Tag Archives: eight album

In December 1975.

In December 1975, “MPS” label released “Karuna Supreme”, the eight John Handy album. It was recorded on November 1, 1975, at “Tonstudio Bauer” in Ludwigsburg, Germany, and was produced by Joachim-Ernst Berendt.


  • John Handy- alto saxophone
  • Ali Akbar Khan- sarod
  • Zakir Hussain- tabla
  • Yogish S. Sahota – tanpura

Track listing:

  1. Ganesha’s Jubilee Dance – Ali Akbar Khan, John Handy
  2. Karuna Supreme – Ali Akbar Khan
  3. The Soul and the Atma – Ali Akbar Khan, Ustad Allauddin Khan

In November 1986.

In November 1986, “Numa” label released “Strange Charm”, the eighth Gary Numan studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Rock City Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Gary Numan, The Wave Team, Ade Orange, Bill Sharpe and Nick Smith.


  • Gary Numan– vocals, keyboards, guitar, mixing
  • Tessa Niles– backing vocals
  • Mike Smith – keyboards
  • Dick Morrissey– saxophone
  • Martin Elliott – bass
  • Rrussell Bell – guitar, backing vocals
  • Ade Orange – guitar, keyboards
  • Chris Payne– violin
  • Ian Herron – drum machine programming
  • Roger Odelle – drum programming
  • Bill Sharpe– keyboards
  • Linda Taylor – backing vocals
  • Mark Railton – guitar
  • Jess Lidyard– percussion
  • Tim Summerhayes – engineer
  • Arun Chekraverty, Jeff Hanen – audio mastering
  • Patti Burris – make-up
  • Lewis Ziolek – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gary Numan, except where noted.

  1. My Breathing
  2. Unknown and Hostile
  3. The Sleeproom
  4. New Thing from London Town – lyrics by Gary Numan, music by Bill Sharpe
  5. I Can’t Stop
  6. Strange Charm
  7. The Need
  8. This Is Love


On November 20, 1979.

On November 20, 1979, “Casablanca” label released “Gloryhallastoopid (Or Pin the Tale on the Funky)”, the eight Parliament studio album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by George Clinton.


  • Michael Hampton, Garry Shider, William Collins, Phelps Collins, Gordon Carlton, DeWayne McKnight, Walter Morrison – guitars
  • Rodney Curtis, Donnie Sterling, William Collins, DeWayne McKnight, Walter Morrison – bass
  • Bernie Worrell, Walter Morrison, David Lee Chong – keyboards
  • Dennis Chambers, Kenny Colton, Tyrone Lampkin, William Collins, DeWayne McKnight – drums
  • Larry Fratangelo, Carl “Butch” Small – percussion
  • Greg Thomas, Greg Boyer, Bennie Cowens, Larry Hatcher, Maceo Parker, Sam Peakes – horns
  • Bernie Worrell, Fred Wesley, P-Funk Horns (The Baltimore Connection Horn Section), Sam Peakes – horn arrangements
  • Ray Davis, Garry Shider, Ron Ford, Larry Heckstall, Michael “Clip” Payne, Tracey “Lewd” Lewis, Linda Shider, Dawn Silva, Sheila Horne, Jeanette Washington, Jeanette McGruder, Shirley Hayden, Janice Evans, Greg Thomas, Robert Johnson, Ron Dunbar, Jessica Cleaves, Philippe Wynne, Bootsy Collins, George Clinton, Gary Cooper, Joel Johnson, Wellington Wigout, Star Child – choir
  • Jerome Rogers, Tony Davis, Andre Williams, Larry Hackett, Walter Morrison, Rod – additional backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Prologue
  2. (Gloryhallastoopid) Pin the Tail on the Funky – Bootsy Collins, George Clinton
  3. Party People – Bootsy Collins , George Clinton, Garry Shider
  4. The Big Bang Theory – Donnie Sterling, Ron Dunbar, George Clinton
  5. The Freeze (Sizzaleenmean) – DeWayne McKnight, George Clinton
  6. Colour Me Funky – Walter Morrison (J.S.Theracon), George Clinton
  7. Theme from the Black Hole – Bootsy Collins, George Clinton, Walter Morrison (J.S.Theracon)
  8. May We Bang You? – George Clinton, William Collins, Bootsy Collins, Walter Morrison (J.S.Theracon)

On September 6, 2005.

On September 6, 2005, “Compadre Records” label released “Childish Things”, the eight  James McMurtry album. It was recorded in 2005, at “Flashpoint Recording” in Austin, and was produced by James McMurtry.


  1. James McMurtry – lead vocal, acoustic and electric guitars, baritone guitar, mandolin, harmonica, piano, organ
  2. Ronnie Johnson – bass guitar, backing vocals
  3. Tim Holt, David Grissom – guitars
  4. Daren Hess – drums, tambourine
  5. Bukka Allen – piano, organ
  6. Warren Hood – violin
  7. Jon Blondell – trombone
  8. Curtis McMurtry – saxophone
  9. Randy Garibay, Jr. – backing vocals
  10. Joe Ely – co -lead vocal
  11. Chris Maresh – bass guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by James McMurtry, except where noted.

  1. See the Elephant
  2. Childish Things
  3. We Can’t Make It Here
  4. Slew Foot – Howard Hausey, James C. Webb
  5. Bad Enough
  6. Restless
  7. Memorial Day
  8. Six Year Drought
  9. Old Part of Town -Peter Case
  10. Charlemagne’s Home Town
  11. Pocatello
  12. Holiday


On May 26, 2017.

On May 26, 2017, “Rabble Rouser” label released “The Songs and Poems of Molly Drake”, the eight  Unthanks album. It was recorded in 2017, and was produced by Adrian McNally. The album contains recordings of songs and poems written by Molly Drake, the mother of Nick Drake, and recitations of Molly’s poems by her daughter Gabrielle Drake


  • Gabrielle Drake– spoken word
  • Rachel Unthank, Becky Unthank – voice
  • Adrian McNally– voice, piano
  • Chris Price – voice, double bass, guitar
  • Niopha Keegan – voice, violin, viola
  • Faye MacCalman – clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Martin Douglas – cymbals

Track listing:

  1. What Can a Song Do to You? (with poem: “Lost Grief”)
  2. Dream Your Dreams
  3. Martha
  4. How Wild the Wind Blows
  5. Little Weaver Bird
  6. Bird in the Blue (with poem: “Lost Blue”)
  7. The Road to the Stars (with poem: “Warning to Heroes”)
  8. Set Me Free (with poem: “Escape Me Now”)
  9. Woods In May
  10. I Remember
  11. Never Pine for the Old Love
  12. The Shell
  13. Soft Shelled Crabs
  14. Do You Ever Remember? (with poem: “Time”)
  15. The First Day (with poem: “A Prayer for Love”)


On April 18, 2012.

On April 18, 2012, “Universal Music” label released the self-titled, eight Rasmus studio album. It was recorded in 2011, and was produced by Martin Hansen. The album received two  “EMMA”  awards (Finnish Grammy) for “Best Album Cover” and “Best Music Video” for the song I’m a Mess.


  • Lauri Ylönen– vocals
  • Eero Heinonen– bass
  • Pauli Rantasalmi– guitar
  • Aki Hakala– drums
  • Martin Hansen– recording, mixing
  • Svante Forsbäck – mastering
  • Takayuki Nakazawa – installation
  • Musuta Ltd. – design
  • Hiroshi Manaka – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Lauri Ylönen, Eero Heinonen, Pauli Rantasalmi  and Aki Hakala.

  1. Stranger
  2. I’m a Mess
  3. It’s Your Night
  4. Save Me Once Again
  5. Someone’s Gonna Light You Up
  6. End of the Story
  7. You Don’t See Me
  8. Somewhere
  9. Friends Don’t Do Like That
  10. Sky

On November 11, 2008.

On November 11, 2008, “Elektra” label released “Our Bright Future”, the eight Tracy Chapman studio album. It was recorded in 2008, and was produced by Tracy Chapman and Larry Klein.

  • Tracy Chapman – acoustic and electric guitar, vocals
  • Larry Goldings – keyboards
  • Jared Faw – piano
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Joe Gore – acoustic and electric guitar, keyboards
  • Larry Klein– bass, organ
  • Dean Parks– guitar, clarinet, mandolin, pedal steel
  • Joey Waronker– drums, percussion
  • Rock Deadrick – background vocals
  • Carla Kihlstedt – violin, nyckelharpa
  • Michael Webster, Rob Burger – keyboards

Track listing:

All tracks by Tracy Chapman.

  1. Sing for You
  2. I Did It All
  3. Save Us All
  4. Our Bright Future
  5. For a Dream
  6. Thinking of You
  7. A Theory
  8. Conditional
  9. Something to See
  10. The First Person on Earth
  11. Spring