On September 1, 1987.


On September 1, 1987, “I.R.S.” label released “Document”, the fifth R.E.M. studio album. It was recorded April – May 1987, at “Sound Emporium” in Nashville, and was mixed at “Master Control” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Scott Litt, Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe.. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 470 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time. In 1988, “Document” was certified Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Michael Stipe– lead vocals
  • Peter Buck– guitar, dulcimer
  • Mike Mills– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Bill Berry– drums, backing vocals
  • Steve Berlin– horns
  • Carl Marsh – Fairlight CMI synthesizer
  • Steve Catania – engineer
  • Tom Der – engineer
  • Toni Greene – engineer
  • Gary Laney – engineer
  • Ted Pattison – engineer
  • Todd Scholar – engineer
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Jim McKay – photography
  • Michael Meister – photography
  • Sandra-Lee Phipps – photography
  • Ron Scarselli – packaging

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe, except where noted.

  1. Finest Worksong
  2. Welcome to the Occupation
  3. Exhuming McCarthy
  4. Disturbance at the Heron House
  5. Strange – Bruce Gilbert, Graham Lewis, Colin Newman, Robert Gotobed
  6. It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
  7. The One I Love
  8. Fireplace
  9. Lightnin’ Hopkins
  10. King of Birds
  11. Oddfellows Local 151


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.