Tag Archives: Richard Rodgers

On December 28, 1963.

On December 28, 1963, “Tamla Motown” label released “With a Song In My Heart”, the third Stevie Wonder studio album. It was recorded in 1963, at “Hitsville USA” in Detroit, and in Los Angeles, and was produced by Clarence Paul and William “Mickey” Stevenson.


  • Stevie Wonder- vocals, harmonica
  • Ernie Wilkins- arranger, conductor
  • Los Angelessession musicians – instrumentation

Track listing:

  1. With a Song in My Heart – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  2. When You Wish Upon a Star – Ned Washington, Leigh Harline
  3. Smile – Charlie Chaplin, Geoffrey Parsons, John Turner
  4. Make Someone Happy – Betty Comden, Adolph Green, Jule Styne
  5. Dream – Johnny Mercer
  6. Put on a Happy Face – Charles Strouse, Lee Adams
  7. On the Sunny Side of the Street – Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh
  8. Get Happy – Harold Arlen, Ted Koehler
  9. Give Your Heart a Chance – Ron Miller, Orlando Murden, Kenneth O’Neil
  10. Without a Song – Edward Eliscu, Billy Rose, Vincent Youmans

In December 1960.

In December 1960, “Blue Note” label released “Byrd in Flight”, the 16th Donald Byrd album. It was recorded January – July 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • Jackie McLean- alto saxophone
  • Hank Mobley- tenor saxophone
  • Duke Pearson– piano
  • Doug Watkins – bass
  • Reggie Workman – bass
  • Lex Humphries- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Donald Byrd except where noted.

  1. Ghana
  2. Little Girl Blue – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  3. Gate City – Duke Pearson
  4. Lex
  5. Bo – Duke Pearson
  6. My Girl Shirl – Duke Pearson

on December 2, 1957.

On December 2, 1957, “World Pacific” label released “The King and I”, (A Jazz Interpretation by the Mastersounds), the second Mastersounds album. It was recorded in September 1957 and was produced by Richard Bock.


  • Buddy Montgomery- vibraphone
  • Richie Crabtree – piano
  • Monk Montgomery- electric bass
  • Benny Barth- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II.

  1. Medley: I Have Dreamed/The Puzzlement/Something Wonderful
  2. Dance of the Siamese Children
  3. Getting to Know You
  4. My Lord and Master
  5. Medley: Hello, Young Lovers/Whistle a Happy Tune
  6. We Kiss in the Shadows
  7. Shall We Dance
  8. Epilogue


On November 27, 1967.

On November 27, 1967, “Motown” label released “The Temptations in a Mellow Mood”, the sixth Temptations studio album. It was recorded 1966 – 1967, and was produced by Frank Wilson and Jeffrey Bowen.


  • David Ruffin– vocals
  • Eddie Kendricks– vocals
  • Paul Williams– vocals
  • Melvin Franklin– vocals
  • Otis Williams– vocals
  • Frank Wilson– executive producer
  • B. Barnum– arrangements
  • Oliver Nelson– arrangements
  • Don Costa– arrangements

Track listing:

  1. Hello Young Lovers – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II
  2. A Taste of Honey – Ric Marlow, Bobby Scott
  3. For Once in My Life – Ron Miller, Orlando Murden
  4. Somewhere – Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim
  5. Ol’ Man River – Hammerstein, Jerome Kern
  6. I’m Ready for Love – Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier, Eddie Holland
  7. Try to Remember – Tom Jones, Harvey Schmidt
  8. Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me) – Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley
  9. What Now My Love? – Gilbert Bécaud, Pierre Delanoë, Carl Sigman
  10. That’s Life – Dean Kay, Kelly Gordon
  11. With These Hands – Benny Davis, Abner Silver
  12. The Impossible Dream – Joe Darion, Mitch Leigh


On September 25, 2009.

On September 25, 2009, “ECM” label released “Wait Till You See Her”, the 39th John Abercrombie album. It was recorded in December 2008, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • John Abercrombie – guitar
  • Mark Feldman– violin
  • Thomas Morgan– double bass
  • Joey Baron– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Abercrombie except where noted.

  1. Sad Song
  2. Line Up
  3. Wait Till You See Her – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  4. Trio
  5. I’ve Overlooked Before
  6. Anniversary Waltz
  7. Out of Towner
  8. Chic of Araby


On June 17, 2018.

On June 17, 2018, “High Note” label released “Chemistry”, album by Houston Person and Ron Carter. It was recorded on December 22, 2015, at “Van Gelder Studio” and was produced by Houston Person.


  • Houston Person- tenor saxophone
  • Ron Carter- bass

Track listing:

  1. Bye Bye Blackbird – Ray Henderson, Mort Dixon
  2. But Beautiful – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  3. Young and Foolish – Albert Hague, Arnold Horwitt
  4. Fools Rush In – Rube Bloom, Johnny Mercer
  5. Can’t We Be Friends? – Kay Swift, Paul James
  6. Blame It on My Youth – Oscar Levant, Edward Heyman
  7. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  8. I Can’t Get Started – Vernon Duke, Ira Gershwin
  9. Blue Monk – Thelonious Monk
  10. When I Fall in Love – Victor Young, Edward Heyman

On March 31, 2017.

On March 31, 2017, “Columbia” label released “Triplicate”, the 38th Bob Dylan studio album. It was recorded in 2016, at “Capitol Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jack Frost.


  • Bob Dylan – vocals
  • Charlie Sexton, Dean Parks – guitar
  • Donnie Herron – steel guitar
  • Tony Garnier – bass
  • Geoff Gans – drums
  • George Receli – drums
  • James Harper – conductor, arrangements
  • Al Schmitt – recording, mixing
  • Steve Genewick – engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Tom Piazza – linear notes
  • John Shearer – photography

Track listing:

Disc 1 – ‘Til the Sun Goes Down

  1. I Guess I’ll Have to Change My Plans – Arthur Schwartz, Howard Dietz
  2. September of My Years – Jimmy Van Heusen, Sammy Cahn
  3. I Could Have Told You – Carl Sigman, Jimmy Van Heusen
  4. Once Upon a Time – Charles Strouse, Lee Adams
  5. Stormy Weather – Harold Arlen, Ted Koehler
  6. This Nearly Was Mine – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II
  7. That Old Feeling – Sammy Fain, Lew Brown
  8. It Gets Lonely Early – Van Heusen, Sammy Cahn
  9. My One and Only Love – Guy Wood, Robert Mellin
  10. Trade Winds – Cliff Friend, Charles Tobias

Disc 2 – Devil Dolls

  1. Braggin – Jimmy Shirl, Robert Marko, Henry Katzman
  2. As Time Goes By – Herman Hupfeld
  3. Imagination – Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  4. How Deep Is the Ocean? – Irving Berlin
  5. S. I Love You – Gordon Jenkins, Johnny Mercer
  6. The Best Is Yet to Come – Cy Coleman, Carolyn Leigh
  7. But Beautiful – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  8. Here’s That Rainy Day – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  9. Where Is the One – Alec Wilder, Edwin Finckel
  10. There’s a Flaw in My Flue – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke

Disc 3 – Comin’ Home Late

  1. Day In, Day Out – Rube Bloom, Johnny Mercer
  2. I Couldn’t Sleep a Wink Last Night – Harold Adamson, Jimmy McHugh
  3. Sentimental Journey – Les Brown, Ben Homer, Bud Green
  4. Somewhere Along the Way – Jimmy Van Heusen, Sammy Gallop
  5. When the World Was Young – Philippe-Gérard, Angèle Vannier, Johnny Mercer
  6. These Foolish Things – Eric Maschwitz, Jack Strachey
  7. You Go to My Head – John Frederick Coots, Haven Gillespie
  8. Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael, Mitchell Parish
  9. It’s Funny to Everyone But Me – Jack Lawrence
  10. Why Was I Born? – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II