Tag Archives: Hal Mooney

Nina Simone: Broadway – Blues Ballads

In November 1964, “Philips” label released “Broadway-Blues-Ballads”, the eleventh Nina Simone album. It was recorded in 1964, in New York City, and was produced by Hal Mooney.


  • Nina Simone – vocals, piano, arranger
  • Bobby Hamilton – drums
  • Lisle Atkinson – percussion
  • Rudy Stevenson – flute
  • Horace Ott – arranger, conductor
  • Hal Mooney – arranger, conductor

Track listing:

  1. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – Bennie Benjamin, Gloria Caldwell, Sol Marcus
  2. Night Song – Lee Adams, Charles Strouse
  3. The Laziest Gal in Town – Cole Porter
  4. Something Wonderful – Oscar Hammerstein II, Richard Rodgers
  5. Don’t Take All Night – Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus
  6. Nobody – Alex Rogers, Bert Williams
  7. I Am Blessed – Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus
  8. Of This I’m Sure – Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus
  9. See-Line Woman – traditional, George Bass, Nina Simone
  10. Our Love (Will See Us Through) – Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus
  11. How Can I? – Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus
  12. The Last Rose of Summer – Thomas Moore, Richard Alfred Milliken, Nina Simone

Nina Simone: Wild is the Wind

In September 1966, “Phillips” label released “Wild Is the Wind”, the sixth Nina Simone studio album. It was recorded 1964 – 1965, in New York City, and was produced by Hal Mooney. In 2020, it was ranked 212 on “Rolling Stone’s” list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Nina Simone – vocals, piano, arranger
  • Horace Ott – arranger
  • Sid Mark – liner notes
  1. I Love Your Lovin’ Ways – Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus
  2. Four Woman – Nina Simone
  3. What More Can I Say – Horace Ott, Wade Brown Jr.
  4. Lilac Wine – James Shelton
  5. That’s All I Ask – Horace Ott
  6. Break Down and Let It All Out – Van McCoy
  7. Why keep On Breaking My Heart – Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus
  8. Wild is the Wind – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  9. Black Is the Color of My True Love’s Hair – traditional
  10. If I Should Lose You – Ralph Rainger, Leo Robin
  11. Either Way I Lose – Van McCoy

In December 1963.

In December 1963, “Philips” label released “Night Lights”, the 36th Gerry Mulligan album. It was recorded September – October 1963, at “Nola Penthouse Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Hal Mooney.


  • Gerry Mulligan – baritone saxophone, piano 
  • Art Farmer – flugelhorn
  • Bob Brookmeyer – valve trombone
  • Jim Hall – guitar
  • Bill Crow – bass
  • Dave Bailey – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Mulligan except where noted.

  1. Night Lights
  2. Morning of the Carnival – Luiz Bonfá, Antônio Maria
  3. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning – David Mann, Bob Hilliard
  4. Prelude in E Minor – Frédéric Chopin
  5. Festival Minor
  6. Tell Me When

In December 1965.

In December 1965, “limelight” label released “Slightly Latin”, the eleventh Roland Kirk album. It was recorded in November 1965, in New York City, and was produced by Hal Mooney.


  • Roland Kirk:  tenor and baritone saxophone, flute, bagpipes, picollo, stritch, clarinet,
  • Virgil Jones: trumpet
  • Martin Banks: flugelhorn
  • Garnett Brown: trombone, arranger
  • Horace Parlan: piano, celeste, vibraphone
  • Eddie Mathias: double bass
  • Sonny Brown: drums, nagoya harp
  • Montego Joe: conga
  • Manuel Ramos: percussion
  • Coleridge Perkinson: conductor
  • Unidentified choir

Track listing:

All tracks by Roland Kirk except where noted.

  1. Walk On By – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  2. Raouf
  3. It’s All in the Game – Charles Dawes, Carl Sigman
  4. Juarez
  5. Shaky Money
  6. Nothing But the Truth
  7. Safari – Eddie Mathias
  8. And I Love Her – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  9. Ebrauqs

In December 1966.

In December 1966, “Limelight” label released “Soul Español”, the 104th Oscar Peterson album. It was recorded in December 1966, at “Universal Recorders” in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Hal Mooney.


  • Oscar Peterson- piano
  • Sam Jones- double bass
  • Louis Hayes- drums
  • Henley Gibson – conga
  • Harold Jones- percussion
  • Marshall Thompson- timbales

Track listing:

  1. Mas que Nada – Jorge Ben Jor
  2. Manhã de Carnaval – Luiz Bonfá, Vinicius de Moraes
  3. Call Me – Tony Hatch
  4. How Insensitive – Vinicius de Moraes, Norman Gimbel, Antonio Carlos Jobim
  5. Carioca – Edward Eliscu, Gus Kahn, Vincent Youmans
  6. Soulville Samba – Oscar Peterson
  7. Amanha – Phil Bodner
  8. Meditation – Norman Gimbel, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonca
  9. Samba Sensitive – Oscar Peterson
  10. Samba de Orfeu – Luiz Bonfá, Vinicius de Moraes

In December 1964.

In December 1964, “Limelight” label released “Jambo Caribe”, the 45th Dizzy Gillespie album. It was recorded in 1964, at “Universal Studios” in Chicago, and was produced by Hal Mooney.


  • Dizzy Gillespie– vocals, trumpet
  • James Moody- tenor saxophone, flute
  • Kenny Barron- piano
  • Chris White– vocals, bass
  • Rudy Collins- drums
  • Kansas Fields- percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Dizzy Gillespie except where noted.

  1. Fiesta Mo-Jo
  2. Barbados Carnival – Chris White
  3. Jambo
  4. Trinidad, Hello – Kenny Barron
  5. Poor Joe – Joe Willoughby
  6. And Then She Stopped
  7. Don’t Try to Keep up with the Joneses – Joe Willoughby
  8. Trinidad, Goodbye – Kenny Barron