On June 10, 1985.


On June 10, 1985, “I.R.S” label released “Fables of the Reconstruction”, the third R.E.M. studio album. It was recorded February – March 1985, and was produced by Joe Boyd.


  • Bill Berry– drums, backing vocals
  • Peter Buck– guitar, banjo, harmonica
  • Mike Mills– bass guitar, backing vocals, piano
  • Michael Stipe– lead vocals
  • David Bitelli – tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Camilla Brunt – violin
  • Jim Dvorak – trumpet
  • David Newby– cello
  • Peter Thomas– tenor saxophone
  • Philippa Ibbotson– violin
  • Berry Clempson – engineering
  • Tony Harris – engineering
  • K. Johnston – photography and art

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe, except where noted.

  1. Feeling Gravitys Pull
  2. Maps and Legends
  3. Driver 8
  4. Life and How to Live It
  5. Old Man Kensey – Jerry Ayers, Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Michael Stipe
  6. Cant Get There from Here
  7. Green Grow the Rushes
  8. Kohoutek
  9. Auctioneer (Another Engine)
  10. Good Advices
  11. Wendell Gee


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.