Tag Archives: Edgar Broughton

In May 1973.

In May 1973, “Harvest” label released “Oora”, the fifth Edgar Broughton Band (The) album. It was recorded June – December 1972, at “Olympic Studios” and  “Morgan Studios” in London, “The Manor Studios” in Shipton-on-Cherwell, UK, and was produced by Edgar Broughton, Arthur Grant, Steve Broughton and Victor Unitt.


  • Edgar Broughton – lead vocals, guitar, bass guitar
  • Victor Unitt – lead and backing vocals, electric andf Spanish guitar, piano
  • Arthur Grant – bass guitar, guitar
  • Steve Broughton – vocals, drums, percussion, guitars, tubular bells, tambourine
  • David Bedford – piano
  • Madeline Bell – backing vocals
  • Doris Troy – backing vocals
  • Lisa Strike – backing vocals
  • Maggie Thomas – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Edgar Broughton, except where noted.

  1. Hurricane Man / Rock ‘n’ Roller
  2. Roccococooler
  3. Eviction – Steve Broughton
  4. Oh You Crazy Boy! – Victor Unitt
  5. Things on My Mind – Steve Broughton
  6. Exhibits from a New Museum / Green Lights
  7. Face from a Window / Pretty / Hi-Jack Boogie / Slow Down – Edgar Broughton, Steve Broughton, Arthur Grant, Victor Unitt
  8. Capers – Edgar Broughton, Steve Broughton, Arthur Grant, Victor Unitt

In June 1970.

In June 1970, “Harvest” label released “Sing Brother Sing”, the second Edgar Broughton Band studio album. It was recorded July 1969 – February 1970, at “Abbey Road Studios” and “EMI Studios” in London, and was produced by Peter Jenner.


  • Edgar Broughton – vocals, guitar
  • Arthur Grant – vocals, bass guitar
  • Steve Broughton – drums
  • Peter Mew– engineer
  • Andy “Drop-in” Stephens – assistant engineer
  • Neil Richmond – assistant engineer
  • Edgar Broughton – artwork(inside drawings)
  • Derick Carter – photography
  • Lothar Schiffler – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Edgar Broughton, except where noted.

  1. There’s No Vibrations, But Wait!
  2. The Moth
  • The Moth
  • People – Robert Edgar Broughton, Steve Broughton, Arthur Grant
  • Peter
  1. Momma’s Reward (Keep Them Freak’s a Rollin’)
  2. Refugee
  3. Officer Dan – Steve Broughton
  4. Old Gopher – Steve Broughton
  5. Aphrodite
  6. Granma
  7. Psychopath
  • The Psychopath
  • Is for Butterflies – Steve Broughton, Arthur Grant
  1. It’s Falling Away

On February 16, 2004.

On February 16, 2004, Doris Elaine Higginsen aka Doris Troy died aged 67. She was singer and songwriter, known by the nick name “Mama Soul”. She had solo career (her biggest hit was “Just One Look” in 1963), but was best known as back-up vocalist for many famous acts including Pink Floyd, Dionne Warwick, The Rolling Stones,  Humble Pie, Nick Drake, Kevin Ayers, Edgar Broughton, George Harrison, Johnny Hallyday, Carly Simon, Vivian Stanshall, Dusty Springfield and Junior Campbell.