Art Blakey Quartet: A Jazz Message

In February 1964, “Impulse!” label released “A Jazz Message”, the sixth Art Blakey album (credited as Art Blakey’s Quartet). It was recorded in July 1963, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Art Blakey – drums
  • Sonny Stitt – alto and tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner – piano
  • Art Davis – bass
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Joe Lebow – design
  • Dan Morgenstern – liner notes
  • Bob Ghiraldini – photography

Track listing:

  1. Café – Art Blakey, Sonny Stitt
  2. Just Knock on My Door – Art Blakey, Sonny Stitt
  3. Summertime – George Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  4. Blues Back – McCoy Tyner
  5. Sunday – Chester Conn, Nick Drake, Benny Krueger, Ned Miller, Jule Styne
  6. The Song Is You – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.