Tag Archives: Mickey Roker

In June 1968.

In June 1968, “Blue Note” label released “Serenade to a Soul Sister”, the 16th Horace Silver album. It was recorded February – March 1968, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Horace Silver – piano
  • Bennie Maupin – tenor saxophone
  • Stanley Turrentine – tenor saxophone
  • Charles Tolliver – trumpet
  • Bob Cranshaw – bass, electric bass
  • John Williams – bass
  • Mickey Roker – drums
  • Billy Cobham – drums, photography
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Reid Miles – design
  • Francis Wolff – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Horace Silver.

  1. Psychedelic Sally
  2. Serenade to a Soul Sister
  3. Rain Dance
  4. Jungle Juice
  5. Kindred Spirits
  6. Next Time I Fall in Love

On February 10, 1996.

On February 10, 1998, “Blue Note” label released “Standards”, the 24th Lee Morgan album. It was recorded in 1967, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Lee Morgan – trumpet
  • Wayne Shorter – tenor saxophone
  • James Spaulding – alto saxophone, flute
  • Pepper Adams – baritone saxophone
  • Herbie Hancock – piano
  • Ron Carter – bass
  • Mickey Roker – drums
  • Duke Pearson – arranger

Track listing:

  1. This Is the Life – Adams, Strouse
  2. God Bless the Child – Herzog, Holiday
  3. Blue Gardenia – Lester Lee, Russell
  4. Lot of Livin’ to Do – Adams, Strouse
  5. Somewhere – Bernstein, Sondheim
  6. If I Were a Carpenter – Hardin
  7. Blue Gardenia – Alternate Take

In August 1965.

In August 1965, “Impulse” label released “Sonny Rollins on Impulse!” the 24th Sonny Rollins album (his debut on Impulse! Label). It was recorded in July 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Sonny Rollins– tenor saxophone
  • Ray Bryant– piano
  • Walter Booker– bass
  • Mickey Roker– drums

Track listing:

  1. On Green Dolphin Street – Bronislaw Kaper, Ned Washington
  2. Everything Happens to Me – Tom Adair, Matt Dennis
  3. Hold ‘Em Joe – Harry Thomas
  4. The Blue Room – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  5. Three Little Words – Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby


In August 1964.

In August 1964, “RCA Victor” label released “The Standard Sonny Rollins”, the 23rd Sonny Rollins album. It was recorded June – July 1064, in New York City, and was produced by George Avakian.


  • Sonny Rollins– tenor saxophone
  • Herbie Hancock- piano
  • Jim Hall- guitar
  • David Izenzon- bass
  • Teddy Smith– bass
  • Bob Cranshaw– bass
  • Stu Martin- drums
  • Mickey Roker– drums

Track listing:

  1. Autumn Nocturne – Kim Gannon, Josef Myrow
  2. Night and Day- Cole Porter
  3. Love Letters – Edward Heyman, Victor Young
  4. My One and Only Love – Robert Mellin, Guy Wood
  5. Three Little Words – Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby
  6. Trav’lin’ Light – Johnny Mercer, Jimmy Mundy, Trummy Young
  7. I’ll Be Seeing You – Sammy Fain, Irving Kahal
  8. My Ship – Ira Gershwin, Kurt Weill
  9. It Could Happen to You – Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
  10. Long Ago (and Far Away) – George Gershwin, Jerome Kern

On June 5, 2007.

On June 5, 2007, “Blue Note” label released “A Bluish Bag”, album by Stanley Turrentine. It consists of two sessions recorded for the Blue Note label in February and June 1967, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Stanley Turrentine– tenor saxophone
  • Donald Byrd– trumpet
  • Blue Mitchell, Tommy Turrentine– trumpet
  • Julian Priester– trombone
  • Jerry Dodgion– alto saxophone, flute, alto flute
  • Joe Farrell– tenor saxophone, flute
  • Al Gibbons – bass clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Pepper Adams– baritone saxophone, clarinet
  • Kenny Barron– piano
  • Bucky Pizzarelli– guitar
  • Ron Carter– bass
  • Walter Booker– bass
  • Mickey Roker– drums
  • Mickey Roker– drums
  • Duke Pearson – arranger
  • Rudy Van Gelder– engineer

Track listing:

  1. Blues for Del – Stanley Turrentine
  2. She’s a Carioca – Vinicius de Moraes, Ray Gilbert, Antônio Carlos Jobim
  3. Manhã de Carnaval – Luiz Bonfá, Antônio Maria
  4. Here’s That Rainy Day – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  5. What Now My Love – Gilbert Bécaud, Pierre Delanoë, Carl Sigman
  6. Samba do Avião – Antônio Carlos Jobim
  7. Night Song – Lee Adams, Charles Strouse
  8. Days of Wine and Roses – Henry Mancini, Johnny Mercer
  9. Come Back to Me – Burton Lane, Alan Jay Lerner
  10. Silver Tears – Henry Mancini
  11. A Bluish Bag – Henry Mancini
  12. With This Ring – Luther Dixon, Anthony Hester, Richard “Popcorn” Wylie

On October 9, 1999.


On October 9, 1999, Milton “Milt” Jackson, also known as “Bags”, died aged 76.  He was musician (vibraphone, piano), a bebop player, member of Modern Jazz Quartet. He recorded and performed with many famous jazz musicians including: Howard McGhee,  Miles Davis, Ray Charles, Coleman Hawkins, Dizzy Gillespie, Roy Eldridge, Hank Mobley, Quincy Jones, Dinah Washington, Benny Carter, Count Basie, Oscar Peterson, Wes Montgomery, Ray Brown, Hubert Laws, Joe Pass, Mickey Roker and J. J. Johnson. As leader Jackson released 68 albums.