Tag Archives: Nick Drake

On May 26, 2017.

On May 26, 2017, “Rabble Rouser” label released “The Songs and Poems of Molly Drake”, the eight  Unthanks album. It was recorded in 2017, and was produced by Adrian McNally. The album contains recordings of songs and poems written by Molly Drake, the mother of Nick Drake, and recitations of Molly’s poems by her daughter Gabrielle Drake


  • Gabrielle Drake– spoken word
  • Rachel Unthank, Becky Unthank – voice
  • Adrian McNally– voice, piano
  • Chris Price – voice, double bass, guitar
  • Niopha Keegan – voice, violin, viola
  • Faye MacCalman – clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Martin Douglas – cymbals

Track listing:

  1. What Can a Song Do to You? (with poem: “Lost Grief”)
  2. Dream Your Dreams
  3. Martha
  4. How Wild the Wind Blows
  5. Little Weaver Bird
  6. Bird in the Blue (with poem: “Lost Blue”)
  7. The Road to the Stars (with poem: “Warning to Heroes”)
  8. Set Me Free (with poem: “Escape Me Now”)
  9. Woods In May
  10. I Remember
  11. Never Pine for the Old Love
  12. The Shell
  13. Soft Shelled Crabs
  14. Do You Ever Remember? (with poem: “Time”)
  15. The First Day (with poem: “A Prayer for Love”)



On February 16, 2004.

On February 16, 2004, Doris Elaine Higginsen aka Doris Troy died aged 67. She was singer and songwriter, known by the nick name “Mama Soul”. She had solo career (her biggest hit was “Just One Look” in 1963), but was best known as back-up vocalist for many famous acts including Pink Floyd, Dionne Warwick, The Rolling Stones,  Humble Pie, Nick Drake, Kevin Ayers, Edgar Broughton, George Harrison, Johnny Hallyday, Carly Simon, Vivian Stanshall, Dusty Springfield and Junior Campbell.

In February 1973.


In February 1973, “Island” label released “Solid Air”, the fourth John Martyn studio album. It was recorded November – December 1972, at “Basing Street” and “Sound Techinques” in London, and was produced by John Martyn and John Wood. The title track “Solid Air” was dedicated to Nick Drake. “Q” magazine ranked the album at number 67 on its list of the “Greatest British Album Ever”, and was was also included in their list of “Best Chill-Out Albums of All Time”.


  • John Martyn– vocals, acoustic & electric guitar; synthesizer
  • Richard Thompson– mandolin
  • Simon Nicol– autoharp
  • Sue Draheim– violin
  • Tony Coe– saxophone
  • John “Rabbit” Bundrick– acoustic & electric piano, organ, clavinet
  • Tristan Fry – vibraphone
  • Danny Thompson– acoustic bass
  • Dave Pegg– bass
  • Dave Mattacks– drums
  • Neemoi “Speedy” Acquaye – congas

Track listing:

All Tracks by John Martyn, except where noted.

  1. Solid Air
  2. Over the Hill
  3. Don’t Want to Know
  4. I’d Rather Be the Devil – Skip James
  5. Go Down Easy
  6. Dreams by the Sea
  7. May You Never
  8. The Man in the Station
  9. The Easy Blues


On February 25, 1972.

Nick Drake Pink Moon

On February 25, 1972, “Island” label released “Pink Moon”, the third and final Nick Drake studio album.  It was recorded on 30 – 31 October 1971, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by John Wood. Released two years before Drake’s death in November 1974, “Pink Moon” was recorded without a backing band, featuring just Drake on vocals, acoustic guitar and a brief piano riff overdubbed onto the title track.


  • Nick Drake– vocals, acoustic guitar, piano
  • Michael Trevithick –artwork
  • Keith Morris– photography
  • C.S. Associates –typography

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Drake.

  1. Pink Moon
  2. Place to Be
  3. Road
  4. Which Will
  5. Horn
  6. Things Behind the Sun
  7. Know
  8. Parasite
  9. Free
  10. Harvest Breed
  11. From the Morning