On October 26, 1998.


On October 26, 1998, “Warner Bros” label released “Up”, the eleventh R.E.M. studio album. It was recorded January–July 1998, and was produced by Pat McCarthy, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, Michael Stipe, Barrett Martin and Joey Waronker. It was the band’s first album without original drummer Bill Berry, who left the group in October 1997.


  • Peter Buck– guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, percussion
  • Michael Stipe– lead vocals, guitar
  • Scott McCaughey– keyboards, percussion
  • Mike Mills– bass, keyboards, guitar, backing vocals
  • Barrett Martin– percussion
  • Joey Waronker– drums, percussion
  • Nigel Godrich– engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe, except where noted.

  1. Airportman
  2. Lotus
  3. Suspicion
  4. Hope – Leonard Cohen, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, Michael Stipe
  5. At My Most Beautiful
  6. The Apologist
  7. Sad Professor
  8. You’re in the Air
  9. Walk Unafraid
  10. Why Not Smile
  11. Daysleeper
  12. Diminished
  13. Parakeet
  14. Falls to Climb

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.