Tag Archives: Library of Congress

In November 1959.

In November 1959, “Atlantic” label released “The Shape of Jazz to Come”, the third Ornette Coleman album. It was recorded in May 1959, at “Radio Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegun. In 2012, the “Library of Congress” added the album to the “National Recording Registry”. Magazine “Rolling Stone” included the album in its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 2015, the album was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”.


  • Ornette Coleman – alto saxophone
  • Don Cherry – cornet
  • Charlie Haden – bass
  • Billy Higgins – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Ornette Coleman.

  1. Lonely Woman
  2. Eventually
  3. Peace
  4. Focus on Sanity
  5. Congeniality
  6. Chronology

On May 9, 2020.

On May 9, 2020, Richard Wayne Penniman aka Little Richard died aged 87. He was singer, songwriter and musician (piano), one of the most important and influential persons in the popular music. His charismatic showmanship and dynamic music, characterized by frenetic piano playing, pounding back beat and raspy shouted vocals, laid the foundation for rock and roll, but also had important role in formation of other music genres such as soul and funk. For his work Little Richard received numerous awards and was honored by many institutions. In 1986, he was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”; in 1993 he received “Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award”, he was inducted into the “Songwriters Hall of Fame”, received “Lifetime Achievement Award” from the “Recording Academy”;  “Lifetime Achievement Award” from the “Rhythm and Blues Foundation”, and received a “Rhapsody & Rhythm Award” from the “National Museum of African American Music”. In 2012, his song “Tutti Frutti” was included in the “National Recording Registry” of the “Library of Congress”, stated that his “unique vocalizing over the irresistible beat announced a new era in music”. Three of his songs “Tutti Frutti,” “Lucille” and “Long Tall Sally” are inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”.


On April 7, 2020.

On April 7, 2020, John Prine died aged 73. He was singer – songwriter and musician (guitar), known for his music that has elements of protest and social commentary. His song “Sam Stone” stands as a reference to the phenomenon of heroin  or morphine  addiction among Vietnam war veterans. During 2005 at the request of U.S. poet laureate Ted Kooser, John Prine became the first singer – songwriter to read and perform at the Library of Congress. Prine won two “Grammy Awards” and recorded eighteen albums.

On January 7, 1954.


On January 7, 1954, Muddy Waters recorded “Hoochie Coochie Man”, a blues standard written by Willie Dixon. The song originally titled “I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man” became one of Muddy Waters most popular songs and one of the best known blues standards of all time.  In 2004, the song was selected for preservation by the US “Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry”. The song was released in 1954 by “Chess” label as a Ten-inch 78 rpm & seven-inch 45 rpm records (She’s So Pretty as B-side) and was produced by Leonard Chess.

On January 4, 1967.

The Doors - The Doors

On January 4, 1967, “Elektra” label released the self titled debut Doors album. It was recorded in August, 1966, at the “Sunset Sound  Recorders”, in Hollywood, and was produced by  Paul A. Rothchild. It was originally released in different mono and stereo mixes, and features the breakthrough single “Light My Fire”. The album was huge commercial success, it has sold 25 million copies worldwide and became Doors best sold album. Both the album and the song “Light My Fire” were inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. In 2012, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked the album on number 42, on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 2015,  based on its cultural, artistic or historical significance, the “Library of Congress” selected “The Doors” for inclusion in the “National Recording Registry”.


  • Jim Morrison– lead vocals
  • Ray Manzarek– Vox Continental organ, piano, keyboard bass, marxophone
  • Robby Krieger– guitar, bass overdubs
  • John Densmore– drums
  • Larry Knechtel – bass guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Morrison, Robby Krieger, Ray Manzarek and John Densmore, except where noted.

  1. Break On Through
  2. Soul Kitchen
  3. The Crystal Ship
  4. Twentieth Century Fox
  5. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) – Bertolt Brecht, Kurt Weill
  6. Light My Fire
  7. Back Door man – Willie Dixon, Chester Burnett
  8. I Looked at You
  9. End of the Night
  10. Take It as it Comes
  11. The End


On December 15, 1975.

Mothership Connection

On December 15, 1975, “Casablanca” released “Mothership Connection”, the fourth Parliament album. It was recorded March – October 1975, at “United Sound” in Detroit and in “Hollywood Sound” in Hollywood, and was produced by George Clinton. In 2011, the “Library of Congress” added “Mothership Connection” to the “National Recording Registry”, declaring that “the album had an enormous influence on jazz, rock and dance music”.


  • George Clinton, Calvin Simon, Fuzzy Haskins, Ray Davis, Grady Thomas,Gary Shider, Glen Goins, Bootsy Collins – lead vocals
  • Fred Wesley, Maceo Parker, Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker, Boom, Joe Farrell – horns
  • Bootsy Collins, Cordell Mosson – bass guitar
  • Garry Shider, Michael Hampton, Glen Goins, Bootsy Collins – guitars
  • Tiki Fulwood, Jerome Brailey, Bootsy Collins, Gary Cooper – drums, percussion
  • Bernie Worrell – keyboards, synthesizers
  • Gary Cooper, Debbie Edwards, Taka Kahn, Archie Ivy, Bryna Chimenti, Rasputin Boutte, Pam Vincent, Debra Wright, Sidney Barnes – backing vocals, handclaps
  • David Alexander – photography
  • Gribbitt! – art direction, design

Track listing:

  1. Funk (Wants to Get Funked Up) – George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Bernie Worrell
  2. Mothership Connection (Star Child) – George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Bernie Worrell
  3. Unfunky UFO – George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Garry Shider
  4. Supergroovalisticprosifunkstication – George Clinton, Garry Shider, Bootsy Collins, Bernie Worrell
  5. Handcuffs – George Clinton, Glenn Goins, John McLaughlin
  6. Give Up the Funk (Tear the Roof off the Sucker) – Jerome Brailey, George Clinton, Bootsy Collins
  7. Night of the Thumpasorus Peoples – George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Garry Shider