Tag Archives: Jimmy Davis

Etta James: Mystery Lady: Songs of Billie Holiday

On March 15, 1996, “Private Music” label released “Mystery Lady: Songs of Billie Holiday, the 19th Etta James album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by John Snyder.


  • Etta James – vocal
  • Cedar Walton – piano, arrangements
  • Josh Sclair – guitar
  • Tony Dumas – bass
  • Ealph Penland – drums
  • Ralph Penland – percussion
  • Red Holloway – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Ronnie Buttacavoli – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Kraig Kilby – trombone
  • Jay Newland – engineer
  • Mark Guilbeault – engineer assistant
  • Jay Newland – mastering
  • Lupe DeLeon – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Don’t Explain – Arthur Herzog Jr,. Billie Holiday
  2. You’ve Changed – Bill Carey, Carl Fischer
  3. The Man I Love – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  4. I Don’t Stand a Ghost of a Chance (With You) – Bing Crosby, Ned Washington, Roger Ramirez
  5. Lover Man (Where Can You Be) – Jimmy Davis, Jimmy Sherman, Roger Ramirez
  6. Embraceable You – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  7. How Deep Is the Ocean – Irving Berlin
  8. (I’m Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over – Allie Wrubel, Herb Magidson
  9. Body and Soul – Edward Heyman, Frank Eyton, John Green, Bob Sour
  10. The Very Thought of You – Ray Noble
  11. I’ll Be Seeing You – Irving Kahal, Sammy Fain

Johnny Griffin: Introducing Johnny Griffin

In February 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Introducing Johnny Griffin”, the debut Johnny Griffin album. It was recorded in April 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Johnny Griffin – tenor sax
  • Wynton Kelly – piano
  • Curly Russell – bass
  • Max Roach – drums

Track listing:

  1. Mil Dew – Johnny Griffin
  2. Chicago Calling – Johnny Griffin
  3. These Foolish Things – Harry Link, Holt Marvell, John Strachey
  4. The Boy Next Door – Hugh Martin, Ralph Blane
  5. Nice and Easy – Johnny Griffin
  6. It’s All Right with Me – Cole Porter
  7. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, Jimmy Sherman

Walter Benton: Out of This World

In September 1960, “Jazzland” label released “Out of This World”, the debut and the only Walter Benton album. It was recorded in September 1960, at “Plaza Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Walter Benton – tenor saxophone
  • Freddie Hubbard – trumpet
  • Wynton Kelly – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Jimmy Cobb, Albert Heath – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Walter Benton except where noted,

  1. Out of This World – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  2. Walter’s Altar
  3. Iris
  4. Night Movements
  5. A Blues Mood
  6. Azil
  7. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman

Ahmad Jamal: The Bright, the Blue and the Beautiful

In May 1968, “Cadet” label released “The Bright, the Blue and the Beautiful”, the 24th Ahmad Jamal album. It was recorded in February 1968, at “Fine Recording Studios” in New York, and was produced by Richard Evans.


  • Ahmad Jamal – piano
  • Jamil Sulieman – bass
  • Frank Gant – drums
  • The Howard Roberts Choir – vocals
  • Hale Smith – conductor

Track listing:

  1. Wild Is the Wind – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  2. Ballad for Beverly – Bob Williams
  3. Of Bass I Love – Ahmad Jamal, Jamil Sulieman
  4. Yesterdays – Otto Harbach, Jerome Kern
  5. I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel to Be Free) – Billy Taylor, Dick Dallas
  6. At Long Last Love – Cole Porter
  7. Never Let Me Go – Jay Livingston, Ray Evans
  8. Gypsies in the Wind – Bob Williams
  9. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman
  10. By Myself – Howard Dietz, Arthur Schwartz

Sonny Stitt: Burnin’

In May 1960, “Argo” label released “Burnin’”, the 18th Sonny Stitt album. It was recorded in August 1958, in Chicago, and was produced by Jordi Pujol.


  • Sonny Stitt – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Barry Harris – piano
  • William Austin – bass
  • Frank Gant – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Stitt, except where noted.

  1. Ko-Ko – Charlie Parker
  2. A Minor Sax
  3. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, James Sherman, Roger Ramirez
  4. Reed and a Half
  5. How High the Moon – Morgan Lewis, Nancy Hamilton
  6. I’ll Tell You Later
  7. Look for the Silver Lining – Jerome Kern, Buddy G. DeSylva
  8. Easy Living – Leo Robin, Ralph Rainger
  9. It’s Hipper Than That

Donald Byrd: The Young Bloods

In April 1957, “Prestige” label released “The Young Bloods”, the fifth Donald Byrd album. It was recorded in November 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Phil Woods – alto saxophone
  • Al Haig – piano
  • Teddy Kotick – bass
  • Charlie Persip – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Phil Woods except where noted.

  1. Dewey Square – Charlie Parker
  2. Dupeltook
  3. Once More
  4. House of Chan
  5. In Walked George
  6. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman

On March 15, 2005.

On March 15, 2005, “Savant” label released “Keep It Simple”, the 24th Curtis Fuller album. It was recorded in September 2003, at “Rocky Mountain Studios” in Hilton Head, Carolina, and was produced by Jacey Falk.


  • Curtis Fuller – trombone 
  • Javon Jackson – tenor saxophone 
  • Doug Carn – piano
  • Rodney Jordan – bass
  • Fritz Wise – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Curtis Fuller except where noted

  1. Spoken Intro
  2. The Court
  3. Maze
  4. Girl Talk – Neal Hefti, Bobby Troup
  5. A La Mode
  6. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, Jimmy Sherman
  7. Western Sunrise – Doug Carn
  8. Arabia
  9. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  10. Diane – Javon Jackson
  11. It’s You or No One – Jule Styne, Sammy Cahn

On August 19, 1997.

On August 19, 1997, “Mapleshade” label released “When Alto Was King”, the fifth and the final C. I. Williams album. It was recorded May 1995 – March 1996 and was produced by Hamiet Bluiett.


  • I. Williams- alto saxophone
  • Larry Willis- piano
  • Don Blackman- piano
  • Ed Cherry- guitar
  • Keter Betts- bass
  • Jimmy Cobb- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by C. I. Williams except where noted.

  1. You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To – Cole Porter
  2. Punkin Juice
  3. ‘Round Midnight – Thelonious Monk
  4. Catfish Sammich
  5. Misty – Erroll Garner
  6. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman
  7. Because of You – Arthur Hammerstein, Dudley Wilkinson
  8. Jeep’s Blues – Duke Ellington, Johnny Hodges
  9. I’ll Close My Eyes – Buddy Kaye, Billy Reid
  10. Avalon – Buddy DeSylva, Al Jolson, Vincent Rose
  11. Precious Lord – Thomas A. Dorsey

On May 6, 2008.

On May 6, 2008, “High Note” label releases “Just Between Friends”, the 57th Houston Person album. It was recorded in October 2005, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Houston Person.


  • Houston Person- tenor saxophone
  • Ron Carter- bass

Track listing:

  1. How Deep Is the Ocean – Irving Berlin
  2. You’ve Changed – Bill Carey, Carl Fischer
  3. Blueberry Hill – Vincent Rose, Larry Stock, Al Lewis
  4. Darn That Dream – Jimmy Van Heusen, Eddie DeLange
  5. Meditation – Antonio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonça, Norman Gimbel
  6. Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?) – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman
  7. Lover, Come Back to Me – Sigmund Romberg, Oscar Hammerstein II
  8. Polka Dots and Moonbeams – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  9. Always – Irving Berlin
  10. Alone Together – Arthur Schwartz, Howard Dietz