Tag Archives: book

On December 27, 1978.

On December 27, 1978, Christopher Branford Bell died aged 27. He was songwriter and musician (guitar, singer), best known as founding member, guitarist and singer of the band Big Star. His work has inspired, and his songs were covered by many musicians and bands including R.E.M., Wilco, Teenage Fanclub, Primal Scream, Afghan Whigs, Pete Yorn, Beck The Posies, and The Replacements. In 2013, “Magnolia Pictures” released documentary “Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me”, which documented his life and work. In 2018, the book “There Was a Light: The Cosmic History of Chris Bell and the Rise of Big Star”, was published, also dealing with his life and music. Bell’s album “I Am the Cosmos” was posthumously released in 1992.

In August 1987.

In August 1987, “Spirit Music” label released “Diesel and Dust”, the sixth Midnight Oil studio album. It was recorded in 1987, at “Albert Studios” in Sydney, Australia, and was produced by Peter Garrett, Peter Gilford, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie, Martin Rotsey and Wame Livesey. In 1989, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it No. 13 on its list of the “100 Best Albums of the 1980s”. In October 2010 it was listed at No. 1 in the book “100 Best Australian Albums”.


  • Peter Garrett– vocals
  • Peter Gifford– bass, vocals
  • Robert Hirst– drums, vocals
  • Jim Moginie– guitars, keyboards
  • Martin Rotsey– guitars

Track listing:

  1. .Beds Are Burning – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  2. Put Down the Weapon – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  3. Dreamworld – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  4. Arctic World – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  5. Warakurna – Jim Moginie
  6. The Dead Heart – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  7. Whoah – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  8. Bullroare – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  9. Sell My Soul – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  10. Sometimes – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  11. Gunbarrel Highway – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie, Peter Gifford, Martin Rotsey

On June 20, 2001.

On June 20, 2001, “Atlantic” label released “Beyond Good and Evil”, the seventh  Cult studio album. It was recorded in 2000, and was produced by Bob Rock. The album title is reference to Friedrich Nietzsche’s 1886 book of the same title.


  • Ian Astbury- vocals
  • Billy Duffy- guitars
  • Matt Sorum– drums, percussion
  • Martyn LeNoble, Chris Wyse: bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy, except where noted.

  1. War (The Process)
  2. The Saint
  3. Rise
  4. Take the Power
  5. Breathe – Ian Astbury, Bill Duffy, Mick Jones, Marti Frederiksen
  6. Nico
  7. American Gothic
  8. Ashes and Ghosts – Ian Astbury, Bill Duffy, Bob Rock
  9. Shape the Sky
  10. Speed of Light – Ian Astbury, Bill Duffy, Bob Rock
  11. True Believers
  12. My Bridges Burn

In March 1982.


In March 1982, “Jugoton” label released “Odbrana i poslednji dani” (The Defense and the Last Days), the debut Idoli studio album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, at “Studios XIII and VI, Radio Belgrade” in Belgrade, Serbia, and was produced by Vlada Divljan, Nebojša Krstić, Srđan Šaper, Zdenko Kolar and Kokan Popović. In 1998, it was voted “Yugoslav Greatest Popular Music Album” in the book “YU 100: The Best Albums of Yugoslav Pop and Rock Music”. In 2015, in the special issue of the Croatian edition of “Rolling Stone” magazine, “Odbrana i poslednji dani” was voted the “Greatest Yugoslav Rock Album of all Time.


  • Vlada Divljan— guitar, piano, vocals
  • Nebojša Krstić— percussion, vocals
  • Srđan Šaper— synthesizer, vocals
  • Zdenko Kolar— bass
  • Kokan Popović— drums
  • Mile Miletić Pile — guitar
  • Goran Vejvoda— guitar, synthesizer
  • Bebi Dol— backing vocals
  • Vuk Vujačić — saxophone
  • Goran Grbić — trumpet
  • Slobodan Grozdanović — trombone

Track listing:

  1. Kenozoik – Vlada Divljan, Nebojša Krstić, Srđan Šaper
  2. Poslednji dani – Vlada Divljan
  3. Moja si – Vlada Divljan, Srđan Šaper
  4. Senke su drugačije – Srđan Šaper
  5. Nemo – Vlada Divljan, Srđan Šaper
  6. Nebeska tema – Vlada Divljan
  7. Rusija – Vlada Divljan
  8. Igrale se delije – Vlada Divljan, Srđan Šaper
  9. Jedina (Uz urlik zurli) – Vlada Divljan
  10. Odbrana – Srđan Šaper
  11. Gde si sad Cico-Maco – Vlada Divljan
  12. Glavna Ptica (Skrati svoj dugački jezik) – Vlada Divljan, Srđan Šaper, Nebojša Krstić, Zdenko Kolar
  13. Hajde sanjaj me, sanjaj – Vlada Divljan, Srđan Šaper



In February 1981.


In February 1981, “Jugoton” label released “Paket aranžman”, album by Idoli, Šarlo Аkrobata and Električni Оrgazam. It was recorded in 1980, at “Druga Maca” studio in Belgrade, and was produced by Enco Lesić. It is considered to be one of the most important albums ever recorded in Yugoslavia, ranked at number 2 by the critics in the book “Yu 100: the Best Albums of Yugoslavian Rock and Pop Music.

Track listing:

  1. Šarlo Akrobata- Ona se budi – Milan Mladenović, Dušan Kojić “Koja”, Ivan Vdović “VD”
  2. Električni Orgazam- Krokodili dolaze -Srđan Gojković “Gile” , Ljubomir Đukić “Ljuba”
  3. Šarlo Akrobata- Oko moje glave – Milan Mladenović, Dušan Kojić “Koja”, Ivan Vdović “VD”
  4. Idoli- Schwüle über Europa  – Srđan Šaper, Vlada Divljan
  5. Šarlo Akrobata- Mali čovek – Milan Mladenović, Dušan Kojić “Koja”, Ivan Vdović “VD”
  6. Idoli- Plastika – Vlada Divljan
  7. Idoli- Maljčiki – Srđan Šaper, Vlada Divljan
  8. Električni Orgazam- Zlatni papagaj – Srđan Gojković “Gile”
  9. Idoli- Amerika – Vlada Divljan, Zdenko Kolar
  10. Električni Orgazam- Vi – Ljubomir Jovanović “Jovec”, S. Vukičević, Srđan Gojković “Gile”
  11. Šarlo Akrobata- Niko kao ja – Milan Mladenović, Dušan Kojić “Koja”, Ivan Vdović “VD”