Tag Archives: Redd Evans

In March 1962.

In March 1962, “Verve” label released “Rhythm Is My Business”, album by Ella Fitzgerald. It was recorded on January 30 and 31, 1962, and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Ella Fitzgerald- vocals
  • Taft Jordan, Ernie Royal, Joe Wilder – trumpet
  • Melba Liston, Kai Winding, Britt Woodman – trombone
  • Carl Davis, Jerry Dodgion, William Shakesnider, Les Taylor, Phil Woods – reeds
  • Hank Jones- piano
  • Mundell Lowe- guitar
  • Lucille Dixon, George Duvivier – double bass
  • Gus Johnson- drums
  • Bill Doggett- arranger, conductor, organ

Track listing:

  1. Rough Ridin’ – Ella Fitzgerald, Hank Jones, William Tennyson
  2. Broadway – Billy Bird, Teddy McRae, Henri Woode
  3. You Can Depend On Me – Charles Carpenter, Louis Dunlap, Earl Hines
  4. Runnin’ Wild – Arthur Gibbs, Joe Grey, Leo Wood
  5. Show Me the Way to Get Out of This World ‘Cause That’s Where Everything Is – Les Clark, Matt Dennis
  6. I’ll Always Be In Love With You – Bud Green, Herman Ruby, Sam H. Stept
  7. Hallelujah, I Love Him So – Ray Charles
  8. I Can’t Face the Music – Rube Bloom, Ted Koehler
  9. No Moon at All – Redd Evans, Dave Mann
  10. Laughin’ on the Outside – Ben Raleigh, Bernie Wayne
  11. After You’ve Gone – Henry Creamer, Turner Layton

On March 20, 2000.


On March 20, 2000, “Reprise” label released “Both Sides Now”, the seventeenth Joni Mitchell studio album. It was recorded in 1999, at “Air Studios” in London, and was produced by Joni Mitchell and Larry Klein. In 2001, the album won two “Grammy Awards”, for “Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album” and “Best Instrumental Arrangement Accompanying Vocalist(s)” for the song “Both Sides, Now”.


  • Joni Mitchell— vocals, cover art
  • Mark Isham— trumpet, solo
  • John Anderson — oboe
  • Julie Andrews — bassoon
  • Nick Bucknall — clarinet
  • Stan Sulzmann— clarinet, flute
  • Philip Todd — clarinet, flute and alto flute
  • Jamie Talbot — clarinet, flute, alto flute and alto saxophone
  • Andrew Findon — flute
  • Dave Arch — piano
  • Vaughan Armon — violin
  • Kate Wilkinson — viola
  • Dave Daniels — cello
  • Philip Eastop — horn
  • John Barclay — trumpet
  • Pete Beachill — trombone
  • Wayne Shorter— soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Owen Slade — tuba
  • Richard Henry — bass trombone
  • Peter Erskine— drums
  • Chris Laurence— double bass
  • Frank Ricotti— percussion
  • Herbie Hancock— piano
  • Skaila Kanga— harp

Track listing:

  1. You’re My Thrill – Sidney Clare and Jay Gorney
  2. At Last – Mack Gordon and Harry Warren
  3. Comes Love – Lew Brown, Sam H. Stept and Charles Tobias
  4. You’ve Changed – Bill Carey and Carl Fisher
  5. Answer My Love – Fred Rauch, Carl Sigman and Gerhard Winkler
  6. A Case of You – Joni Mitchell
  7. Don’t Go Strangers – Redd Evans, Arthur Kent and David Mann
  8. Sometimes I’m Happy – Irving Caesar, Clifford Grey and Vincent Youmans
  9. Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me – Rube Bloom and Ted Koehler
  10. Stormy Weather – Harold Arlen and Ted Koehler
  11. I Wish I Were in Love Again – Lorenz Hart and Richard Rodgers
  12. Both Sides Now – Joni Mitchell