Tag Archives: Tristan Fry

In May 1979.

In May 1979, “Arista” label released the debut, self-titled Sky album. It was recorded in 1978, and was produced by Haydn Bendall, Tony Clark, John Williams, Kevin Peek, Francis Monkman, Herbie Flowers and Tristan Fry.


  • John Williams – acoustic guitars
  • Kevin Peek – electric and acoustic guitars
  • Francis Monkman – piano, synthesizer, harpsichord
  • Herbie Flowers – bass guitar
  • Tristan Fry – drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Westway – Herbie Flowers, Francis Monkman
  2. Carillon – Herbie Flowers, Ian Gomm
  3. Danza – Antonio Ruiz-Pipò, arranged by Kevin Peek
  4. Gymnopedie No. 1 – Erik Satie
  5. Cannonball – Francis Monkman
  6. Where Opposites Meet – Francis Monkman

In June 1971.

In June 1971, “Edsel Records” label released “Sing Children Sing”, the debut Lesley Duncan album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Jimmy Horowitz.


  • Lesley Duncan – vocals, guitar, mandolin
  • Jimmy Horowitz – organ, piano, celeste, keyboards
  • Toni Campo – bass
  • Terry Cox– drums
  • Elton John– piano
  • Tristan Fry– percussion
  • Joe Moretti – guitar
  • Chris Spedding– guitar, bouzouki
  • Ray Cooper– percussion
  • Engineered by Andy Knight, Mike Claydon
  • Art direction by John Hays
  • David Katz – string arrangements

Track listing:

All songs by Lesley Duncan unless otherwise noted.

  1. Chain Of Love – Lesley Duncan, Jimmy Horowitz
  2. Lullaby
  3. Help Me Jesus
  4. Rubin
  5. Rainbow Games
  6. Love Song
  7. Sunshine (Send Them Away)
  8. Crying In The Sun- Lesley Duncan, Jimmy Horowitz
  9. Emma – Lesley Duncan, Jimmy Horowitz
  10. If You Won’t Be Mine
  11. Sing Children Sing


In May 1973.

In May 1973, “Harvest” label released “Bananamour”, the fourth Kevin Ayers studio album. It was recorded September-October 1972, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Kevin Ayers and Andrew King.


  • Kevin Ayers- guitar, vocals
  • Archie Legget – bass, harmony and lead vocals
  • Eddie Sparrow – drums
  • Steve Hillage- leead guitar
  • Mike Ratledge- organ
  • Robert Wyatt- harmony vocal
  • David Bedford- orchestral arrangement
  • Howie Casey- tenor saxophone
  • Dave Caswell – trumpet
  • Tristan Fry- cymbal
  • Lyle Jenkins – baritone saxophone
  • Ronnie Price – piano
  • Barry St. John- vocals
  • Liza Strike – vocals
  • Doris Troy- vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Kevin Ayers

  1. Don’t Let It Get You Down (For Rachel)
  2. Shouting in a Bucket Blues
  3. When Your Parents Go to Sleep
  4. Interview
  5. Internotional Anthem
  6. Decadence
  7. Oh! Wot A Dream
  8. Hymn
  9. Beware of the Dog


In April 1980.

In April 1980, “Arista” label released “Sky 2”, the second Sky album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Studio 3” and “Abbey Road Studios”, and was produced by Haydn Bendall, Tony Clark, John Williams, Francis Monkman, Herbie Flowers, Tristan Fry and Kevin Peek.


  • John Williams– classical guitars
  • Francis Monkman– keyboards, synthesizers, harpsichord, piano, left-hand channel electric guitar
  • Herbie Flowers– bass guitar, tuba
  • Tristan Fry– drums, tuned percussion (drumkit, vibraphone, marimba, bass marimba, tympani & xylophones), trumpet
  • Kevin Peek– electric & classical guitars

Track listing:

  1. Hotta – Kevin Peek, Herbie Flowers
  2. Dance of the Little Fairies – Herbie Flowers
  3. Sahara – Kevin Peek
  4. Fifo – Francis Monkman
  5. Adagio – Francis Monkman
  6. Watching the Aeroplanes – Francis Monkman
  7. Tuba Smarties – Herbie Flowers
  8. Ballet-Volta – Praetorius, arr. John Williams
  9. Gavotte&Variations – Rameau
  10. Andante – Vivaldi, arr. John Williams
  11. Tristan’s Magic Garden – Tristan Fry
  12. El Cielo – traditional, arr. Williams
  13. Vivaldi – Darryl Way
  14. Scipio – Herbie Flowers
  15. Toccata – Bach, arr. Kevin Peek, Holmes


In February 1973.


In February 1973, “Island” label released “Solid Air”, the fourth John Martyn studio album. It was recorded November – December 1972, at “Basing Street” and “Sound Techinques” in London, and was produced by John Martyn and John Wood. The title track “Solid Air” was dedicated to Nick Drake. “Q” magazine ranked the album at number 67 on its list of the “Greatest British Album Ever”, and was was also included in their list of “Best Chill-Out Albums of All Time”.


  • John Martyn– vocals, acoustic & electric guitar; synthesizer
  • Richard Thompson– mandolin
  • Simon Nicol– autoharp
  • Sue Draheim– violin
  • Tony Coe– saxophone
  • John “Rabbit” Bundrick– acoustic & electric piano, organ, clavinet
  • Tristan Fry – vibraphone
  • Danny Thompson– acoustic bass
  • Dave Pegg– bass
  • Dave Mattacks– drums
  • Neemoi “Speedy” Acquaye – congas

Track listing:

All Tracks by John Martyn, except where noted.

  1. Solid Air
  2. Over the Hill
  3. Don’t Want to Know
  4. I’d Rather Be the Devil – Skip James
  5. Go Down Easy
  6. Dreams by the Sea
  7. May You Never
  8. The Man in the Station
  9. The Easy Blues