The Proclaimers: This is the Story

On April 27, 1987, “Chrysalis” label released “This Is the Story”, the debut Proclaimers (The) studio album. It was recorded 1986 – 1987, and was produced by John Williams, Gerry Rafferty and Hugh Murphy.


  • Craig Reid – vocals, tambourine, bongos, marracas
  • Charlie Reid – vocals, acoustic six-string and twelve-string guitar, acoustic bass
  • Ian Maidman – bass, keyboards
  • Phil Bodger – engineer, mixing
  • Danton Supple – engineer assistant
  • Matt Howe – engineer assistant
  • John Pasche – design
  • Nick Knight – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Charlie Reid and Craig Reid, except where noted.

  1. Throw the ‘R’ Away
  2. Over and Done With
  3. Misty Blue
  4. The Part That Really Matters
  5. (I’m Gonna) Burn Your Playhouse Down – Lester Blackwell
  6. Letter from America (acoustic version)
  7. Sky Takes the Soul
  8. It Broke My Heart
  9. The First Attack
  10. Make My Heart Fly
  11. Beautiful Truth
  12. The Joyful Kilmarnock Blues
  13. Letter from America (band version)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.