Tag Archives: Afghan Whigs

On December 27, 1978.

On December 27, 1978, Christopher Branford Bell died aged 27. He was songwriter and musician (guitar, singer), best known as founding member, guitarist and singer of the band Big Star. His work has inspired, and his songs were covered by many musicians and bands including R.E.M., Wilco, Teenage Fanclub, Primal Scream, Afghan Whigs, Pete Yorn, Beck The Posies, and The Replacements. In 2013, “Magnolia Pictures” released documentary “Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me”, which documented his life and work. In 2018, the book “There Was a Light: The Cosmic History of Chris Bell and the Rise of Big Star”, was published, also dealing with his life and music. Bell’s album “I Am the Cosmos” was posthumously released in 1992.


On May 5, 2017.

On May 5, 2017, “Sub Pop” label released “In Spades”, the eighth Afghan Whigs studio album. It was recorded 2016 – 2017, in New Orleans, Los Angeles, Memphis and Joshua Tree, and was produced by Greg Dulli.


  • Greg Dulli – vocals, guitars, mellotron, harmonium, bass guitar, piano, electric piano, percussion
  • John Curley – bass guitar
  • Rick Nelson – vocals, cello, violin, viola
  • Dave Rosser – vocals, guitars
  • Jon Skibic – guitars, mellotron
  • Patrick Keeler – drums
  • Susan Marshall, Scott Bennett – vocals
  • Ben Ellman – baritone saxophone
  • Ian Bowman – tenor saxophone
  • John Culbreth – trumpet
  • Evan Oberla – trombone
  • David Ralicke – saxophone, trombone, trumpet
  • Rob Ingraham – tenor saxophone
  • Petra Haden – vocals, violin
  • Gabe Noel – cello
  • Ramon Rodrigues Melo – artwork
  • Christopher Friedman – layout
  • Rick Nelson, Christopher Thorn, Mike Napolitano, Justin Smith, Jeff Powell, Kyle Kelso, Matt Beck, Wesley Graham, Jon Skibic – recording engineer
  • Mike Napolitano, Christopher Thorn – mixing
  • Bernie Grundman, Joe Bozzi – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Greg Dulli.

  1. Birdland
  2. Arabian Heights
  3. Demon in Profile
  4. Toy Automatic
  5. Oriole
  6. Copernicus
  7. The Spell
  8. Light as a Feather
  9. I Got Lost
  10. Into the Floor