering
  • Toni Greene – engineering
  • Gary Laney – engineering
  • Ted Pattison – engineering
  • Todd Scholar – engineering
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Jim McKay – photography
  • Michael Meister – photography
  • Sandra-Lee Phipps – photography
  • Ron Scarselli – packaging

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe, except where noted.

  1. Finest Worksong
  2. Welcome to the Occupation
  3. Exhuming McCarthy
  4. Disturbance at the Heron House
  5. Strange – Bruce Gilbert, Graham Lewis, Colin Newman, Robert Gotobed
  6. It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
  7. The One I Love
  8. Fireplace
  9. Lightnin’ Hopkins
  10. King of Birds
  11. Oddfellows Local 151


On July 28, 1986.


On July 28, 1986, “I.R.S.” label released “Lifes Rich Pageant”, the fourth R.E.M. studio album. It was recorded April – May 1986, at “Belmont Mall Studios” in Belmont, Indiana, and was produced by Don Gehman.


  • Bill Berry– drums, backing vocals
  • Peter Buck– guitar, banjo
  • Mike Mills– bass guitar, backing vocals, piano, pump organ, lead vocals
  • Michael Stipe– lead vocals, backing vocals
  • Bird – illustrations
  • Jim Dineen– engineering
  • Gregg Edward– mixing
  • Rick Fetig– engineering
  • Don Gehman- mixing
  • Ross Hogarth– engineering
  • Stan Katayama– engineering
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Sandra Lee Phipps – photography
  • Juanita Rogers– back cover painting
  • O. Scarelli– packaging
  • Slay – illustrations

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe, except where noted. .

Side one – “Dinner side”

  1. Begin the Begin
  2. These Days
  3. Fall on Me
  4. Cuyahoga
  5. Hyena
  6. Underneath the Bunker

Side two – “Supper side”

  1. The Flowers of Guatemala
  2. I Believe
  3. What If We Give It Away?
  4. Just a Touch
  5. Swan Swan H
  6. Superman – Mitchell Bottler, Gary Zekley


On June 10, 1985.


On June 10, 1985, “I.R.S” label released “Fables of the Reconstruction”, the third R.E.M. studio album. It was recorded February – March 1985, and was produced by Joe Boyd.


  • Bill Berry– drums, backing vocals
  • Peter Buck– guitar, banjo, harmonica
  • Mike Mills– bass guitar, backing vocals, piano
  • Michael Stipe– lead vocals David Bitelli – tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Camilla Brunt – violin
  • Jim Dvorak – trumpet
  • David Newby– cello
  • Peter Thomas– tenor saxophone
  • Philippa Ibbotson– violin
  • Berry Clempson – engineering
  • Tony Harris – engineering
  • K. Johnston – photography and art

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe, except where noted.

  1. Feeling Gravitys Pull
  2. Maps and Legends
  3. Driver 8
  4. Life and How to Live It
  5. Old Man Kensey – Jerry Ayers, Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Michael Stipe
  6. Cant Get There from Here
  7. Green Grow the Rushes
  8. Kohoutek
  9. Auctioneer (Another Engine)
  10. Good Advices
  11. Wendell Gee