Tag Archives: DuBose Heyward

In March 1961.

In March 1961, “Atlantic” label released “My Favorite Things”, the seventh John Coltrane studio album. It was recorded in October 1960, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegün. In 1998, the album received “Grammy Hall of Fame” award.


  • John Coltrane– soprano and tenor saxophones
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Steve Davis– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums
  • Tom Dowd, Phil Iehle — engineering
  • Lee Friedlander— photography
  • Loring Eutemey — cover design
  • Bill Coss — liner notes

Track listing:

  1. My Favorite Things – Oscar Hammerstein II,, Richard Rodgers
  2. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye – Cole Porter
  3. Summertime – Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward, George Gershwin
  4. But Not for Me – Ira Gershwin, George Gershwin

In November 1966.

In November 1966, “Stax” label released “And Now!”, the third Booker T. & the M.G.’s studio album. It was recorded in 1966, at “Stax Recording Studio” in  Memphis, and was produced by Jim Stewart.


  • Steve Cropper– guitar, “strum”, bass
  • Booker T. Jones– organ, guitar, piano, “plunk”
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn– electric bass, “thump”, claves
  • Al Jackson, Jr. – drums, “boom”
  • Ronnie Stoots – cover design

Track listing:

  1. My Sweet Potato – Steve Cropper, Booker T. Jones, Al Jackson, Jr.
  2. Jericho – traditional
  3. No Matter What Shape (Your Stomach’s In) – Granville Burland
  4. One Mint Julep – Rudy Toombs
  5. In the Midnight Hour – Steve Cropper, Wilson Pickett
  6. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, Dubose Heyward
  7. Working in the Coal Mine – Lee Dorsey, Allen Toussaint
  8. Don’t Mess up a Good Thing – Oliver Sain
  9. Think – Lowman Pauling
  10. Taboo – Bob Russell, Margarita Lecuona
  11. Soul Jam – Steve Cropper, Donald “Duck” Dunn, Booker T. Jones, Al Jackson
  12. Sentimental Journey – Les Brown, Bud Green, Ben Homer

In August 1967.

In August 1967, “King” label released “Cold Sweat”, the twenty-first James Brown studio album. It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by James Brown.

Track listing:

  1. Cold Sweat, Pt. 1 – James Brown, Alfred Ellis
  2. Cold Sweat, Pt. 2 – James Brown, Alfred Ellis
  3. Fever – Eddie Cooley, John Davenport
  4. Kansas City – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  5. Stagger Lee – Harold Logan, Lloyd Price
  6. Good Rockin’ Tonight – Roy Brown
  7. Mona Lisa – Jay Livingston, Raymond Evans
  8. I Want to Be Around – Johnny Mercer, Sadie Vimmerstedt
  9. Nature Boy – Eden Ahbez
  10. Come Rain or Come Shine – Johnny Mercer, Harold Arlen
  11. I Love You Porgy – George Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  12. Back Stabbin’ – James Brown, Gene Redd

In March 1965.


In March 1965, “Decca” label released “Begin Here”, the debut Zombies album. It was recorded June-November 1964, and was produced by Ken Jones.


  • Colin Blunstone- lead vocals, backing vocals
  • Rod Argent- piano, organ, lead vocals, backing vocals, harmonica
  • Paul Atkinson- guitar
  • Chris White- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Hugh Grundy- drums
  • Ken Jones- piano, tambourine
  • Dezo Hoffmann- cover photography

Track listing:

  1. Road Runner – Bo Diddley
  2. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  3. I Can’t Make Up My Mind – Chris White
  4. The Way I Feel Inside – Rod Argent
  5. Work’n’Play – Ken Jones
  6. You’ve Really Got a Hold on Me/Bring It On Home to Me – Smokey Robinson, Sam Cooke
  7. She’s Not There – Rod Argent
  8. Stick and Stones – Henry Glover, Titus Turner
  9. Can’t Nobody Love You – Phillip Mitchell
  10. Woman – Rod Argent
  11. I Don’t Want to Know – Chris White
  12. I Remember When I Loved Her – Rod Argent
  13. What More Can I Do – Chris White
  14. I Got My Mojo Working – Preston Foster, McKinley Morganfield

On August 26, 1966.


On August 26, 1966, “Philips” label released “Portrait”, the second Walker Brothers album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by John Franz. The sleeve notes were written by Keith Altham, photography by Dezo Hoffman.


  • Gary Walker– drums, vocals
  • John Walker– guitar, vocals
  • Scott Walker- vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Ivor Raymonde- music director

Track listing:

  1. In My Room – Joaquin Prieto, Paul Vance, Lee Pockriss
  2. Saturday’s Child – Scott Engel
  3. Just for a Thrill – Lil Armstrong, Don Raye
  4. Hurting Each Other – Peter Udell, Gary Geld
  5. Old Folks – Willard Robison, Dedette Lee Hill
  6. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, Dubose Heyward
  7. People Get Ready – Curtis Mayfield
  8. I Can See It Now – Scott Engel, John Franz
  9. Where’s the Girl – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  10. Living Above Your Head – Kenny Vance, Mark D. Sanders, J.A. Black
  11. Take It Like a Man – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  12. No Sad Songs for Me – Tom Springfield

On April 15, 1969.

Green Is Blues

On April 15, 1969, “Hi-Records” released “Green Is Blues”, album by Al Green. It was recorded in 1968 – 1969, and was produced by Willie Mitchell.

Track listing:

  1. One Woman – Charles Chalmers, Sandra Rhodes
  2. Talk to Me – Joe SenecaJoe Seneca, Smokey Robinson, Ronald White,
  3. My Girl – Smokey Robinson, Ronald White
  4. The Letter – Wayne Carson Thompson
  5. I Stand Accused – Jerry Butler, Curtis Mayfield, Billy Butler
  6. Gotta Find a New World – Richard Smith, Doc Oliver
  7. What Am I Gonna Do With Myself?” – Willie Mitchell, Marshall “Rock” Jones
  8. Tomorrow’s Dream – Al Green, Willie Mitchell
  9. Get Back Baby – Al Green
  10. Get Back – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  11. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward

On August 12, 1968.


On August 12, 1968, label “Columbia” released the album “Cheap thrills”by Big Brother and the Holding Company. This is band’s first album with Janis Joplin as lead singer. The album material was recorded in the period between March and May 1968 and was produced by John Simon, who incorporated recordings of crowd noise to give the impression of a live album, but only the last song, band’s cover of “Ball and chain”, had been recorded live at “The Fillmore” in San Francisco.

“Cheap thrills” was ranked #338 on the “Rolling Stone” magazine’s list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”.


  • Janis Joplin– vocals
  • Sam Andrew– lead guitar, bass, vocals
  • James Gurley– guitar
  • Peter Albin – bass, guitar
  • Dave Getz – drums

Track listing:

  1. Combination of the two – Sam Andrew
  2. I need a man to love – Sam Andrew and Janis Joplin
  3. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin and DuBose Heyward
  4. Piece of my heart – Bert Berns and Jerry Ragovy
  5. Turtle blues – Janis Joplin
  6. Oh, sweet Mary – Peter Albin, Sam Andrew, David Getz, James Gurley and Janis Joplin
  7. Ball and chain – Big Mama Thorton