On August 17, 2010.

On August 17, 2010, “Heads Up”, label released “Chamber Music Society”, the third Esperanza Spalding studio album. It was recorded in October 2009 and was produced by Esperanza Spalding, and Gil Goldstein.


  • Esperanza Spalding– vocals, bass guitar, double bass
  • Milton Nascimento– guest vocals
  • Leo Genovese– piano, electric piano, melodica
  • Terri Lyne Carrington– drums
  • Quintino Cinalli – percussion
  • Entcho Todorov – violin
  • Lois Martin – viola
  • David Eggar – cello
  • Ricardo Vogt – nylon-stringed guitar
  • Gretchen Parlato– backing vocals
  • Gil Goldstein– co-arranger

Track listing:

All tracks by Esperanza Spalding, except where noted.

  1. Little Fly – lyrics by William Blake, music by Esperanza Spalding
  2. Knowledge of Good and Evil
  3. Really Very Small
  4. Chacarera – Leo Genovese
  5. Wild Is the Wind – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  6. Apple Blossom
  7. As a Sprout
  8. What a Friend
  9. Winter Sun
  10. Inútil Paisagem – lyrics byAloísio de Oliveira, music by Antonio Carlos Jobim
  11. Short and Sweet
  12. Midnight Sun – lyrics by Johnny Mercer, music by Lionel Hampton, Sonny Burke


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.